We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of The Rocks

The Rocks
Reserve with OpenTable
The Rocks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 58 Restaurants in Nevis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Discover lively Caribbean cuisine paired with global flair at our restaurant The Rocks, located in the epicenter of Golden Rock Inn. Dating back to the early 1800’s, it sits on a hundred acres stretching up the verdant slopes of Nevis Peak with glorious tropical gardens, and sea views toward the Caribbean islands of Antigua and Montserrat. Golden Rock Inn has been thoughtfully restored and expanded through the eyes of artists Helen and Brice Marden, and fresh fish & lobster come from local fishermen, and tropical fruits and vegetables come from neighboring growers. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner are served alfresco on our dining decks overlooking the sea, or within intimate garden settings. Under stone vaulted ceilings, our bar serves signature cocktails such as the Mount St. Helena and Golden Rock’s renown Rum Punch.
Reviewed 10 July 2018

The staff was great, the food was exceptional and the ambiance was fantastic! We went with a group of 12, sat outside overlooking the gardens and it was wonderful. It's a beautiful location that can accommodate large or small groups. We were really impressed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden R, General Manager at The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your kind words. Hope to welcome you back one day! The Golden Rock Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2018

Must go to for the ambiance food & view. The Rocks is up high on the hill with some views of the sea. Mostly the ponds, observation deck, and old sugar mill make visiting worth it along with their very good food. We ordered conch lobster, wahoo, and salad. Everything tasted fresh! Plus the bread is so doughy I could eat all day here. I highly recommend checking it out! It was a 20 minute drive from the four seasons, but your driver will wait for you to take you back.

Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden R, General Manager at The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for this lovely review and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed Golden Rock. Indeed all of our seafood is fresh locally caught and a large part of our vegetables are cultivated at local farms around the island. Fresh bread is made in house daily :-) We hope to welcome you back soon! The Golden Rock Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

Beautiful grounds, delicious lobster sandwiches and fantastic rum punch.

Golden Rock is set in an old plantation which amazing views and the food to match. Definitely should be on the list for lunch whilst visiting Nevis. They also had some killer homemade ice creams available.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NormanCanTravelToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden R, General Manager at The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Great to hear you enjoyed the famous GR lobster sandwich and we hope to welcome you back soon! The GR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

While the food is delicious (4 stars), I wouldn't say it's so much better than Bananas or Sunshines, etc. What makes this a must for anyone on Nevis is the incredible gardens, the old stone plantation, etc. It's magical (atmosphere and beauty 5 stars +). The drive up will blow you away. It's also nice that the food is yummy. If this is date night you couldn't find a more romantic spot.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank laabis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden R, General Manager at The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the beautiful Golden Rock. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm wishes from Nevis!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Absolutely gorgeous location in such a peaceful, tranquil place. Beautiful birds and beautiful views.
Food was excellent although the service could've been more friendly.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chloelouise1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden R, General Manager at The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review. I am so sorry to hear that the level of service was not up to par on your visit. This is not characteristic of the high service levels we pride ourselves with at the Golden Rock. Please feel free to write me directly next time you are in Nevis as I would like a chance to change your opinion.

Best wishes,
Andrei Mocanu
General Manager
am@goldenrocknevis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rocks also viewed

Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
 
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
 
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
 

Been to The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing