We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Urban Eats

Urban Eats
Reserve with OpenTable
Urban Eats is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: US$7 - US$28
Restaurant details
Reviewed 21 April 2017

The food is absolutely delicious! It' a really great break from the standard offerings on the rest of the island. The vegan green curry was amazing and the prawn noodle salad had the perfect amount of kick. The owners are charming and friendly, the decor is modern but welcoming. Definitely going back whenever I'm in St Thomas.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

Came in to drink a much needed espresso and check out the menu and ended up staying for lunch! I had the blackened chicken panini and it was great! Brian was our server and he was the sweetest. The restaurant had a modern look to it and just had a nice ambiance. I noticed they serve Pho and I've actually been looking for a place on island that served it. Will definitely be coming back and recommending to friends!

Thank Leeza Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Lunchtime, only bartender working front of the house, 20 minutes, no drinks, only special on the board and it was out....left and will not return

Thank Cara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norrisma08, Owner at Urban Eats, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Hi Cara,
Im sorry you had this experience at my establishment. We are a small restaurant so typically only one person is needed to work Front of House. It was not brought to anyones attention that you waited on being served so we didnt know. I also apologize for being out of the Indian Korma, but we make our dishes in small batches to ensure freshness, and Indian curries take a while to create another batch. We apologize for any inconvenience and do hope you will return in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Overall the food is good, wheat tortillas for the wraps, vegan options, and some variety in the 8 items on the menu. BUT service is missing. We had to ask for every level of service. No one greeted us as we entered, we just sat ourself at a dirty table. After delivering our drinks, the server said she'd be right back to take out order, this occurred 10 min later. We got out soup, but had to remind them for the wrap. Other tables beverages were forgotten, menus promised but never delivered, the two servers were arguing over who's tables sauce when to what tables... overall the food does not make up for the forgetful service.
Side notes... no crew discount despite being close to the cruise port and no wifi.

Thank Corban R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norrisma08, Owner at Urban Eats, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

I am sorry you had this experience while you were in port. We had only been open for two months at the time of your visit and have since fixed any issues with the level of service as we had many growing pains to go through. As for a crew discount and wi-fi, we feel the quality and freshness of the food is priced very reasonable to offer a discount for ship crew. Wi-fi is not offered because people will often eat up our band-width which causes credit card transactions to not go through and our music to shut down. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

Excellent Indian and Thai food. Owners are super nice. Great staff. Beautiful decor. Centrally located. Also have pastas and wraps. Something for everyone. I am a local and this is now one of my go to spots. You gotta check it out!! Enjoy.

Thank adubbs714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Urban Eats also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Urban Eats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing