We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Islander(Freeport)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (4,829)
Filter reviews
4,829 results
Traveller rating
892
1,621
1,105
632
579
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
892
1,621
1,105
632
579
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsviva cafeanimation staffnightly showslasagnadance lessonsstar resortkids clubnachosa la carte restaurantsping pongpaddle boardswater shoesbad reviewseither directionafter reading the reviewsbanana bayplenty of chairs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,055 - 3,060 of 4,829 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2009

An avid budget traveler, my friend and I were looking for some R&R and to get some great tans. In both senses, the trip was a success. However, there are a few things to keep in mind should you wish to travel here:

1. This is not a luxury all-inclusive. You get what you pay for. With that said, the food offerings were really disappointing. They serve pretty much the same fare everyday with slight modifications. If you come on a Monday, expect the fare to be the freshest. By Sunday, any vegetable or starch not eaten earlier in the week has been mixed into all sorts of salads-this is not a health concern, but it does leave for bland and repetitive cuisine. Example: Friday night vegetable may have been zucchini and cauliflower. it is then re-served as part of a cold salad mixed with friday's night's veggie delight: a combo of tomatoes, green beans, and onions in a vinaigrette. by Saturday night, this has now been mixed with Saturday's three-bean salad. Also, although salad is washed, it is not spun, so the lettuce is too wet to add salad dressing. On Sunday, they reheated Saturday night's rice, so while it was good and properly cooked on Saturday, it was dry and hard on Sunday. I'm a fairly easy person to please food-wise: give me some fresh fish, some salad and veggies and I'm good to go. The issue was more that the offerings were always the same and as a result, you get tired quickly with what there is to offer. We did try the late-night pizza our last night and found it to be fairly good (thin crust, Italian-style). We also heard the Italian restaurant was also better than the buffet. Breakfasts were good (hard to ruin breakfast). I never did get to see one conch or conch salad offering. :-(

2. Be honest with the salespeople trying to get you to do a vacation rental tour, etc. We politely declined and they left us alone the remainder of our stay.

The pluses:

The staff will accommodate your requests if you are polite. For example, when we arrived, the front desk clerk asked us if we'd prefer separate beds as we were two women traveling. We said yes and he changed our room to ensure we'd each have our own bed. When we got to the room, there were no towels and it had a fridge, but it was broken. The room itself was clean-don't know why some people comment here they had bugs, we didn't. We politely made a request at the front desk and they immed. had towels delivered and they replaced the fridge.

Easy to get a beachside lounge chair and table. There's an ocean breeze off the coast of Freeport that is stronger than in Nassau, but it was wonderful. The pool is large and it was easy to get a chair there as well.

Evenings are cool, so bring a light sweater and maybe a pair of pants. We didn't know it wouldn't be humid and we were a bit chilly going out at night.

We tipped the maid $5/day and got lots of fresh towels.

Drinks are strong-whoever said they were watered down were wrong. Bartenders are friendly and it doesn't hurt to tip a couple of dollars here and there.

This place is more for couples or people in groups. I don't really recommend it for families with children. Too many of the adults staying there are a bit crass after hours (and some during the day because they drink from sunrise to sunset). The entertainment staff are friendly, helpful and try to help you enjoy your stay.

The "disco" (club) is okay. Plays some new music, but a lot of old.

If you choose to stay here, you will have a good experience if you keep these points in mind. The Bahamians are very nice and we met some really nice folks from all over the world (say hello to our friends Dennis, Andreas, Case and their buddies in the bar-they live there for the next few months as they are contracted to build at the airport).

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DragaMoreta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2009

We wanted to go to the Bahamas for a vacation because business took us (western Canadians) to Atlanta, and this was a good chance to see the islands. We chose an all-inclusive because we'd been to many in Mexico, and it's an easy way to take a short vacation. This is very different from the Mexican all-inclusives we have stayed at. Much less flashy, smaller, friendlier, but with fewer amenities overall.
Positives: the beach is beautiful and you can walk for miles; good snorkelling in the swimming area - lots of fish and some coral; standard kayaks and catamarans; very good entertainment/activity staff - the evening shows are actually quite good; easy to rent a car and explore the island; also easy to get into Freeport; good standard rooms; staff (like most of the Bahamians we met) were friendly and helpful; the Asian restaurant was surprisingly good; nice garden setting
Negatives: we like to dance and the disco was a big disappointment; don't know what was on the floor but it was black and sticky (maybe a layer of chewing gum from vacuous young people who had too much to drink?); music also very disappointing - mainly the "thump thump" American music that results in drunken women standing in a circle with their arms in the air - why not play a wider selection and maybe include some Bahamian and Caribbean music. Also didn't like being asked to participate in a time-share talk.
Things that we didn't mind, but some might find negatives: not such a big selection of food in the buffet as some people might expect; it could do with a little more maintenance or sprucing up

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank old-jogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

We booked our hotel through our holiday club. We booked a weeks cruise and then a week in the fortuna beach. Maybe the cruise has spoilt us on what to expect and when we arrived at the fortuna beach we were very dissapointed by the state of the rooms. When we were given our room key for block B and taken there by the porter, we were in for a big shock. The room was still occupied by another family who were lounging on their beds and were very shocked to find me opening the door. The porter immediately said sorry and closed the door. We then had a run around finding another room, which when were finally given a room, we were given block A. This room had a beautiful veiw straight onto the beach. However, the rest of the room seemed drty and dark. The wardrobe dorr would not open without force. When I tried to open the wooden blinds one of them fell off onto the floor. The air conditioning sounded like a jet engine taking off, and there was no plug for the bath tub. When we went to take a shower there was no hot water. We assumed that because of the time of day all the hot water was gone. This was not the case. The following day, once again there was no hot water and to make matters worse, the toilet flooded all over the floor. We went to reception and told them and they then moved our room over to block B. The room was cleaner, brighter and although not modern in any standards, acceptable.
The rest of the resort was reasonable, The staff who worked there were fantastic. Even the grounds keepers greeted us as we walked past and asked how we were. The bar staff don't know how to pour a non-alcoholic drink (including the beach hut). Their long island ice tea was nearly 95% rum with a splash of mixer. I tipped them early in the week and at the end and there service could be rated as awesome. The entertainment team seemed to be having a hard time getting anyone engaged in their activities, but the resort was very quiet and most of the guests were French and this is the reason why most of the announcements are made in their language first and then in other languages. The shows are amatuer, but they are not professionaly trained singers and dancers. If you visit the bar first for an hour or six, the shows seem a lot better. The food was plentiful, but adequate. The breakfast omlettes set you up for the day, but after a few days the food did seem very repetative. We tried both a la carte restaurants a couple of times and both were good on one occasion and not very good on the other. If you are hungry though late at night, try the pizza station. We spent a late night there laughing with other guests, drinking beers and eating excellent pizza. Great way to end the evening.
During the day the beach and the pool areas had plenty of sun beds and very quiet, but the jacuzzi was packed with kids jumping in and out all day. Not the best place to relax.
The reef was not far away from the beach area and it is roped of away from motor boats. I could not swim there some days as the winds were high and there was a small danger of sharks coming into shallow water, but if the weather is good, there are plenty of water sports to try out included in the price.
The dive centre available on the resort is brilliant. The staff are friendly and knowledgable to the local area and their prices are lower than the other operators in the area. They are a must for experienced divers like myself or for beginners who want to take their first adventure into the deep turquiose waters that are abundant in the carribean. All padi courses are available and their patience with the new divers I saw was really good. They use safety procedures that are not required, but make diving safer.
Instructors Steve, and Jose from the dive centre was definately a comedy team and put everyone at ease.
In summary a great holiday destination, but don't expect much from the rooms until the full refurb is complete which we have been told will be in the next year or two, but then the prices could well increase. If you want a relaxing easy going all inclusive resort, Try this place.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lingsa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

I am not sure what to say about this hotel. Good points: nice beach; lots of cigarette butts, though. Good snorkeling. Housekeeping, maintenance, and waitstaff were nice; much nicer if you tipped often. Average points: Food was OK; not the same thing every night; breakfast was good; Italian restaurant was good; Asian restaurant left a bit to be desired. Bad points: could not check in upon arrival; no secure place to store luggage; front desk needed an attitude adjustment; garden view room was in disrepair; septic overflowed; toilet overflowed; TV was on the way out with red shadows and frame freezing; remote did not work; microants in the room; booze must have been watered down; difficulty using watersports equipment. Overall: 2 stars at best. When we arrived at 12:30, we could not check into a room. However, we saw other people checking into rooms. When we finally got a room, they were pumping the septic and something got messed up there because there was raw sewage just outside our room. We asked for an upgrade and got a second floor oceanview room for another $80 (we stayed 4 nights). Nice, we thought, until the toilet overflowed the next morning. Again, raw sewage. However, the maintenance staff responded within 2 minutes - must be a usual event. There were alot of French people there, most of whom were Parisian. I do not like to be judgmental, but I found them to be quite rude - not to us, but to the staff. Topless is OK at this hotel, so if you can't handle that, don't go. The beach is nice and well kept except there are alot of cigarette butts. I didn't realize how many people still smoke. My husband and I had quite a few drinks on the beach one day and our "Aha Moment" was that we didn't feel the least bit tipsy. Under normal circumstances, we probably would have been sloshed. If you're looking to feel the alcohol, I guess you should drink beer. The food was OK. Our family could always find something to eat, and we have a fussy teen. Actually, the Italian restaurant was quite good - and we are of Italian descent. The Asian restaurant left much to be desired regarding the food. The atmosphere was zen-like until some loudmouthed American yahoos came in. That's when we left. We rented a car a couple of days to venture to the Lucayan Marketplace and then to return for the Open Ocean Dolphin Experience. This got us off the complex for a while and allowed us to have a couple of quiet, leisurely lunches of excellent food. We have been to Grand Bahama many times and decided to stay here for the all-inclusive option. If you're looking for luxury, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a 3 star hotel, this is not for you. I have done much travelling all over outside the US and stayed in 3, 4, and 5 star hotels. I do not feel this is a 3 star hotel. If you choose to stay at this hotel, expect the unexpected. Expect only adequate accommodations. The comfort of the bed was OK, but the pillows were hard as rocks. Make sure you upgrade your room. Second floor or higher is always best in these places - cuts down on the bug factor. Even with our upgrade, we still had microants but they stayed around the outlet they were coming from. Our sliding screen door was on upside down - probably residual from spring break. If you're an out-of-control spring breaker, you would lke this place. It is already in disrepair, so there is not much you can wreck. Did we survive? Yes. Would I go back? No. I would rather spend a bit more and stay in Lucaya where I can walk to everything, set up my own bar in the room, and forego the all inclusive food option.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fraujules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

Some pointers:
1) I'm not sure how you do this, but next time I've gotta try and get a room assignment ahead of time. Make sure you don't get stuck in a room with an adjoining room (deadbolt door in between). The doors are thin and you feel like your neighbors are in the room with you. Once we moved to an upgraded oceanfront, the nights were peaceful.

2) Bring your own large cups. Yes, drinks are free, but they serve them in a 6 oz. cup. If you like to drink, BRING YOUR OWN 16 OZ (or larger) CUP!!!!

3) Rent a moped and tour the island. Definitely go all the way out to Lucaya National Park. Tour the caverns (not a big deal, but neat) and go to the beach there. It is definitely one of the most incredible beaches I've ever seen!! We had the whole beach to ourselves, because it is in the middle of nowhere and not many people go. Imagine having the most incredible white sand beach and clear/aquamarine water all to your self with no one around for miles. Suffice it to say that my wife and I made the best of it!

4) Don't expect 5 star at a 3 star. The edges of this resort are a little rough, but get over it and enjoy it. Yes, you'll probably be missing soap or towels, but they'll bring it right away if so. Your T.V. remote may have tape holding the batteries in place. The rooms are okay, but nothing fancy. The beach at the resort is beautiful and there is a reef about 200 yards off shore that makes for great snorkeling (free!). The kayaks, windsurfers, sailboat, etc. are all free. Food was pretty good, and plenty of it. Never did the Italian or Asian restaurant - didn't want to be tied to a reservation. Didn't feel like we missed anything. Also, yes, this place is in a remote location, so go there if you want to "get away" and relax. Don't go there if you want tons of night life opportunities, cause you'll be bored.

5) See the nightly live shows. We saw the humble little theatre when we came in and were underwhelmed by it. We were wrong. The shows were great! The cast seem to do everything, dance, juggle, aerial stunts, act, etc. They even work during the day at various booths/lifeguarding/etc. The sets were very impressive for such a little theatre. The cast is very diverse, from all over the world.

6) Get an international calling card ahead of time. Making calls from the resort (even just back to Florida), cost us $3.09 per minute. At that rate, we only made one call, and only for a few minutes. If you don't plan ahead, you'll be stuck.

7) If you like snorkeling, spend the money to go on the snorkeling trip. The reef off the resort beach is kinda small, and you'll get a MUCH bigger one on the trip. The trip was about $35 (U.S.) each.

8) We flew in, but were supposed to take the boat from Ft. Lauderdale. The boat got cancelled. Kinda glad it did, since some say it is not a very pleasant trip. The Freeport airport is small and efficient. Enjoyed using it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FLTravelers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews