We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Can't Wait To Go Back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We had an awesome stay at the Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas! We arrived at night and woke in the morning to the most gorgeous view. This is a lovely property on a quiet stretch of beach with only others like us staying at the resort. The hotel is made up of a number of buildings which circle around the beach. So there's good exercise walking from your room to the pool, gym, restaurants and Club. The white sand beach is gorgeous turquoise and blue water and super clear for viewing everything. All employees are very friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely, very comfortable firm bed, large outdoor balcony, nice bathroom with large soaking tub and separate shower. We also made use of the Club! That's a must, with delicious food served throughout the day and drinks. We were celebrating our anniversary, so Champagne was flowing, but they offer all kinds cocktail options. Midday they offered a delicious variety of rum and we loved that! The hotel has its own Catamaran - we took their dinner cruise to St. John and had a wonderful time! So many wonderful things to do and see there! We loved our entire stay and hated to leave. Can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room, of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank socalgirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STTRZGM, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear socalgirl60,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and I'm so happy to see that you had a memorable time with us! It sounds like you took advantage of all that we have to offer here in beautiful St. Thomas! I want to thank you especially for your kind words about our team of Ladies and Gentlemen. Just as you can't wait to come back, we can't wait to welcome you back!

Marco Ortlam, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,082)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2017

My husband and I stayed at the Ritz Carlton, St. Thomas last week and it was wonderful. We had an ocean view room that was not as tropically decorated as other Ritz hotel’s but was still a great size and had a great view of the pool and ocean. Also, having a Nespresso machine inside the room was a lovely surprise! I enjoyed having coffee on the balcony in the morning and bringing a second cup down to the beach with me.

Food: We ate at all the restaurants on property and by far Essenza was our favorite. The charcuterie board is one of the best items on the menu and you can’t go wrong with the entrée’s. Our bartender, Jack, was equally amazing. Super friendly and outgoing, he even took it upon himself to help fix anything we were not happy with, even if we were not complaining about it and only mentioning it in conversation. He also had some great suggestions for places to visit on the island and where to eat in both St. Thomas and St. John. We also ate at Bleu Water and our experience there was not so great. I know we are on an island but when I order steak at a Ritz Carlton I expect it to be thicker than a T-bone and cooked to order. We mentioned this casually to Jack when he asked how our dinner was at Bleu Water when we went back to him for drinks and he the F&B Manager involved. We were not complaining or looking for anything when we mentioned our experience but both Jack and Manu, the F&B Manager were determined to make it right and make sure our experience at the property was anything less than pleasant.

Manu invited us back to have dinner at Bleu Water but we ended up opting out because it was our last night and we really wanted to have the delicious meal we had at Essenza. Manu graciously accommodated us and invited us to have the breakfast buffet at Bleu Water instead on our final day. The buffet bar was delicious and we had to pace ourselves so we could try a little bit of everything.

As for the beach restaurants, their food service could use a bit of improvement. The food at Sails always took a long time to come out. I know we were on island time but after flying all morning and then driving into the hotel we were starving and waited 45 minutes for a burger and quesadilla at 3pm (it was not crowded at all). Another day we waited 45 minutes at Coconut Cove for our order to come out as well (got the pizza and a chicken sandwich that time) and we were the second people there. Jack was there bar tending and of course made up for the wait time and erased our disappointment. Overall the food at these two locations was typical hotel food. Coconut Cove had a bigger selection so we walked over to the other beach to pick up food and bring it back (5 min walk).

I can't forget about Zest! Their breakfast sandwiches were delicious - though I wish they would update the restaurant / store itself, it was a great place to stop for sodas or ice cream but had an outdated look to it. I also wish they had more snacks or prepared food (sandwiches / salads) just for variety and/or in case you don't want a big lunch.

Activities: It was our first trip away from our little ones so all we wanted to do was relax on the beach and do nothing so we kept it simple. The only thing we did was the Lady Lyndsey out to St. John’s for dinner. We were to not impressed by it. We decided to try it since it had received such rave reviews everywhere but the experience just wasn’t for us and we did not think it was worth the price per person. You can take a $15 pp ferry ride over to St. John from Red Hook (a $5 cab ride from the hotel) and have a cheaper experience. The restaurants were decent in St. John’s, we ate at Mango Tavern and had ahi tuna, ceviche and burgers. There is not a lot of shopping to do there so we walked around for a few minutes before heading back to the dock for our ride back. The plus side of the catamaran ride is the free drinks, appetizers and desserts but we are not big drinkers and were too full for dessert.

Beach: We were always the first ones down at 7am (early risers) and were the only ones out until about 8:30 am but we never saw the beach or pool chairs get full throughout the day. I loved the sunshade on the beach chairs and only wish they would do periodic maintenance checks on them (sometimes they would not stay up or the slightest bit of wind would knock them down). The beach itself was a bit small but it never felt crowded, even on the weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank varandia228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STTRZGM, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear varandia,

Thank you for your review! I'm sure it will be very helpful to future guests of our resort. I will be sure to pass your wonderful comments along to Jack and Manu, who I agree are such great assets to us here in St. Thomas. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Marco Ortlam, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

It's the ritz, but the "pleasure" is all yours. Extraordinary food, service and surroundings at this beautiful resort in USVI. Have been here a couple of times and it was awesome. Nice beach, view and pool cap off this extravagant resort

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STTRZGM, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear John A,

Thank you for your review and for being a loyal guest! We'll see you on your next visit!

Sincerely,
Marco Ortlam, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

We just got back from visiting the Ritz in St.Thomas. This was our second time at the hotel. The last visit was March 2014. Unfortunately this property has gone downhill a lot in the last few years- but the rates seem to keep going up.

First on the positives, the location is good. We had some service that was fantastic (Judith and Jasmine at Coconut Cove are incredible and so warm and friendly) and we had some service that was just ok (mainly pool/beach areas). The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms have been redone.

Unfortunately the hotel overall is just worn out (see pics). There are MAJOR areas on the outside that need to be kept up and it seems like they're just not putting money into this property. The gutters have literally disintegrated thus when it rains there are puddles of waters in all of the hallways leading to the rooms. There are rust stains and peeling paint on almost all the exterior surfaces. It really blew my mind to see what used to be such a beautiful hotel not being cared for in a way that speaks to the Ritz name and the $1200 a night pricetag.

Another major disappointment was the beach. When we were here before it was beautiful white sand but this time it was covered in seaweed. One day I noticed someone raking some seaweed but there was such a thick layer it seems like an impossible problem that has gone too far.

Lastly, depending on where your room is about 50% of the guests walk down the sidewalk by Sails to get to the pool. We did this walk multiple times a day and it's crazy how bad the smell is coming from the back of the restaurant. It literally smells like a huge garbage dump. Since this area is in such a busy traffic zone for everyone going to the beach/pool, I think something needs to be done about the terrible smell. I know it sounds picky but this is the main thoroughfare between the pool and the hotel rooms.

We commented when we left today that we would be surprised if this hotel is a Ritz the next time we come back. It just does not meet the usual standards.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank SL9100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STTRZGM, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear SL9100,

Thank you for your review, and for returning to see us at The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas.
I'm pleased that you still enjoyed our location on Great Bay with views out to St. John and the British Virgin Islands. And thank you very much for your comments on Judith and Jasmine, which I will be sure to pass along to them. I also appreciate your other feedback, which especially coming from a return guest, always helps us as we improve the resort experience. Unfortunately, the sargassum seaweed is a Caribbean-wide problem and not unique to our resort. However, our landscaping team consistently cleans the beach so that it is ready in time for our guests to enjoy it in the morning.

Thank you again for your feedback, and I do hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,
Marco Ortlam, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

My husband and I selected this resort and island to celebrate his birthday. We were very disappointed with the hotel and most of the employees. The breakfast/coffee shop were far from customer oriented. I ordered a latte, which was given to me cold. I had to wait in line again to ask them to re-heat it in the microwave because I could not get anyone's attention. Turn down service in the evening did not happen, even though we left for dinner at the same time each evening for a period of hours. We always got back to the room without it being refreshed. The rug in our room looked old and worn out. We decided to not spend any money at this hotel and booked excursions daily to be away from the hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. You will be very disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Tammie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STTRZGM, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Tammie H,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us here at The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas. I'm sorry you didn't find our resort to your expectations, but thank you very much for your feedback-the main points of which I will certainly investigate. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review, and I hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back to St. Thomas in the future.

Sincerely,

Ian McPhee, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Thomas
1.2 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
5.8 km away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
8.5 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
732 reviews
8.4 km away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,462 reviews
5.8 km away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas

Address: 6900 Great Bay | U.S. Virgin Islands, 00802-1010, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Thomas
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Thomas
Price Range: $602 - $1,397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within a 30-acre beachfront estate, The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas blends classic European elegance with warm Caribbean hospitality. The resort overlooks sparkling turquoise waters and white sand beaches on the eastern tip of St. Thomas in the Virgin Islands, along Great Bay and with views of St. John. 180 Guestrooms each have private balconies, Caribbean-inspired decor and views of the Caribbean Sea and tropical surroundings. Other features of our beach resort in St. Thomas include a full service spa and salon, 24-hour fitness center, a Club Level with private concierge and complimentary food and beverage presentations, infinity pool, a beach and aquatic center with ample complimentary water sports, and four restaurants for gourmet dining and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Thomas Hotel St. Thomas
St. Thomas Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing