We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Surrounded in a tropical paradise where nature...”
other travellers have booked this property
Longford Hideaway - 1BR Cottage with Pool!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Longford Hideaway - 1BR Cottage with Pool!
Front  Door, West  side Longford Hideaway Entry to the cottage, the first step in
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Longford Hideaway - 1BR Cottage with Pool!
Front  Door, West  side Longford Hideaway
Entry to the cottage, the first step in
Breakfast Nook
Donkey ear cactus deck South side
Great House Building
Your hosts : kiko and Valeria Gasperi
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Christiansted, St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karen W
Townsend, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Surrounded in a tropical paradise where nature filled our hearts and rejuvenated our souls.”
Reviewed 26 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The natural beauty and welcoming nature of our Italian host's was incredible. 2 weeks of fun, education, and laughter. Touring the farm and learning how to manage this massive undertaking in an eco friendly way was amazing.
We were just minutes from the historical downtown Christenstead where I frequented SCUBA for 10 dives.
My husband toured historic downtown while I enjoyed some of the most wonderful dives.
We enjoyed St.Patrick's day like we've never seen before. Absolutely a must!
Life in the cottage was very comfortable. All the amenities necessary were available and clean. I never imagined sleeping on a tropical island without air conditioning. We never needed it due to the lovely breeze that kept us more than comfortable.
Watching hummingbirds and banana quits @ the aloe flowers outside our bedroom window each morning complimented the beauty of life @ the cottage.
Valeria taught me how to plant orchids onto an existing huge cactus and open holes in century old trees.
Without a doubt we will go back to the cottage and will welcome/embrace our new friends Valeria and Gasperi. We miss them already as certainly we formed a bond of Italian heritage. Penny their dog fulfilled my void to play.
Least we forget, a huge thanks to Luca their son for the wonderful vegetables and fruits from the farm.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2017
Karen, Ralph: you were the best :) ! Enough said!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther P
Philo, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to relax and unwind”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, adult daughter, and I stayed in the cottage. It was exactly as pictured on the website. This is off a main road so it's easy to get to, but the buildings are set back with lots of trees and shrubs so it's fairly private. Very clean and well maintained with fully equipped kitchen. With the pool and patios surrounding the cottage, there was always a shaded place to sit and enjoy the outdoors. Lots of flowering trees and orchids! The owners Valeria and Kiko were very friendly and made sure we felt at home and still gave us all the privacy we needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet rural setting close to beach
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadine...
Greentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our own piece of Paradise”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you want to stay in a quiet location, away from crowds and not in a "cookie-cutter" box resort, Longford Hideaway is the place to go. There were no other guests when we stayed and we loved it. Valeria and Chicco were so hospitable but unobtrusive and respected our privacy. We would highly recommend Longford Hideaway and hope to return again. We stayed in the cottage, plenty of room, very clean and no bugs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quietness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2015
It was our pleasure to have you as guests. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our cottage and your stay. May all your future vacations be as great :)!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, low-key...a perfect getaway!”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We booked the cottage for a week for our honeymoon. In the months between booking and our actual stay, Valeria's correspondence with us was prompt, warm, and informative. The booking process was straightforward, all fees were upfront and there were no surprises. Luca and Christina took great care of us during our stay, bringing us fresh organic veggies, fruits and eggs straight from the farm at a very reasonable price. The cottage was clean and comfortable, with lovely cross breezes that made the air conditioner irrelevant. Linens, toilet paper and tissues, bath soap and kitchen basics were all provided free of charge. We were definitely given space and privacy, but whenever we had questions or needed help or recommendations Luca and Christina were right there, never made us feel like we were a bother. The private beach near the land is quiet and lovely and a short walk through the pastures. They gave us a tour of the farm, cooked a homemade meal for us one night, and generally treated us like welcome guests instead of just customers. If you like super posh, fancy places, then Longford is not for you. But if you're like us and want somewhere that really feels like a home away from home, you couldn't do better than to stay with these lovely people. We will definitely be back if we make it down to St. Croix again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fresh pineapple from the farm! Delicious.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uncagedwo...
Coventry, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So pleasant, we booked another stay”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We were so pleased with Longford Hideaway that we decided to return in February. I should mention that we both farm and raise beef cattle, so the proximity to the beautiful Senepol cattle and organic gardens made us feel right at home. Valeria is dedicated to making sure that her guests have everything necessary to enjoy their stay, and she and her family are a wealth of helpful information about the island and what's going on. The farm produces beautiful organic produce, depending on the season, and supplies some excellent restaurants on the island.
Longford, originally a sugar plantation, is well out of town, but Christiansted is not far away, perhaps 20 minutes by car. You will want a rental car (perhaps 4x4 if you want to deviate from the paved roads), and we found that the GPS we brought from home was very helpful, as the roads are not always well marked. Driving on the left requires focus, but there is not much traffic.
The guest cottage is comfortable and well supplied with all the basics. The kitchen is really user-friendly. If coffee is important to you, you may want to bring your favorite (ground) from home. And, if you are particular about such things and checking your luggage, a really good knife. Having brought a few special condiments with us, and finding the Plaza Extra supermarket quite adequate, we happily dined in on several evenings, dinners that were enhanced by Longford's ART FARM produce.
The pool is delightful after a day in the warm sun or at the beach. We were busy exploring the island and did not take much advantage of the local beach, but we will check it our on our next trip.
It was our first trip to St. Croix, and we fell in love with the natural beauty, the quiet pace, and the friendly people. We were pleased with the snorkeling and scuba diving (our scuba was done through S.C.U.B.A. in Christiansted, and we are returning to them for further certification).
Longford, in short, is not for everyone, but if you want to avoid the resort hustle and fall asleep listening to symphony of the tropical night, it's lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing