We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Marley tries, but just doesn't cut it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marley Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Reviewed 27 January 2017

The Marley is not cheap. In fact, it's pretty expensive. So, it certainly isn't worth it for what you get. We rented four rooms over Christmas. My son never had any hot water the whole time we were there. The showers didn't work particularly well in any of the rooms. Apparently we were supposed to get new water bottles every day, but that didn't happen. In fact, there was one day where our room wasn't cleaned at all. The restaurant is decent, but the food took forever. They told us varying times when breakfast ended, but would arbitrarily refuse to make breakfast. The pool and beach are beautiful, but there is really no service. You have to ask for beach towels and there are no chairs on the beach. You can pay the same price for an all-inclusive. It is just an average hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel was not handicap accessible. Part of our family had to stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajgoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2017

We came her with our teenagers recently and found this place to be very dirty and dated.
It's in need of a major renovation.
A few things:
There is no beach to sit on. The pool area is very small and there is no service there (lunch/drinks)
There is no spa, no hot tub, no fitness.
The restaurant food is very inconsistent. Wifi is spotty.
Hall carpets are so dirty.
Broken levers, broken toilet paper holders. not enough towels.
Staff is very nice on the bright side.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Nancy3331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

The Marley was a great place to stay. The atmophere is relaxed. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The location is great. The beach is lovely. I swam several times a day. The food is OK and is reasonably priced. The rooms, the furnishings and the beds are fabulous. This is not an American high rise resort. Its a laid back quirky shrine to Bob Marley. I highly recommend The Marley.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank WerriB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGMvacation, Guest Relations Manager at Marley Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and during your recent vacation! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

We stayed here for a short birthday weekend getaway. Overall, I thought the hotel was nice, with pretty grounds, relaxing environment, helpful staff, and delicious restaurant. We prefer boutique hotels like this over large resorts for most vacations. We had our 2 year old son with us and he was made to feel welcome even though the resort is geared toward adults (which they did tell us prior to booking). The main negatives for me were that the spa wasn't open/finished yet (again, we knew this ahead of time though) and that our safe, in room jacuzzi, and shower both had maintenance issues. I buy Marley Coffee at home and would love to have seen that for sale or served in the cafe. It would also be nice to offer Marley spa products or have a gift shop available. I would stay here again, especially if we came back as just a couple. I would love to be relaxing in the courtyard right now!!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pomaikai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGMvacation, Guest Relations Manager at Marley Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

We are happy to hear that the staff was very accommodating and that we were able to help make up for some of the maintenance issues. We hope to see you and your little family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Let me first start off by saying that all the staff here are really fantastic.Everyone has a smile and will go out of their way for you- they deserve 10/10 for effort, kindness and service. So that's the good news. I think it's important when reviewing a hotel to try to be positive especially in this case because the hotel has so much potential and I so want it to succeed for the people who work there-but it has a long way to go to truly match up to the reputation of Bob Marley, after whom it is named, and who used to own the property.
This is not a resort and definitely not a spa (well certainly not one that I envisage when the word spa is mentioned) . The hotel is around a central courtyard and I couldn't see anything resembling a spa - the hotel is tired and badly needs a lick of paint, the garden water features are full of green water that smells a little bad. the first room we stayed at had a fan that was broken, a very lumpy uncomfortable bed, a broken safe and a noisy old air conditioning unit. The tap water smells like something died. The breakfast was expensive yet tasteless.
Yet relatively small changes would make a big difference here - staff need to check light bulbs are working - there are no phones in the rooms-and a fresh coat of paint would change the place entirely.
The hotel is loosely themed around Bob Marley - there are rooms named after his songs and a few discs, photos and instruments on the walls - but this place could be genuinely 'jammin' if a little money was spent - maybe a live Dj playing reggae in the bar and the room with Marley memorabilia made a little less dark and dingy.
Despite the negatives there is no need to avoid this hotel -We moved from our first dark uncomfortable room called 'mellow mood' to a much nicer room with garden view and it changed our perception of the place. The new room was much fresher and more comfortable, so do ask for one of these rooms when booking and as mentioned before the staff will really look after you- just lower your expectations a little from what the hotel name implies and you will enjoy.


Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank mdvLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
6.1 km away
Compass Point Beach Resort
7.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau
7.0 km away
Courtyard Nassau Downtown/Junkanoo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#6 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,664 reviews
2.4 km away
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
#1 of 37 in Nassau
346 reviews
7.6 km away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marley Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marley Resort & Spa

Address: West Bay St | Cable Beach, Nassau, New Providence Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
Price Range: $242 - $655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marley Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The summer retreat of the Reggae Royalty now welcomes guests to 16 luxurious, themed suites reflecting musical legacies of Bob and Rita Marley. Two free-form pools, personal concierge service, boutique, music gallery, and a Caribbean-fusion restaurant that offers some of the Marley's favorite dishes. An intimate escape into the talented life of a legendary family, the Marley Resort & Spa blends the best of the region's rich culture with the artistic energy of this acclaimed family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marley Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marley Resort And Spa
Marley Hotel Nassau
Marley Resort Nassau
Marley Resort & Spa Nassau, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing