We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Nearby Hotels
Emerald Beach Resort(Charlotte Amalie)
US$305
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mafolie Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$217/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Olga's Fancy(Charlotte Amalie)(Great Value!)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast(Charlotte Amalie)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$195/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bunker Hill Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
US$110
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Secret Harbour Beach Resort(Benner)(Great Value!)
US$286
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove(Charlotte Amalie)
US$569
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort(South Coast)(Great Value!)
US$612
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,087)
Filter reviews
1,087 results
Traveller rating
670
263
97
31
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
670
263
97
31
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub levellady lynseywater sportscoconut covegreat baybeautiful propertygolf cartpaddle boardshobie catsnespresso machineincluded in the resort feeturn down servicebottle of champagneblue watersunset sailvirgin gordainfinity pool
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 1,087 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

First time staying in this high end brand hotel & it did not disappoint.
Great staff, wonderful service, family friendly( maybe almost too much for couples this time of year)
Loved the complimentary yoga classes with Katie! Fruit passed at the pool deck, along with cookies later in the afternoon. Totally impressed & while it's a pricey stay, a great place if you want to splurge & indulge yourself. My only complaint would be that at checkin we were told they could not change us to our room request but the next day they could after unpacking etc we just stayed in orig room then found out they were not fully booked & could have but didn't according to other staff:(

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Trish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STTRZGM, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Trish C,

Thank you very much for your review! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed the special touches that make the resort so luxurious. We look forward to welcoming you back to beautiful St. Thomas in the future!

Sincerely,
Marco Ortlam, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We just returned after 5 days at the Ritz. It was our first time going to st Thomas and staying at this property and we loved it. The grounds are beautiful and the setting spectacular. We traveled with a party of four including two older children (20 and 14). We are loyal Marriott and Ritz customers and we were upgraded to a ocean front room in Eugenia building room 434 which had a gorgeous view. The room was clean and spacious and handled a party of 4 without any issues. The balcony and view of the property was beautiful. This is an somewhat older property so there is some wear and tear showing in spots, but I would say it has aged quite well and was not an issue at all. We spent a lot of time researching the property and here are our observations:
Pros
The resort tries to make everything very convenient. We took two tours - one an evening tour on the Lady Lynsey to St. John's and one trip to the Baths / Virgin Gorda. Both were great and very convenient. The key for us was convenience. It was so easy to get on a boat right from the property. Taxis are expensive and trying to arrange your own trip can become a headache. We did a private sailing tour out of St. John's and arranging transportation to the ferry and to St. John's wound up being the same price as if we would have just scheduled through the Ritz. We alternated one day on the property and one day boating and sailing and that worked our great. The pool area is more kid friendly and we spent our days on the beach and it was beautiful especially later in the day. The property offers water sports and the snorkeling was quite good with two reefs and an abundance of sea life.
Cons
There is not a lot of negatives to say we really enjoyed our stay. We did find the on site restaurants to be expensive and as some people have mentioned the property is spread out and their are a lot of steps. This was not an issue from our location which was fairly close to the beach, pool and sails. We enjoyed Zest for breakfast (although they ran out of eggs one day by 11:30 which was strange and disappointing) and Sails for lunch. For the days we stayed at the property we ate at Coconut Cove and enjoyed that very much but we felts the other restaurants were quite overpriced for dinner. We had some excellent meals at other properties in St. Thomas (especially Sunset Grill which is close by) and St. John's and that also helped break up the week.
Overall we loved this place and my wife already wants to return.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ibejj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

We stayed there two nights after coming over from the Westin on St. John. We've stayed at many Ritz properties over the years [Laruna beach last year] and this one was fine but not up to the standard of service, bar and food as others. I would guess that is due to the "island time" attitude toward service and availability of experienced workers. On the plus side, the grounds and buildings were all very very nice and the rooms were large and clean. Also the pool area and beach were quite nice with free water sports. But we did run into inattentive service when checking in. They had promised to text/call when our room was ready but never did so we had to call them and they promised to deliver our keys to us at the beach which they never did. Also the both bar tenders we encountered were well below the Ritz standard of service ...by way of example my daughter ordered a tea and there were several fruit flies in it and the bar tender simply said they are just fruit flies. Tip: the property is quite large with buildings far from the lobby and restaurant so you if you don't feel like walking a lot you need to call 15 mins ahead to get a golf cart to pick you up.

Stayed: July 2017
4  Thank Todd E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

A top notch experience in every category. A gorgeous property, fantastic food, exceptional service, great beach setting, and lots of leisure activities. A few specific recommendations.

We love St Thomas in general, but don't be too anxious to get off the Ritz property. It is really special. Eat dinner at least twice on property. Camp out at the beach and enjoy drinks and lunch from Sails. Go sailing on a Hobie Cat. Snorkel, Get a float. The other big recommendations are around boating. Go out on their Catamaran, Lady Lindsey. Really well done experience. Two notches up though would be chartering a boat with a captain to head over to the BVI.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jp E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

The resort is beautiful, the service is excellent, the location was perfect - basically, everything you would expect from a Ritz. We had a great family weekend celebrating Mother's Day. The staff could not have been more accommodating and attentive. Also, it's five minutes from one of the ferries that take you to St. John, which we would have taken advantage of if we were going to be there longer. The restaurants were good as well. The only issue is that the tile around the main pool is very slippery when wet - both of our kids fell and I almost fell - they really should do something about that.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Hendry1859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews