We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I knew it would be good but wow”
Review of Treetops

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. John
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Treetops
Ranked #4 of 7 St. John B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2010

Wow, talk about a surprise. I researched for a couple days on where to stay- let's face it, St. John is expensive, but this place was very reasonably priced. I booked this B&B for two nights, and I think we ended staying three. Best thing about this place (of the many?) Karen and Hank. Great people. They are amazing at keeping in contact, great with instructions, and wonderful to have breakfast with. Next best thing? Attention to detail. Everything is well done- the place is immaculate, has a really cool nautical theme, and has everything from a BBQ grill to rum and coke waiting for you in your room. We traveled 10 days in the VIs, and this was by far the best B&B we stayed at.
It is in the treetops, and not on a beach, so be ready for that- but, the hill it's on is surrounded by trees, and there is a really neat creek-thing in the back- beautiful. It is about 10ish minutes from town- fun drive. Room we stayed in had two a/c units, fridge, nice bathroom, etc. The shower is outside, which is really cool- the girl was hesitant at first, but she was sold after the first shower.
Rent a Jeep (you'll need one on St. John), get a bushwacker at Woody's, and stay here. This is where I'll stay from now on- no need to pay $400 a night- and hey, you don't get Karen and Hank at those places!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelinHard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 157 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2010

I booked 2 nights at Treetops, and ended up staying longer, with a great satisfaction of ever encountering such an inspirational, cozy, friendly environment and quarters.

Their website http://stjohnbedandbreakfast.com, explains it truthfully, "home away from home".

Hank and Karen could not have been more hospitable, providing whatever necessary to make our stay the most enjoyable experience.

The majority of Bed and Breakfasts may have a judgment on having children on their property. With my 5 year-old daughter, it couldn't have been more exciting for her, and Hank and Karen welcomed her with warmth.

It was an absolute delight, and inspirational stay at the beautiful Treetops.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mblase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

This is the best lodging experience I have ever had. If that first sentence is not enough to convince you to stay at Tree Tops, I’ll elaborate. The principal attraction of Tree Tops is its owners, Hank & Karen. They are thoroughly good, salt-of-the earth people. They made me feel more than welcome. They shared their knowledge of St. John’s hidden jewels (Francis Bay, Vie’s Beach) with me. They made restaurant recommendations that were spot-on. The fruit, muffins and coffee put out for breakfast were fresh and delicious.

Apart from Hank & Karen, the accommodations were great. My room (First Mate’s Quarters) is designed so that you feel like you’re outdoors, even when you’re indoors. It was clean, tastefully decorated and contained some great extras (cookies, beer, rum and other goodies). It was wonderful to wake up to the sun coming over the mountains, and to sit out on the deck at night and plot what I must do to make St. John my home one day. If you like your ego pampered, you can stay at Caneel or the Westin. If you appreciate St. John and its inhabitants for what they are intrinsically, with or without Caneel or the Westin, then stay with Hank & Karen. With the money you save, rent a jeep, go to Vie’s, share that beach with three other souls, have a conch fritter, and thank God for Tree Tops.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fefasgordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvaG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aurelio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John hotels
2.9 km away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
476 reviews
2.6 km away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
497 reviews
2.0 km away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
859 reviews
3.0 km away
Estate Lindholm
Estate Lindholm
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
438 reviews
7.0 km away
Concordia Eco-Resort
Concordia Eco-Resort
#1 of 2 in Virgin Islands National Park
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treetops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops

Address: Pelican Road | Fish Bay, 00830, St. John
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St. John
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Note: We are a 3-guest room B & B, and each of the rooms rent separately! Please call or email for accurate availability for each of the 3 rooms, as the attached calendar does not reflect reservations for all 3 rooms. Whether you enjoy hiking any of the many ruin-studded trails on St. John, or raising a glass at one of the many world famous beach bars, make Treetops your choice for convenient and economical accommodations. Nestled into abundant vegetation in tranquil Fish Bay, "Treetops" offers guests an affordable alternative to large resorts and pricey villas. This 3-guest room B&B has comfortable accommodations in queen-size beds. "The Captain's Quarters" is an air-conditioned 2-room suite with queen bed plus single day bed, kitchenette, lavatory and private, enclosed outside shower. "The First Mate's Headquarters" also has a queen-size bed, fridge, full (indoor) bath, and private deck. "The Bunkhouse" has a/c, fridge, lavatory and shower. *EACH OF THE ROOMS RENTS SEPARATELY. *Because of the steepness of the yard and height of the decks, Treetops is not recommended for small children. * The entire house can be rented out (all 3 guest rooms and owners' quarters) during Christmas week ONLY. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing