We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Nearby Hotels
US$116
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dundee Bay Villas(Freeport)(Great Value!)
US$153
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bell Channel Inn(Freeport)(Great Value!)
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sunrise Resort & Marina(Freeport)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$491
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$323
US$307
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,036)
Filter reviews
1,036 results
Traveller rating
438
387
119
54
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
438
387
119
54
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssabor restauranttaino beachfree ferrywater taxiseparate bedroomacross the streetbreakfast was includednespresso machineevery morningupgraded to a suitequiet poolregular roomoverlooking the marinagrand bahamaswim up barflying fishyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 1,036 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2017

the room was clean and spacious the tv was to small for the size of the room the balcony was nice the bed was very comfortable will return in the future --parking was terrible --security on the property was ok

Room Tip: the rooms have a great view of the canal and pools
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank lyndenbonamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife for a night. We paid $170.00 for a night. As we walked into the room we noticed the door lock was broken. Then we walked into the kitchen area there was a sign that said first bottle of water is free and you would have to pay for every other bottle but there was no water in the room. The sink in the kitchen was covered in lime it looked so nasty we did not use it. I then turned on the old tube tv to find that half the channels were missing and the other half was blurry. My wife then goes to wash her hands in the bathroom and the water coming out of the sink was orange. I then went to shower the tub was dirty and the shower head had to much lime and rust on it that it was stuck facing the wall so it was a very uncomfortable shower and the faucet had so much rust and lime that it was hard for me to turn it on and impossible for my wife. The pillows sucked the bed was nice. The ac was to small for the room so the room was very hot and the fan kept turning off all during the night, and there is no switch to turn it off and on so we had to get up and pull the string on the fan. As we checked out the next morning I told the lady behind the desk about the room and she said "yes we know we have to put money into them rooms on that wing". If they know that the rooms need work why rent them to people and rent them for so much money. For $170.00 I was expecting a nice room not the nasty outdated room we got. The only reason I gave this resort a 2 star is because the resort is located in the center of town so it is in the middle of all of the restaurants and tours. This hotel is run down and very outdated avoid at all cost.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank captian_morganolssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Pelican Bay at Lucaya is a terrific place to stay at Freeport! This was our first time in Freeport, and the hotel was perfectly located a short taxi ride from the airport, with lovely and helpful staff, including Marissa-- she was friendly and welcoming and went out of her way to ensure that we had a spacious room for our family of four. Highlights:

1. Right next to UNEXSO, if you are coming for any of the amazing dolphin swims or other experiences with this highly reputable diving co.

2. Close to marketplace, with terrific casual restaurants just a 5 minute walk away, including our favourite "Zorba the Greek," where we tried their delicious breakfast, lunch, and dinner throughout and trip and found something for everyone in the family.

3. Room was tidy, spacious, and had a home-like feel like an air bnb, but with service :)
One double bed and one single in the bedroom, and a pull-out sofa in the living room but we found it more comfortable to keep the pull-out closed and just have one of the kids sleep on the sofa. No complaints.

4. The local vendors in the Marketplace are friendly, polite, and helpful. They are there if you need something or have a question, but not pushy or in your face...very respectful and well-mannered people in general.

5. Great variety in visitors-- we met families from Sweden, the US, Canada...everyone was so relaxed and happy to be there.

Keep in mind that August, Sep, and Oct are hurricane season-- lots of rain but sunny times and comfortable cloudy days that allowed us to be outdoors all day without worrying about sunblock and shade. Also, the water temperatures are great! Even the ocean is warmer than our local pools, and the kids LOVED that.

If you want sun, go in January through July. Freeport is definitely much more quiet and peaceful than other Caribbean destinations, such as Nassau. However, the relaxed atmosphere helps you decompress and it means that you can enjoy the amenities without line-ups or crowds-- Pelican Bay had privileges another hotel's beachfront and pool, and we had a huge pool and water slide to ourselves, with the occasional other guest nearby, but so much time & space to relax and enjoy on our own!!!

Pelican Bay at Lucaya is not a flashy resort-- don't except posh, but they take pride in their hotel and have a personal touch and responsiveness that makes it easy to make the most of your holiday-- especially if you are looking for the space to relax and get away from the hustle an bustle!

We loved our stay here, and would come back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Suites in the 100 series are terrific- great A/C and overhead fans but the room stays cool even without running these!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank mirisseforoughe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

The wait to check-in was long - about 20 minutes. The process went smoothly once at the counter, but the staff, although polite, seemed pressured. The room and furnishings were just old. I exited my room on the first day of my stay to accommodate the housekeeper who announced herself, but upon my return 7 hours later, the room had not been touched. The bathtub & surround were not clean, the wall across from the toilet had obvious dirt and the toilet paper holder fell off the wall. The rails on the top floor balcony had rotted away either from termites or weather. The threshold at the entrance to the elevator needed to be replaced. Although the locale was convenient, the ambience of this hotel is greatly diminished since my last visit about 3 years ago.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank romasonbahamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanBayHotel, Operations Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Romasonbahamas,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us during your stay this summer! We certainly agree that some of our room furnishings are old and changes are currently in process!

We apologize for any discrepancies you experienced with your stay and awfully sorry that we did not have an opportunity to address them while you were on property. This type of service is certainly not indicative of the level of service we aim to provide daily to our guests.

We thank you for providing your review whether positive or negative. Your feedback only helps to improve our guest satisfaction moving forward.

with happiness,


Della Bridgewater

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

My husband and I came here for our honeymoon and had an amazing time. The pools were nice, the staff was great, and the breakfast was AMAZING! Our room was amazing with an great view of the lake. When we checked in, our room wasn't ready yet but we were able to store our luggage with the staff to go and have lunch at Port Lucaya Marketplace which was walking distance.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor for an amazing view
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Khadijah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews