We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
At Home In The Tropics Bed and Breakfast Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$161
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast(Charlotte Amalie)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Windward Passage Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Emerald Beach Resort(Charlotte Amalie)
US$224
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Midtown Guest House(Charlotte Amalie)
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bunker Hill Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
US$105
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olga's Fancy(Charlotte Amalie)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$145
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bluebeard's Castle Resort(Charlotte Amalie)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
337
10
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
10
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscharming b bgreat hostscoconut muffinsevery morningst thomasbreakfast was deliciouscommon areaspool areaprivate deckdeep poollocked gateother guestsrestaurants and shoppingrestaurant recommendationsstayed two nightsshort walkstayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
334 - 339 of 350 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2007

We were so glad we decided to stay at At Home In The Tropics. We needed to spend three nights in St. Thomas on our way to the BVI and all the reviews we read of hotels and many other B&Bs were quite bad. But the reviews of this place were lovely so we went for it and it was great. Pam was amazing. She is a fabulous host. The rooms are very nice, private and have a wonderful private pool just steps away. You'll also get a taste of true Caribbean architecture here. Pam and her husband have spent many years restoring this place and have kept all of the charm of of the "old" Caribbean with modern amenities. Pam cooks breakfast for you every morning (in a very laid back manner; not the typical B&B experience (for those who shy away from B&Bs because of nosy inn keepers; this is NOT that way). On top of everything, we had a flight delay and arrived a day late. Pam was amazing; she did not charge us for the missed night and we did not even have to discuss this with her. If you are looking for a big beach and many large hotel amenities, this is not for you. If you are looking for a cozy retreat in a quiet and authentic neighborhood, this is for you. We had a great experience and if we ever make it back, we'll definitely stay there again. Thanks Pam!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank superjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2007

Sailed for a week's charter on the Irie (excellent!) in the BVI and chose this B and B for a night's stay before sailing based on tripadvisor.com reviews.

Pam Eckstein is the consummate hostess. Excellent location. Clean, good price, private and nicely appointed. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LuckyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2007

We couldn't have selected a better place for the beginning of our honeymoon. Matt and Pam are wonderful hosts and couldn't have done more for us. We are seasoned B&Ber's and this was one of the finest we have ever stayed in....worldwide. Location is beautiful, very safe area, lovely refurbished historical building, excellent breakfast, and a lovely pool area. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rudy219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2007

We stayed here for 2-nights before going to St. John for our wedding/honeymoon. It is very nice, very clean, very safe, and very friendly. The decor is crisp and clean with an island feel -- without being at all cheesy. The rooms are small, but very comfortable. We views are great, and even better when you use the telescope on the patio. The landscaping is bright and beuatiful, the pool is clean and the pool deck is great for catching rays. Have I mentioned Pams' breakfasts? Fantasitc! I really loved the Peach Upside-down French Toast. Yum-o! Pam was also very helpful with helping us get a taxi to the ferry and with directing us to the courthouse (which is within walking distance) to get our marriage license. Shops are also within walking distance, although I'm not sure I would walk it after dark. Expect to climb a few (ha!) when you return from shopping.
I would stay here again . . .and again . . .and again.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrae1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2007

At Home in the Tropics is a wonderful experience. The beautifully restored old colonial structure set just above the heart of Charlotte Amalie, in the old district, evokes a thirties Holliwood image of a tropical paradise, populated version. Sit on the veranda and watch the world visit the harbor, or explore the shooping bazaars, or palm lined beaches. Walk to restaurands and world-class duty-free shops. Be warned, the walks can be steep, but that's part of the charm. The inn's private pool is perfect.

The Web pictures are an accurate representation of the site. The bedrooms are a bit small, but you should get out! Pam is a great hostess, and prepares super breakfasts. Breakfast is an open-air community affair where you can compare notes with the other guests.

Overall, this is 4.5 star getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews