We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pentrefelin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tyddyn Iolyn Farmhouse
Reviewed 30 March 2017

A gorgeously quirky cottage surrounded by the glorious countryside of North Wales.
The view was amazing, the cottage itself had everything thing we needed. So nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of normal life to relax in such tranquility.
Close to a great deal of interesting places to visit. Would highly recommend it, and hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Stables, was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scraffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2016

Had a wonderful stay in the Barn and Hayloft for three nights. Our hosts were friendly, welcoming and provided lots of useful information about the local area. The barn has stunning views across Snowdonia and on clear days you can look out over the sheep filled fields to the sea and mountains near by. The barn was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. We would highly recommend anyone looking to visit Snowdonia to stay here; we had a wonderful time and cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2015 via mobile

We returned again back to Tyddyn Iolyn for our October break . We could never imagine staying anywhere else in Wales.
Mirka and Rob are always at hand when we need them but also leave us if we need our privacy .
My boys love the privacy and space this farmhouse gives us and although we are out everyday for long and exhausting ( on my part ) walks on our return my eldest son then walks around the fields that surrounds us .
We were greeted by Mirka , all smiles as always , she is such a friendly person and would do anything for you as would Rob , nothing is too much !!
We had Welsh cakes and biscuits and fruit , and the essentials to get us started after our long journey from Kent -which was very welcoming and a bottle of pro secco welcoming us back , such a lovely gesture ,
My boys love their dog Murphy who is hilarious he waits for my boys to annoy their two donkeys , my boys go daily to feed them .
My year wouldn't be complete without my yearly visit to Wales and seeing them , i feel quite sad when I leave .
I can't wait to go again next year .,
I have left different pictures this year , from the the back so you can see the views we see from inside the Stable we stay in .
You won't be disappointed in your stay

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
Thank llucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015 via mobile

We recently stayed in one of the cottages at Tyddyn Iolyn - The Barn and Hayloft - for 3 nights.

The location is stunning, secluded up a farmers track yet only a few minutes drive from Porthmadog. The views are beautiful and the accommodation offered everything we needed for our stay.

Mirka was a fantastic host. I would highly recommend staying at Tyddyn Iolyn, we will certainly return!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank lauraecorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015

To say that Tyddyn Iolyn is anything other than an idyllic retreat from the world is to underrate it significantly. Me and my partner stayed in the Barn and Hayloft and to be absolutely frank, we didn't want to leave!

Where to start? Well, the accommodation is first-rate - lovely soft bed, all modern conveniences and a great place to stay of an evening. There was even a gas-fired barbeque that we used (our first try at barbequing!) - everything was well kept and clean.

The location is stunning - at the end of a gravelled farm track (which even small cars should be able to negotiate - although low body sports cars might not be able to!) nestled in the hills overlooking Snowdonia and the bay around Porthmadog. A very rural setting, and so quiet!

Our hosts, Rob and Mirka, were wonderful in every way - friendly, engaging and always happy to oblige - Mirka was able to help us make our stay possible by lodging us in the Bakehouse for one night, and leaving bowls and utensils for breakfast in the room on the first day.

The farm would be wonderful as a place to stay with children - there is a very friendly, albeit hyperactive, border collie and two lovely donkeys. We saw a lot of wildlife from the cottages - including on one occasion a Red Kite hovering over fields nearby.

The location is rural, and that means that you have to negotiate a very tight country lane to reach the farm track, and there are sometimes cows on the farm track to the house - however, they will move off the farm track, and it is farmland, so we never considered it a problem. Tyddyn Iolyn is signposted from the A487 and A497 - and our hosts provided good directions to reach the property.

Most amenities are found in Porthmadog, about 10 minutes away by car - there are several supermarkets and petrol stations in the area, not to mention the many tourist attractions there!

Finally, we wish we could have stayed longer - if we could have stayed there forever, we would have!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tyddyn Iolyn Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyddyn Iolyn Farmhouse

Address: Pentrefelin LL52 0RB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Pentrefelin
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Pentrefelin
Price Range: $117 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing