We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Very poor customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2017

My husband and I selected this resort and island to celebrate his birthday. We were very disappointed with the hotel and most of the employees. The breakfast/coffee shop were far from customer oriented. I ordered a latte, which was given to me cold. I had to wait in line again to ask them to re-heat it in the microwave because I could not get anyone's attention. Turn down service in the evening did not happen, even though we left for dinner at the same time each evening for a period of hours. We always got back to the room without it being refreshed. The rug in our room looked old and worn out. We decided to not spend any money at this hotel and booked excursions daily to be away from the hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. You will be very disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Tammie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STTRZGM, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Tammie H,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us here at The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas. I'm sorry you didn't find our resort to your expectations, but thank you very much for your feedback-the main points of which I will certainly investigate. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review, and I hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back to St. Thomas in the future.

Sincerely,

Ian McPhee, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,082)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

First time staying in this high end brand hotel & it did not disappoint.
Great staff, wonderful service, family friendly( maybe almost too much for couples this time of year)
Loved the complimentary yoga classes with Katie! Fruit passed at the pool deck, along with cookies later in the afternoon. Totally impressed & while it's a pricey stay, a great place if you want to splurge & indulge yourself. My only complaint would be that at checkin we were told they could not change us to our room request but the next day they could after unpacking etc we just stayed in orig room then found out they were not fully booked & could have but didn't according to other staff:(

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Trish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STTRZGM, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Trish C,

Thank you very much for your review! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed the special touches that make the resort so luxurious. We look forward to welcoming you back to beautiful St. Thomas in the future!

Sincerely,
Marco Ortlam, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We just returned after 5 days at the Ritz. It was our first time going to st Thomas and staying at this property and we loved it. The grounds are beautiful and the setting spectacular. We traveled with a party of four including two older children (20 and 14). We are loyal Marriott and Ritz customers and we were upgraded to a ocean front room in Eugenia building room 434 which had a gorgeous view. The room was clean and spacious and handled a party of 4 without any issues. The balcony and view of the property was beautiful. This is an somewhat older property so there is some wear and tear showing in spots, but I would say it has aged quite well and was not an issue at all. We spent a lot of time researching the property and here are our observations:
Pros
The resort tries to make everything very convenient. We took two tours - one an evening tour on the Lady Lynsey to St. John's and one trip to the Baths / Virgin Gorda. Both were great and very convenient. The key for us was convenience. It was so easy to get on a boat right from the property. Taxis are expensive and trying to arrange your own trip can become a headache. We did a private sailing tour out of St. John's and arranging transportation to the ferry and to St. John's wound up being the same price as if we would have just scheduled through the Ritz. We alternated one day on the property and one day boating and sailing and that worked our great. The pool area is more kid friendly and we spent our days on the beach and it was beautiful especially later in the day. The property offers water sports and the snorkeling was quite good with two reefs and an abundance of sea life.
Cons
There is not a lot of negatives to say we really enjoyed our stay. We did find the on site restaurants to be expensive and as some people have mentioned the property is spread out and their are a lot of steps. This was not an issue from our location which was fairly close to the beach, pool and sails. We enjoyed Zest for breakfast (although they ran out of eggs one day by 11:30 which was strange and disappointing) and Sails for lunch. For the days we stayed at the property we ate at Coconut Cove and enjoyed that very much but we felts the other restaurants were quite overpriced for dinner. We had some excellent meals at other properties in St. Thomas (especially Sunset Grill which is close by) and St. John's and that also helped break up the week.
Overall we loved this place and my wife already wants to return.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ibejj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

We stayed there two nights after coming over from the Westin on St. John. We've stayed at many Ritz properties over the years [Laruna beach last year] and this one was fine but not up to the standard of service, bar and food as others. I would guess that is due to the "island time" attitude toward service and availability of experienced workers. On the plus side, the grounds and buildings were all very very nice and the rooms were large and clean. Also the pool area and beach were quite nice with free water sports. But we did run into inattentive service when checking in. They had promised to text/call when our room was ready but never did so we had to call them and they promised to deliver our keys to us at the beach which they never did. Also the both bar tenders we encountered were well below the Ritz standard of service ...by way of example my daughter ordered a tea and there were several fruit flies in it and the bar tender simply said they are just fruit flies. Tip: the property is quite large with buildings far from the lobby and restaurant so you if you don't feel like walking a lot you need to call 15 mins ahead to get a golf cart to pick you up.

Stayed: July 2017
4  Thank Todd E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

A top notch experience in every category. A gorgeous property, fantastic food, exceptional service, great beach setting, and lots of leisure activities. A few specific recommendations.

We love St Thomas in general, but don't be too anxious to get off the Ritz property. It is really special. Eat dinner at least twice on property. Camp out at the beach and enjoy drinks and lunch from Sails. Go sailing on a Hobie Cat. Snorkel, Get a float. The other big recommendations are around boating. Go out on their Catamaran, Lady Lindsey. Really well done experience. Two notches up though would be chartering a boat with a captain to head over to the BVI.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jp E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Thomas
1.2 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
5.8 km away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
8.5 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
732 reviews
8.4 km away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,462 reviews
5.8 km away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Address: 6900 Great Bay | U.S. Virgin Islands, 00802-1010, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range: $602 - $1,396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within a 30-acre beachfront estate, The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas blends classic European elegance with warm Caribbean hospitality. The resort overlooks sparkling turquoise waters and white sand beaches on the eastern tip of St. Thomas in the Virgin Islands, along Great Bay and with views of St. John. 180 Guestrooms each have private balconies, Caribbean-inspired decor and views of the Caribbean Sea and tropical surroundings. Other features of our beach resort in St. Thomas include a full service spa and salon, 24-hour fitness center, a Club Level with private concierge and complimentary food and beverage presentations, infinity pool, a beach and aquatic center with ample complimentary water sports, and four restaurants for gourmet dining and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Kognitiv US Corp and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas Hotel St. Thomas
St. Thomas Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing