We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites Paradise Island(Paradise Island)(Great Value!)
US$366
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Warwick Paradise Island Bahamas - All Inclusive(Paradise Island)(Great Value!)
US$443
US$323
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$364
Riu.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas(Paradise Island)(Great Value!)
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$550
US$479
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Bay View Suites Paradise Island(Paradise Island)(Great Value!)
US$181
US$93
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Land'or Resort(Paradise Island)
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$1,125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (784)
Filter reviews
784 results
Traveller rating
566
123
43
26
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
566
123
43
26
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsteacher traininglife changingmorning and eveningsilent meditationspiritual practicemorning meditationbeach platforminner peacevegetarian dietvacation programdaily meditationsun salutationsprivate bathroomdaily scheduleprotein barsmeal timesgorgeous beach
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 784 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

I spend two weeks in the Sivananda Ashram on the Bahamas and it was the most beautiful experience of my life. The Ashram grounds are like a paradise garden with lots of flowers and stunning temples. Everyone in the Ashram is deeply friendly and you have the opportunity to really learn about yoga and the philosophy behind it in the many interesting workshops and to spend time as part of the community during the daily satsangs which are a beautiful mixture of silent meditation, chanting and talks on spiritual topics. The accommodation and food are amazing too. I came here to recharge from a stressful life in New York and leave here deeply relaxed and full of joy!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
Thank Miriam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemberel, Guest Relations Manager at Sivananda Ashram Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Om Miriam,

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review! We are delighted to hear that you had such a beautiful experience here and appreciated the beauty of our grounds and beach, the yoga and workshop teachings and our spiritual offerings.

New York is not far away so please do come to visit again soon! Whether for another recharge, one of our programs or perhaps our Teachers Training Course (TTC), we look forward to seeing you again!

Wishing you Peace and Happiness,

With Love and Om.

Sivananda Ashram Yoga Retreat, Bahamas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

Each visit to the Ashram / Yoga retreat, I learn more about the Retreat , its' philosophy and myself. We have a very beautiful and private beach that truly spells out the word Paradice. I've been there 3 years in a row, each time extending my stay from 1month to 4 months. Definitely a place to explore yourself and deepen your Yogic practice. The food is 5 Star...and the birthday cakes are the best.......
Anne C

Room Tip: This is Yoga Retreat an ACTIVE LIVING ASHRAM - not a resort hotel..no room service etc. but all your needs are looked after.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemberel, Guest Relations Manager at Sivananda Ashram Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Om Shanti Anne,

Thank you for your kind review! We are delighted to hear that you have become part of our family here at the Ashram for 3 years in a row. As I am sure you know, Karma Yoga is a life-changing experience and we are grateful for your time here with us.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Perhaps you will celebrate your birthday here and enjoy one of those amazing cakes! What a great gift to yourself to join us for our programs or courses!

Wishing you Peace and Happiness!

with Love and Om,

Sivananda Ashram Yoga Retreat, Bahamas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

I have been to a few yoga retreats and really enjoyed them all. This is one I would not want to return to as it was far from a yoga retreat and more like a cult where people worship and bow down to the leaders. If you have ever seen the documentary "Wild Wild Country" on Netflix you will be able to see a lot of comparisons. A lot of people coming to follow a man -- Sivananda - who claims to have the answers to spiritual enlightenment. He claims to not believe in ego and that we are all ego yet everyone here walks around and sings prayers and bows down to all of those who have honored their life to him at every chance they get. They all wear yellow and red and live a life where they are not awake enough to realize there are many inconsistencies in their practices. It is alarming to see how people who have dedicated themselves to healing can not be awake enough to see what is happening. Some examples are the fact that everywhere you look there are toxic chemicals being used like dial soap and off bug spray. They have a morning meditation every day where they walk the beach and pass by tons of trash but no one stops to pick any of it up. We were greeted by many swamis and karma yogis who most (not all) did not say hi or want to get to know us or even accommodate anything we needed. We attended workshops that they held that were led by individuals who either had never taught before or who were ranting about negativity and pushing their agendas on us all. I had a reading with their "priest" who offered me no insight and in fact his "predictions" about my life were all inaccurate and seemed more of a way to push me into joining this religious life. The yoga classes were not very good at all - the whole reason for going. They were the same poses every day and I did not feel stretched at all after the one hour and 45 minutes that we sat there. The food was the worst part. I love vegetarian food but eating cabbage, carrots, cauliflower, and beans at every meal was disgusting. There are so many more options out there, why not offer something better. You could tell the kitchen staff all hated their jobs as the chef was very unkind and did not want to entertain any questions or requests we may have had. For a place that boasts the yogic lifestyle, one of health consciousness, love, light, and oneness, I was shocked that so many people were so in love with this place. I will say that there is a positive in it all, the location!! The beach was INCREDIBLE and although we were urged not to go on the beach at night we ventured over to the Atlantis and enjoyed night time over there. Its funny because although they say that we saw many people from the Ashram (including the people who worked there) sneaking over to the Atlantis and walking the beach too.. maybe this is why they tell you not to go there. While relaxing in the beautiful ocean we met many kind souls, many of whom also were awake enough to realize that this place needed its own awakening. Someone must make a change here so that a place that I am sure was once in line with its vision can get back to its roots. If it aims to be just a religious cult then it should not be advertised as a yoga retreat, because of that it is definitely not. If you go here my main suggestion is just to stick true to what works for you. Do no be afraid to leave the terrible workshops or not go to the yoga. Bask in the sun and enjoy the ocean, go over to Atlantis and meet people that are awake enough to realize that we do not need to bow down to people and become so brainwashed that we forget our own selves to enjoy life!!

Room Tip: The Oceanview rooms are the best!
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank SamanthaDawn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemberel, Guest Relations Manager at Sivananda Ashram Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Om Samantha,
We are so sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience with us. We appreciate your comments and are always looking to grow and improve to offer the highest level of service and value to our cherished guests.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breathtaking beach and were able to venture to other areas of our island to enjoy your time in the beautiful Bahamas.

Om Shanti,

Sivananda Ashram Yoga Retreat, Bahamas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

This was a mother- daughter trip. I booked the deluxe oceanfront, which was amazing. Ocean right outside. This was the best part of our trip. Room was clean, bed comfortable, had a frig, and a balcony. Gorgeous ocean backyard!
I am a vegetarian and found the food to be quite boring, repetitive, and not satisfying. If you like cauliflower and cabbage and beans at every meal, then it could work, but it was not a creative menu at all. When we asked for the granola recipe, we were greeted with an angry chef that didn't seem to have time for us. Not very Namaste!
The yoga classes were very mechanical postures, that do not warm up your body properly in my opinion, and hurt my hips. Only went to 2. At the end of class, there is sivasana, but the mosquito situation there is pretty treacherous, making it not so easy to relax to meditate. Sad, but true! Brought many types of remedies, but these mosquitoes thought they were all a joke! The workshops were not very elevated at all. The man we had teaching Qi Gong was there to get our emails for his radio show and never taught Qi Gong because he got triggered by a comment about Pharmaceutical companies and went on a very inappropriate rampage. The lady that taught music had us all pass around and smell her essential oils. It was her first time teaching a workshop, was what she shared afterwards. Not professional teachers at all!
My daughter had an Astrology reading from the priest that was clearly a preaching session . It was not at all aligned with anything on a level of higher consciousness. He was very anxious to receive his $54 "offering" after he only did a 20 minute reading when we paid for an hour. Maybe that was a blessing in disguise.
At night, there were meditations that felt very cult-like. Chanting, bowing to the Swamis. If we are all one, then why not treat everyone equally? 
There are many people there that are staying there for free called "Karmic Yoga" students, and they also offer teacher training programs there. It looked like paying visitors are invited here so that they can keep this process going. We met many lost and troubled souls looking for refuge and a safe place to be. Many do not make eye contact, and appear disconnected.
It's a beautiful property, and if you don't drink the "KOOL AID", its a magical place to rest and relax, as long as you do YOU, and don't buy into the other nonsense that is offered here. It's a working ashram, not a retreat. We waited in the hot sun for 3 hours to get our room when we arrived tired and hungry from traveling. We were not offered even a piece of fruit or snack! There are 2 meals a day, 10 AM and 6 PM, and they sometimes run out of food. They are quite frugal when they serve you,... a very small portion after waiting on a long line. Portion control is exercised!
My daughter and I really enjoyed each other, some great laughs, the gorgeous clear ocean, the amazing soft sand ( so very grounding) and a trip to Atlantis ( walking distance). We went to the restaurant (Carmine's) there and to enjoy the real and free world without crazy rules that are inhibiting. If you have enough of yourself to respectfully walk out of what does not feel right to you, it works, but not a place I can recommend.

Room Tip: Splurge for the oceanfront room, you will be glad you did!
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemberel, Guest Relations Manager at Sivananda Ashram Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Om Ellen,

We are so sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience with us. We appreciate your comments and are always looking to grow and improve to offer the highest level of service and value to our cherished guests.

We are happy to hear that you had the opportunity to spend quality time with your daughter and that enjoyed our breathtaking beach, as well as your time at Atlantis.

Om Shanti,

Sivananda Ashram Yoga Retreat, Bahamas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

Whether you are staying for a few days to unwind, a few weeks to delve a little deeper and reset yourself, or for a few months to immerse yourself in your own spiritual process, you MUST consider the Sivananda Ashram. Very present and attentive staff, a kitchen that is extremely conscious of food allergies and healthy alternatives, and an unmistakable energy of peace, love and healing. Do yourself a favour and check it out!

Room Tip: if you are using a tent, bring ear plugs and an eye mask. Kitchen opens early and lights stay on all night.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirmala N, Guest Relations Manager at Sivananda Ashram Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Om dear Kelly H,

Thank you so much for your review!

We are delighted to hear that you had an amazing experience staying here with us, and looking forward to welcome you back for TTC!

May the peace, love and healing of the teachers continue to inspire you daily!

Om & Prem,
Sivananda Ashram Yoga Retreat, Bahamas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews