We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
90
31
3
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
90
31
3
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal palms camana bay washer and dryer within walking distance condo complex an umbrella electric grill across the street beach towels highly recommend this unit unit number bed room feet from shore sliding glass door nice condo full bath construction noise
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2017

We stayed at the Reef Resort, Condo #42 from Friday to Monday. This particular condo is HUGE (upstairs/downstairs) with 3 comfortable bedrooms upstairs and a large living area downstairs. There was a lovely outside porch, looking out at the sea, with a table where we ate breakfast and dinner.

The condo has been renovated; it is on 7 mile beach and close to Georgetown. We used it as our base for our snorkeling and diving.

I HIGHLY recommend this location as long as you are aware of the location of the condo you wish to rent. Some do not have a view of the sea. #42 is so comfortable, with a great view from the bedrooms and porch. It is a bit pricy but the view and amenities inside make the price worthwhile.

Room Tip: This is not a hotel--series of private condos that you can rent. I vouch for condo #42.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Catito C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

My wife and I just returned home after spending a beautiful, relaxing week on Grand Cayman. The booking process was a breeze with Marc responding back to us within a few hours. The full kitchen was updated with new granite countertops and a tiled backsplash. The bathroom was also recently updated and the shower stall is tiled with a sliding glass door (very nice!!). The bedroom has a very comfortable king bed. The whole unit is beautifully decorated and was immaculate upon our arrival. Marc was very attentive and accommodating to our needs.

Cayman Reef Resort is an older complex, but the upkeep is very evident. The roofs, gutters and downspouts all looked newly replaced. The grounds were manicured and the pool was very well-maintained. There was some construction noise coming from an adjacent lot, but it was only occasionally. Also, due to the recent hurricane devastation to other islands in the Caribbean, several cruise ships have begun redirecting to Grand Cayman and arrive daily. This created an influx of beachgoers to a beach bar adjacent to Cayman Reef Resort, but they’re usually gone just after noon.

Another thing that delighted me was that many of the unit owners at Cayman Reef Resort live on the property and they take care of their fellow property owners and their guests! When a few of the aforementioned beachgoers from the arriving cruise ships, and the Sea-Doo businesses that follow them around, began to infiltrate Cayman Reef Resort’s private beach, one of the owners quickly took action and the “infiltrators” were moved on and never returned (LOL!!).

In regards to the beach, I have never seen water so clear in my life. Even when swimming out to where the water was 15+ feet deep, you could still see the bottom! We would float out there for hours as the water was warm and calm. The beach itself has experienced some erosion due to the recent storm surges, but it seemed to actually increase on a daily basis with the sea bringing sand back to the shore. The sunsets are extraordinary! We would bring a bottle of wine down to the beach, fill our glasses and then head into the water. We would leisurely float in the water, sipping wine and watch the sun go down.

All in all, we can’t say enough good things about this resort and Marc and Monique’s unit. This experience has made us Grand Cayman lovers and we plan to return with our children in the very near future. Highly recommended!!!!

Room Tip: Unit #50 (Marc and Monique Hubert)
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

I traveled with my wife and two other couples in late September.

The condo is well equipped. Amazon Echo hooked up to Amazon Music, as well as a Bluetooth Speaker we took to the pool and beach with us routinely. Tons of dishes and glassware. Washer and dryer was a welcome surprise.

It really is in the middle of everything. Liquor store across the street, as well as a dive shop (whom fixed a mask for someone in our group for $1.50!). Walking distance to Cinoboco for a wonderful cheap breakfast. Peppers, cigar shop, royal palms bar is right next door and they have some sort of entertainment going on most nights.

We never had any issue with getting chairs on the beach, can be difficult occasionally to get an umbrella. We were able to see tons of wildlife in the water about a 20sec swim from shore. Went fly fishing and saw some rather large fish. Spent a few late afternoons at the pool where the shade was, it was perfectly good. Got kicked out of the pool at 1030PM not realizing it closed. Security looked like he actually felt bad asking us to leave! (even though it closed at 10)

We rented a car, but you really could have gotten by without. Free wifi in the condo, as well as cable in two of the rooms. Lots of beach/pool toys in the closet.

Keep in mind when traveling to the Cayman Islands, that just about everything other than restaurants are closed on Sundays (the day we arrived)- so be prepared for that.

Didn't get the chance to meet Trinda, as she was away- but we were absolutely blown away. I imagine we will be back to the Cayman Islands, and there is no doubt we will be staying here again!

Room Tip: Book with Trinda!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LindsayC86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

For starters, having a keypad on the door is a great idea. No need to worry about losing a key. Trinda will put in your code prior to arrival.
The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained.
The pool is average but quite frankly we didn't go to the Caymans to be around the pool. The apartment was very close to the beach. Beach chairs and umbrellas are provided on the beach at no charge.
Trinda also provides a cell phone for local calls. An Amazon Echo is also in the condo.
Washer and Dryer is a great plus.
Walk to the closest grocery store (Foster's) was 20 minutes. Walk to Georgetown was 25 minutes.
Several restaurants are very close by.
There is a safe in the bedroom; a definite must.
The condo also has free wifi.
Truly an amazing stay.
Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TGorji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

We stayed a week in unit #36 from July 22-29. The unit was very comfortable with one bed room, living room and bath room with washer and dryer. The Kitchen was well equipped and there is an electric grill on the lanai. The location on SMB was the main draw, as we were only 40 or 50 steps to the beach and had ocean views from our Lanai. There were numerous restaurants within walking distance and a liquor store and dive shop across the street. We had a rental car but you could do without one for this location. The owner Trinda was easy to work with and the unit was reserved using Paypal. I would highly recommend this unit and resort for couples.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jaysigrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews