We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful hosts, cozy apartment, & great location!”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
Pool (3) Pool (2)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Pool
Pool (3)
Pool (2)
Entry View
Private Entry
Living Area
Bedroom
Kitchen
Beach nearby
Beach Nearby (2)
Carambola Beach
Boardwalk
St.Patrick's Day
Dog Parade
Triathalon
Sign at driveway
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Christiansted, St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MEZBess
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts, cozy apartment, & great location!”
Reviewed 4 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
4
people found this review helpful

What a great little place for our escape! John and Chris were wonderful hosts, making recommendations and sharing their perspectives on all of our questions. We plan to move to St. Croix in a year, and John and Chris were so helpful providing insights to what island life is like. The apartment is close to beaches and C'sted but not in the middle of the hustle and bustle, which was exactly what we prefer. The apartment offered all the comforts of home. I highly recommend LA Porte Bleu!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2017
We really enjoyed spending some time with you and helping you to get acquainted with island life. It was always nice to see you in the morning as I cleaned the pool and to hear how you spent the previous day or planned the next. A warm and comfortable couple to be around, All the best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresita...
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful home away from home with amazing hosts!”
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

First off, the location is beautiful and convenient. The neighborhood is so peaceful, and the living accommodations are amazing. It's spacious, comfortable, and well set up with necessities and perks.
John was an excellent host - taking the time to stop by on our first day to help us get our bearings and answer any questions we might have, and even though we didn't have a chance to meet his wife she still took the time to drop off a Tupperware of muffins at our door before she went to work. (They were delicious, Chris. Thank you!)
They even put out a grill for us to use and had a dish of fresh fruit in the fridge for us. It felt so welcoming there.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Everything was amazing and more than we could have expected.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2017
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words. . Meeting and spending some time with an outgoing and friendly couple such as yourself is one of the benefits of making our space available. And thank you for leaving the apartment so neat and tidy when you left. It was a great pleasure to have met you both and want you to know that you are always welcome if you return to the island
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fntrvl
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great hosts and Wonderful location”
Reviewed 8 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
4
people found this review helpful

My husband and I enjoyed meeting John and his wife and being a guest at their rental. They offered us privacy while also being available during our stay.

For all future guests, I would like to state that this is a great rental for the price - unit was clean and had been supplied with all that was needed. Location was perfect as it was close to nice snorkeling beaches and to some restaurants, without having to pay for the resort prices to stay right on the beach. Also it was quiet and peaceful. We were easily able to get around with our rental - went out to Point Udall one day and also to Christiansted - would say that having a car is a must.

I would have given it an excellent rating if it were not for the bed... it was just a tad miserable trying to get comfortable after a long day spent out in the sun and would have been nice to be in a more adequate mattress. It just seemed a little worn and used but that being said, I still would highly recommend this place as John was more than helpful and they've done a great job with their home. Everything else was comfortable and relaxing.

If you can keep in mind that you are on an island (yes you will see some bugs and we definitely got mosquito bites!) and you are staying in someone's home (no hotel amenities, wifi is a little slower) you will have a great time. We were unable to use their pool as it was too cold for us but having that onsite is a nice perk for sure in the hotter months!

Overall, great stay and would love to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice host, good location, clean and quiet
Liked least: Bed was uncomfortable and mosquitoes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2016
Thank you for your positive feedback. We took your advice and just purchased and placed a new Sealy mattress on the bed. We're sorry about your experience, but future guests should now enjoy a more comfortable bed. Thanks for staying with us.
We enjoyed meeting you both and hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tcash1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Hosts, wonderful villa, wonderful vacation!”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

One of the best vacations I have had over the years. The accommodations were just as advertised. John and Chris are accommodating, appropriately interactive, kind people. We became great friends which ended up being the best part of my trip. They are always accessible but gave me my privacy as well. St. Croix is a beautiful island and the people there are friendly at every turn. If you are considering a vacation in the Caribbean you should not hesitate to visit this island and if you are fortunate enough to stay at La Porte Bleue you will be glad you did. All I can say is FIVE STARS!!! I miss them and St. Croix already.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private pool, Hosts
Liked least: There was nothing that I did not like
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
Thomas (chap) arrived as a guest and left as a friend.
We enjoyed his company and his outgoing personality. He was always courteous, respectful and optimistic in dealing with the quirks of island living. He also left the apartment super clean which we greatly appreciated.
People like chap renew our enthusiasm for meeting new people
from different parts of the country/world through our rental.
We hope to see him again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Platteville, Wisconsin
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We really enjoyed the friendliness of John and Chris.
Liked least: I cannot think of anything that was not liked.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Jan 2017
Wonderful friendly guests. We try to accommodate our guests depending on their circumstances and personalities. We were happy to help, and to know you enjoyed your stay with. Come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$93
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing