We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Dundee Bay Villas(Freeport)(Great Value!)
US$172
US$148
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$322
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sunrise Resort & Marina(Freeport)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$101
US$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bell Channel Inn(Freeport)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$146
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolphin Cove(Freeport)
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$265
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$330
US$306
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (4,999)
Filter reviews
4,999 results
Traveller rating
923
1,675
1,147
655
599
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
923
1,675
1,147
655
599
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsviva cafeanimation staffnightly showslasagnanachoskids clubtrapeze lessonsstar resorta la carte restaurantsping pongwater shoespaddle boardsbad reviewseither directionbanana bayafter reading the reviewsplenty of chairs
Filter
Updating list...
2,768 - 2,773 of 4,999 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2010

If you're expecting the Four Seasons, then forget it. This is a solid, mid-level resort with a spectacular beach, surprisingly good food and a friendly staff. The forced "party vibe" gets a bit tiresome, and you have to put up with a bit too much techno music and late night karaoke for my tastes, but that's what a lot of the young international travelers who stay here like, so you deal with it.

The rooms are fine, the grounds are clean and the price is certainly right. Bonus tip - walk down the beach a couple of minutes to visit the Sand Bar -- as authentic a Caribbean beach bar as you're ever gonna find.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Experienced tropical storm Daniel. No matter what the weather, had a wonderful time. The people are very friendly and accomodating. No hurry or rush! The warm climate is wonderful. The bahama breeze keeps the atomosphere comfortable. No need to carry a wallet. Bring your favorite drink mug from home for refills from the bars. Dont forget to tip, the drinks are as good as you tip. There is 3 locations to eat. Sail boats, kayaks, etc. are all included. On the beach is hot dogs, hamburgers, fries and Drinks :). The evening shows are fun, no sitting in the room watching videos. There is a local casino and shopping if you choose to leave the resort.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank BaileyRoxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

So we got to the hotel and we didn't feel welcomed, stuff wasn't smiling. It was the same food for 4 days, even it is said Italian night, Bahamian night...I almost choked dead in oriental restaurant; Italian food was horrible ( they don't know how to cook pasta al dente). Every night there was loud music playing...It was hard to relax. All-inclusive alcholic drinks were horrible; everything was so watery..(.I stayed in Mexico all-inclusive restaurants ...big difference..).Last night I was bitten by bed bugs...It was a nightmare...Location unless you don't want to explore the island is very remote...Nothing to do outside resort...Everything is pretty much closed on Sunday, and many restaurant open only after 5.30 pm...Food area in resort looked very sloppy and suspicious...rooms are too small and dark...We asked for a lamp and we never got one...It was too much money paid for the resort..We paid over 2K for 4 days and it wasn't worth it....

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank thetraveller025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful, relaxing trip at this resort during the month of October. I know it was risky going during hurricane season, but it was definitely worth the risk. The resort was about 35% full, which really made it a relaxing and enjoyable experience. The rooms were fine, nothing special, but nothing dirty either. We also lucked out with a grea view in the "B" block. From what I could tell, "A" block was the more run-down and had the least impressive view. The beach was AWESOME. I usually find myself splitting my hours between the beach and the pool, but it was all beach for me! The water is very clear, there's great snorkling and sea kayaking, and we were definitely not harassed by locals. They usually came up to offer you an anklet or wrap or something once during the day, and if you declined they would move on and not ask you again. There is a woman named Shelly who makes jewelery under the tree on the beach, and for the price they are really cute. Anklets were only $5 and you pick any beads you want...I brought a few back as gifts. The food was fine too. I certainly didn't find myself starving at any point. I would definitely bring your own large drinking cup, and while the drinks aren't really strong they are good, so I don't really have a complaint there.

Basically, this is not a 5-star hotel and it's probably not a 4-star hotel either, but it's a solid 3-star place, and as long as you go in knowing that then you'll be just fine. For the money it is a great deal and I would absolutely go back if we come across another good package!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wsb7n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I just returned from a 1-week stay at this wonderfully situated, Caribbean casual resort. After reading some mixed reviews, I am pleased to report it was perfect for my husband and me.

We are beach hounds, and Fortune Beach was exquisite with 1200 feet of soft white sand. Every morning, a beach raking machine would make 5 passes along the beach, leaving it perfectly groomed for the delightful day ahead. One of our interests is being able to snorkel right from the beach, and this resort offers amazing underwater life just steps off shore. We brought our own gear and just walked out there anytime we wanted, many times during the week—the best kind of free fun. The resort also has snorkel gear for guests.

The resort also offered a free snorkeling trip out to Fish Reef--a 10 minute boat ride away--to all guests in October who stayed at least 4 nights. That excursion really showcased the abundant fish life of the Bahamas.

We were in the B building, had hot water in the shower, good A/C, beach and shower towels all the time, no problems with noise. The beach views from our spacious patio looked like a postcard.

Now the food. We chose to start with the Italian restaurant which you have to reserve. Our waitresses Althena and LaToya were so friendly and warm-hearted. Our food was consistently excellent, we had the Mahi Mahi with zucchini, carrots & rice, Steak & Caribbean Lobster, Chicken Parmesan, some sort of shaved & seasoned beef appetizer, plenty of Merlot. We even celebrated my husband Mike's birthday there and asked the staff to "surprise us"-- they put together a really special, creative menu for us, complete with song, cake and candles.

We had read online that the Asian restaurant had skimpy portions. Our plan was to
have appetizers there, then eat dinner in the Italian. Boy did that backfire, we were
so full after our appetizers and wine that we skipped dinner and had the awesome
wood-fired pizza at 11:00 that night when our appetite returned. Don’t miss this pizza, it has a hand-made thin crust—if you’re a fan of that style pizza, it’s a must. One night the chef even made pizza bread and passed out the big chunky crusty bread topped with spicy, saucy goodness. I wish I could beam myself back for that.

The breakfast buffet was beautiful with its omelette station, tables brimming
with fresh fruits of all kinds, home-baked breads, yogurts, etc. etc. We did
a different combination every day and it was usually enough to tide us over
until dinner time.

The evening buffet was also surprisingly good. There was so much variety--on
Thursday night, they had a huge pork carving station, fresh fish, salads and
desserts galore and different every night. Nie even fixed us an enormous
fresh sub sandwich wrapped carefully in cellophane for us to take on the
flight the next day--it really hit the spot and much better than the $10 sandwich &
chips lunch box the airline was selling.

Things that could be improved: the ambience in the Italian restaurant could be spiffed up without much trouble or expense, it looks a little like a strip mall restaurant. The two restaurants were only open Thursday through Sunday, probably because it was slow season. No one told us this at check-in and it would have been helpful to know so we could plan for it. There’s also some coral in an area of the beach which should be roped off and protected. We saw swimmers tromping all over it, and it was a shame to see.

If you venture “off campus” which we love to do, I can highly recommend Bananas. You can walk there via the beach in about 20 minutes—they’re open until 5:30, so it’s a terrific lunch or early dinner stop. We had delicious conch soup and conch salad, which was surprisingly absent at the Viva. For some mysterious reason, they featured Minestrone soup all week.

Another nice restaurant is Sabor’s on the marina, at the Pelican Bay resort. The marina lights sparkle and reflect on the water, it’s a very romantic place and the menu is ridiculously creative—look it up online before you go. We thoroughly enjoyed our melt-in-your-mouth escargot, fresh grouper and parmesan encrusted hog snapper. The water surrounding you is underlit, illuminating all of the underwater action for your dining entertainment.

I could go on and on--and I will. I am a freelance travel writer and my husband is a photographer. We will be publishing a variety of articles about our Bahamian adventure in the weeks to come. I will let you know where I get published if you'd like to learn more. Or you can feel free to e-mail me directly for details. One last word of thanks to Gloria Pratt, Assistant Manager, for your assistance during our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SandyBeach6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews