We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Location was good, around local shops and several restaurants. The hotel staff was very friendly. Room was just ok very outdated, small TV and bed was not comfortable, and don't get me started on the bathroom. it was a place to sleep.

Hotel would be really nice fixed up as it has a good location on the island.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank KevinDDenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanBayHotel, Operations Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear KevinDDenton,

I am awfully sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us! While I am sure there are areas in some of our rooms that need review, providing a clean atmosphere is top priority for our hotel.

Plans are currently underway for renovations to our guestrooms and we look forward to the new product that we will have to offer to our guest.

Your review, positive or negative is extremely important to us. Thank you for taking time to let us know your thoughts. It would have been nice to have an opportunity to address your concerns during your time at the hotel.

I would be happy to speak further with you if you are interested. I can be contacted at della.bridgewater@pelicanbayhotel.com or 1-800-852-3702.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,004)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 1,004 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017

the room was clean and spacious the tv was to small for the size of the room the balcony was nice the bed was very comfortable will return in the future --parking was terrible --security on the property was ok

Room Tip: the rooms have a great view of the canal and pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank lyndenbonamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife for a night. We paid $170.00 for a night. As we walked into the room we noticed the door lock was broken. Then we walked into the kitchen area there was a sign that said first bottle of water is free and you would have to pay for every other bottle but there was no water in the room. The sink in the kitchen was covered in lime it looked so nasty we did not use it. I then turned on the old tube tv to find that half the channels were missing and the other half was blurry. My wife then goes to wash her hands in the bathroom and the water coming out of the sink was orange. I then went to shower the tub was dirty and the shower head had to much lime and rust on it that it was stuck facing the wall so it was a very uncomfortable shower and the faucet had so much rust and lime that it was hard for me to turn it on and impossible for my wife. The pillows sucked the bed was nice. The ac was to small for the room so the room was very hot and the fan kept turning off all during the night, and there is no switch to turn it off and on so we had to get up and pull the string on the fan. As we checked out the next morning I told the lady behind the desk about the room and she said "yes we know we have to put money into them rooms on that wing". If they know that the rooms need work why rent them to people and rent them for so much money. For $170.00 I was expecting a nice room not the nasty outdated room we got. The only reason I gave this resort a 2 star is because the resort is located in the center of town so it is in the middle of all of the restaurants and tours. This hotel is run down and very outdated avoid at all cost.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank captian_morganolssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Pelican Bay at Lucaya is a terrific place to stay at Freeport! This was our first time in Freeport, and the hotel was perfectly located a short taxi ride from the airport, with lovely and helpful staff, including Marissa-- she was friendly and welcoming and went out of her way to ensure that we had a spacious room for our family of four. Highlights:

1. Right next to UNEXSO, if you are coming for any of the amazing dolphin swims or other experiences with this highly reputable diving co.

2. Close to marketplace, with terrific casual restaurants just a 5 minute walk away, including our favourite "Zorba the Greek," where we tried their delicious breakfast, lunch, and dinner throughout and trip and found something for everyone in the family.

3. Room was tidy, spacious, and had a home-like feel like an air bnb, but with service :)
One double bed and one single in the bedroom, and a pull-out sofa in the living room but we found it more comfortable to keep the pull-out closed and just have one of the kids sleep on the sofa. No complaints.

4. The local vendors in the Marketplace are friendly, polite, and helpful. They are there if you need something or have a question, but not pushy or in your face...very respectful and well-mannered people in general.

5. Great variety in visitors-- we met families from Sweden, the US, Canada...everyone was so relaxed and happy to be there.

Keep in mind that August, Sep, and Oct are hurricane season-- lots of rain but sunny times and comfortable cloudy days that allowed us to be outdoors all day without worrying about sunblock and shade. Also, the water temperatures are great! Even the ocean is warmer than our local pools, and the kids LOVED that.

If you want sun, go in January through July. Freeport is definitely much more quiet and peaceful than other Caribbean destinations, such as Nassau. However, the relaxed atmosphere helps you decompress and it means that you can enjoy the amenities without line-ups or crowds-- Pelican Bay had privileges another hotel's beachfront and pool, and we had a huge pool and water slide to ourselves, with the occasional other guest nearby, but so much time & space to relax and enjoy on our own!!!

Pelican Bay at Lucaya is not a flashy resort-- don't except posh, but they take pride in their hotel and have a personal touch and responsiveness that makes it easy to make the most of your holiday-- especially if you are looking for the space to relax and get away from the hustle an bustle!

We loved our stay here, and would come back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Suites in the 100 series are terrific- great A/C and overhead fans but the room stays cool even with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mirisseforoughe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

The wait to check-in was long - about 20 minutes. The process went smoothly once at the counter, but the staff, although polite, seemed pressured. The room and furnishings were just old. I exited my room on the first day of my stay to accommodate the housekeeper who announced herself, but upon my return 7 hours later, the room had not been touched. The bathtub & surround were not clean, the wall across from the toilet had obvious dirt and the toilet paper holder fell off the wall. The rails on the top floor balcony had rotted away either from termites or weather. The threshold at the entrance to the elevator needed to be replaced. Although the locale was convenient, the ambience of this hotel is greatly diminished since my last visit about 3 years ago.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank romasonbahamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicanBayHotel, Operations Manager at Pelican Bay at Lucaya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Romasonbahamas,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us during your stay this summer! We certainly agree that some of our room furnishings are old and changes are currently in process!

We apologize for any discrepancies you experienced with your stay and awfully sorry that we did not have an opportunity to address them while you were on property. This type of service is certainly not indicative of the level of service we aim to provide daily to our guests.

We thank you for providing your review whether positive or negative. Your feedback only helps to improve our guest satisfaction moving forward.

with happiness,


Della Bridgewater

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.4 km away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
251 reviews
0.6 km away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.4 km away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
3,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
3.3 km away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#12 of 14 in Freeport
1,315 reviews
2.4 km away
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Bay at Lucaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Address: Sea Horse Road at Port Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: $231 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Bay at Lucaya 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Grand Bahama Island's most hospitable hotel, the Pelican Bay is a joyful mix of colorful Bahamian architecture and the finest guest service in the Caribbean. Unique waterside rooms and waterside state rooms enfold you in comfort, while offering special guest touches. Renowned standards of hospitality and attention to guest happiness assure you of a memorable stay in the Bahamas.Part of the Pelican Bay experience is located within steps of your room. In addition to our waterfront Sabor Restaurant and Bar, more than 30 restaurants, bars, shops, live entertainment, the Dolphin Experience, scuba diving, snorkeling, and deep-sea fishing trips are a short stroll away.Immediately across the street are two miles of white sand beach, a full service spa, four "Grand Slam" surface tennis courts and a casino. All this is the happy Pelican Bay experience, one you will remember with fondness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pelican Bay at Lucaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Hotel Freeport
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Freeport, Bahamas - Grand Bahama Island
Pelican Bay Lucaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing