We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (653)
Filter reviews
653 results
Traveller rating
511
122
16
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
511
122
16
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dive shop valet diving dive sites bloody bay wall beach nuts bar dive staff buffet style top notch the dining room staff dive trip great diving pool and hot tub fish white board an ocean view room ocean front mask and fins
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 653 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2018

I like to provide a contructive critique after staying at a new property. In this case, I couldn't come up with any suggestion to improve our stay. LCBR is located on the least developed Cayman island (less than 200 permanent residents), so I expected power outages, water shortages, deferred maintenance, not so fresh food, etc. Boy, was I off the mark?

The property is in outstanding condition. A nearly invisible maintenance and grounds keeping staff works hard to keep the property in remarkably good condition.

Housekeeping was top notch, and daily service was always completed before divers returned to the resort for lunch.

Catering was outstanding! At each meal there was always a wide variety of fresh fruits, vegtables, cheeses, salads and main dishes to satisfy all. Dining room staff was upbeat, friendly and efficient. Food was delicious and plentiful.

The Beach Nuts bar was quaint and comfortable. The bar was well stocked with draft and bottled beer and a surprisingly wide variety of spirits, though rum is the basis for the most popular island libations. Bar staff was friendly and service was excellent.

The diving was fabulous! Reefs are in outstanding condition, visibility was 80-100 feet, and the variety of sea life was amazing.

Reef Divers offers Valet Diving, meaning the only time you have to touch your dive gear is when you are wearing it! Boats were never crowded, usually no more than 16 divers on our 46' twin diesel built for about 30 passengers. We particulary enjoyed the unique dive site briefings that always included rather elaborate white-board drawings of the dive sites. This briefing proceedure captured everyone's attention and helped to pass the surface interval time in an interesting and constructive way.

A couple of Little Cayman travel tips:

You will arrive on a Cayman Airways twin Otter. This is a pretty small, non-pressurized "flying pick-up truck." It has a pretty cramped cabin, but the flight is just 30-40 minutes, and I observed the flight crew (pilot and first officer) was professional and well trained. Take note that your baggage allowance is LESS than what you are allowed on your jet service to Grand Cayman. A maximum of two checked bags per person totalling 50 pounds combined weight, plus one carry-on of 15 pounds. So pack light... which should be easy because, aside from your SCUBA gear, you won't need much beyond t-shirts, swimwear and flip flops.

I will say, alcohol is expensive throughout the Caymans, and here was no exception. If this is a vexing problem for you, the grocery/dry goods/bank with ATM/liquor store and beer station is about 800 meters walk (or you can borrow a bicycle from the resort). Our room had a small fridge to keep things cool.

In all I will say we were completely satisfied with LCBR and Reef Divers, and felt our trip was a great value for an all inclusive tropical SCUBA vacation. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eric324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dive_and_Resort_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Little Cayman Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Oh, wow! When you start a review with "constructive critique," we don't know exactly what to expect. In this case we're happy you enjoyed yourself, eric324.

This is our 25th year anniversary at Little Cayman Beach Resort and Reef Divers, and we're so pleased you recognize how special this place is. We believe our staff is second to none and are pleased to hear we took good care of you.

We know that alcohol is expensive, but then what we charge here truly isn't out of range of what you'd pay at any tropical resort in the Caribbean - maybe with the exception of Mexico which has other challenges. Absolutely everyting we serve and use on the resort has to be brought in from Grand Cayman and mostly from the US via Miami and Grand Cayman. So it's a fairly costly undertaking and one that requires us to predict a month or more in advance what we need so it can be ordered, put into a container, and shipped. If you're lucky enough to be out on a dive boat at the right time, you'll see a tug coming into the island pulling a barge loaded with containers.

Also good to know, you can prepurchase drink cards which are a great value if you like mixed drinks, wine, or menu cocktails like margaritas or pina coladas. You prepay in US dollars about $9.60 per drink including gratuity. For 7-night stays, a 21-drink card is currently $202. On island the rates are in CI $ and are equivalent to about $12.50 USD plus gratuity. Just ask when you book.

We are happy you'll be coming back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

LCBR and Reef Divers promise outstanding quality and excellent service. They not only meet but exceed this promise! The room was always clean, the AC worked beyond compare, the bed was more comfortable the one at home. The dining room staff was extraordinaire, and the chef prepared amazing food for the buffet that changed daily so that we never got bored, If you go hungry, it's your fault.

The diving with Reef Divers brings new meaning to valet diving. They do everything but swim for you! April, Romel, and Jon made both the boat and underwater experience even more amazing than the magnificent dive sites of Bloody Bay Marine Park already are. From the dive site briefing on the white board, to the underwater guiding to find micro fauna, pointing out the all of the wonderful swim throughs in the reef and walls; this boat crew was incomparable.

If you've been considering a dive trip to Little Cayman, stop thinking and book one at LCBR and Reef Divers. You won't regret it. We've already reserved our next visit.

Room Tip: There's not a bad room location. Just your preference of 1st or 2nd floor
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank leeayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dive_and_Resort_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Little Cayman Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

We are so happy you enjoyed yourself and let us know, leeayers! We love hearing when we've met guest expectations. We have selected a staff that we know will care for our guests like family, so thank you for letting us know we didn't disappoint.

We appreciate your visit and your review and will look forward to welcoming you back, again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

What can be said about LCBR and Reef Divers that hasn’t already been said by others on here!? We traveled here with a group from our dive shop from South Carolina. This was my first time on Little Cayman and I am now a believer. The diving here is other worldly. The viz was infinite with little to no current. I celebrated my 100th dive at Dots Hot Spot and it didn’t disappoint. Turtles, nurse sharks, Caribbean reef fish galore, micro fauna, and some of the healthiest corals I’ve ever seen!! Shout out to our amazing dive crew aboard our boat Paradise Diver, Romel, Jon, and the effervescent April. The trip wouldn’t have been the same without them. April had a knack for spotting all the tiny critters. I appreciate that since a lot of divers get too focused on the mega fauna. Either way there is something for everyone! Also, if you love swim throughs and wall diving this is the place for you. Reef Divers is truly valet diving and they do everything short of breathing for you!

Top side staff was also incredible. I had the pleasure of meeting Claudia who worked in the restaurant. It’s impossible to describe how absolutely wonderful she was. She remembered all of our names and always greeted us with a warm smile and a contagious positive attitude. Congrats, Claudia on 9 years of service at LCBR! They are so lucky to have had you there for so many years. The food was always delicious and deverse which was nice. The food ranged a lot as far as options. We had Mac and cheese with buglers, and hot dogs one afternoon to Italian themed that evening. I never got bored. Bonus there is an abundance of desserts lunch and dinner. Hot coffee served all day on the patio. The bar by the pool was always a hit after a long day of diving. Bar staff kept the drinks flowing and always had something creative up their sleeve.

We got to stay at The Club since all the rooms at the main resort were booked. It is right next door to LCBR and you can walk on either the beach or the road to get there. The Club consists of 8 individually owned condos. Everyone of them is different so I can’t vouch for them all but ours #3 was immaculate. Two others from our group occupied the other 2 of the 3 rooms in the condo so we had access to the whole thing which had a main living room, kitchen, and laundry facilities which was a huge bonus with all of our wet dive gear. The Club also has its own pool and hot tub! During our stay we didn’t encounter a single biting insect which made our evenings wonderful.

Everyone should visit here at least once in their lifetime. If you are lucky visit way more than that! Until next time LCBR!!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WindsCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dive_and_Resort_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Little Cayman Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

We agree that all divers should come here at least once in their lifetime, WindsCo. Buyt as you have discovered, coming once probably isn't enough.

We are so proud of our staff and confirm that Claudia rocks! It's wonderful to know that our hard work made your vacation effortless...which is how vacations should be.

We hope you won't wait too long to come back. We thank you for your visit and for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

The location is exquisite. The resort is so clean and organized. The food was to die for. The staff is upbeat, professional, efficient and very friendly. The reef divers who run a business from the resort are the very best ever. I know this because I have been diving all over the Caribbean for the last 4 years. This was the best diving, hands down. It doesn't get any better than this. Everything about it was perfect.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are just as nice as ocean front rooms. You won be spending much time in your room anyway, and you will save money
Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dive_and_Resort_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Little Cayman Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Thank you so much, Katherine D, for your feedback! Our resort and Reef Divers staff work hard to make guests' visits enjoyable - so it's wonderful to know we've successed for you.

Don't be a stranger and come back again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Our dive shop, Wateree Dive Center from Columbia, SC returned for another visit to LCBR. Flying here can sometimes be a hassle, especially coming thru Grand Cayman with a lot of construction at the airport. The dive operation is superb. Romel, Jon & April were excellent in all respects. The boats are in great condition & the diving was phenomenal with viz of 100+ each day. The hotel rooms are quite nice & the restaurant has great service & excellent food. Everything s buffet style & plentiful. The bar is really quaint but the bartenders do a wonderful job. The grounds are clean & the entire staff attitude is good. I really have no complaints at all. We look forward to returning soon.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank tgrdvrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dive_and_Resort_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Little Cayman Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

We are happy ou enjoyed yourselves and were satisfied, tgrdvrmd. Thank you for your visit and for taking the time to write your review. We will look forward to seeing you, too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews