We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay Place, Terrible Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canoe Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #78 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Tobago
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

I took a while, contemplating if I should actually make a review.... but I think this is important that this side is heard!

Canoe Bay has a wonderful view, its facilities are okay (can benefit from an upgrade ) if you are looking a simple getaway, however, there is need for great improvement in the area of customer service.

I am still traumatized that I was threatened (they would call police for them to get out of the room), shouted at and given a short space of time of get out of the room that I was in, and for an issue that could have been resolved through healthy communication, I was not even given an opportunity to speak to explain myself for the mixup and not enough time to vacate the room. I must admit there was one worker who really tried to pacify the damage.

Sadly, I may not have the strength to visit the place again, although being a nature lover, the simple prestine view really would forever be etched on my mind!

I pray your experience is much better than mine!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
3  Thank Royalty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2016

Great vacation. Ideal surroundings for kids and adults who wants rest and relaxation. peaceful safe beach and warm pool day or night. Staff friendly and efficient. Must have vehicle there are no shops or eating facilities on site or nearby. We love it and will be back the Lord willing.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank lnp3689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016

I stayed here in March 18-20th 2016. I went with a couple and their new baby that are friends of ours, along with my husband and son. This location is not that much off the beaten path but requires you to rent a car to get in and out as taxis may not want to go there. The private road to the resort needs some repair also. The grounds were sprawling and lovely for kids to run around and play. We stayed in a two bedroom/ kitchen/living room/ one bathroom apartment adjoined to two similar others. The apartment was next to the shared pool. The apartment had some old fixtures, but everything worked and was clean. Very ideal for a big family. The pool doesn't close at any specific hour so we could hear loud bathers laughing throughout the night. The property is on the beach which allowed for morning walks and collecting shells, although the water was not typical of Tobago's extremely beautiful clear waters (no one was bathing). Their isn't any food places within walking distance (hence you need to rent a car) to buy groceries to cook or get meals. Close driving proximity to Crown Point for all the buzz activities. Persons not staying at the hotel often pay a small fee to get onto the large compound for picnics or events (keep in mind for when you book) as they use the pool and amenities etc. I never saw any staff members, who I suppose were staying in the small office to the front of the compound (also need a car to get there). At night we could here cars drag racing in the lonely road that leads to the resort. Overall not a bad stay, ideal for a family trip.

Room Tip: Take one of the three apartments close to the pool, closest to beach front and away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Urvashi999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

I spent one week of my August vacation with my family @ Canoe Bay and I must say if you love the best of both worlds (sea/pool) and the ambiance of the natural surroundings, then this getaway is perfect. I recommend if you are a mountain biker bring your bicycle and take a ride through the compound. The view of the sunset caps of the visit with a cold beer.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a vehicle, take a room on the ground floor. Easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ricki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2015

I visited yesterday looking for a quiet area for my elderly parents to spend their 57 Wedding anniversary. We were greeted with the most unwelcoming faces. When asked to look at the room, the person by the desk stated she cannot leave the computer alone and she cannot show us the rooms. Very unprofessional. My vote.. stay in Sunshine apartments.

Room Tip: Stay Elsewhere!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Service
5  Thank CNS1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tobago hotels
7 km away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
450 reviews
2.8 km away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
4.7 km away
Coco Reef Resort & Spa Tobago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Greenhaven Cottage Bed And Breakfast
4.6 km away
Bellissimo Boutique Hotel
34.8 km away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#1 of 5 in Speyside
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canoe Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canoe Bay Beach Resort

Address: Cove Estate | Lowlands, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Tobago
Price Range: $104 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canoe Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Canoe Bay Beach Hotel Tobago
Canoe Bay Beach Resort Tobago, Trinidad And Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing