We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day Pass on Port Day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Crowley, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Day Pass on Port Day”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We visited the Grand Lucayan Resort for the day during our recent cruise. The pools were nice and the beach was beautiful. The only negatives I can list is that the pools we found near the beach were all very shallow, coming from the shallow ship pools we were looking forward to some real swimming (which we did in the beach). Also, I read many reviews and the more recent ones said towels were included with the day pass-- wrong. And they won't rent them to you either. But for $10 a person this was a great deal!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
26 Thank Cree55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    1,054
    501
    244
    215
See reviews for
875
1,250
95
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,057)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We took a cruise to Freeport last month and did not want to pay all the money for the excursions. When we docked at the port, there were limited options- so we decided to go to Port Lucaya.
We realized quickly that walking the Lucaya Marketplace was not going to fullfill an entire day at Freeport. I could tell the beach was close, but couldn't find access to a public beach. Finally, we decided to fo see if the Grand Lucayan offered a day pass.
For only $10, we got access to the beach, chairs, pool, hot tub, changing areas, etc. This resort was wonderful! The pool was stunning- the water a perfect match to the sparkling waters of the sea. The beach area was clean, with nice beach chairs and not crowded. Light caribbean music was playing in the courtyard. There was a bar between the pool and beach, and a nice-looking restaurant just around the corner.

I did not see much inside the hotel itself, but the outdoor areas were wonderful and well-kept. Compared to the reviews of other resorts in the area- this is defintely the place to go. And I still cannot believe they charged $10- I would have easily paid $50.

For those who are planning to stay a few days- don't worry, you won't be over-powered for crusiers. This place may be one of the best kept secrets in Freeport.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank haley119ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Hi haley119ann,

So glad that you discovered us on your cruise getaway! We love hearing about you cruisers having a wonderful time at our beaches and our pools. Spread the word! :0) Thanks for the kind words and thank you thank you for the great review! We sincerely appreciate all the feedback! Look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Grand Lucayan!

Sincerely

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Beautiful, clean resort.They even wash down the lounges by the pool! Palapas or umbrellas on the beach would have been nice.It could be fabulous! Need more guests. Maybe on site management should look for more money generating oportunities- Laid back is one thing but they have so many missed opportunities ( ie only one cocktail waitress for pool and beach and no one tending the swim up bar.)
Prop Club looked like it would be great fun but if and when it was open no one was there. It was nice having the marketplace, but who felt like going over there for lunch while enjoying the beach and pool.China Grill had decent pizza but who needs a $9 hot dog. Would have liked more on site dining choices and shops. Plantation Cafe- We discovered you can get a decent breakfast sandwich or bun. Lunch had a choice of 3 decent sandwiches and the desserts looked delicious. Enjoyed China Grill and Iries for dinner. (Really enjoyed Edmund and Cordell)
All the food was good everywhere, but nothing outstanding.
The Bahama people are wonderful and friendly but no one seemed to know what was going on or open and no information in the rooms either. They all seem to be lacking in direction or motivation. Someone ( as in whoever is running it)needs to energize this place.
That being said the price was good, the resort was beautiful and I would definately return

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinth, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We recently visited the Grand Lucayan in April, 2012. We had went to Nassau last year for six days and planned to spend the same amount of time on a trip this year. We choose Grand Bahama after reading about how it was safer and more laid back. The trip was also around $600 cheaper than last years. We arrived on the island to find that our transportation had forgotten us. We had to get a taxi and then find the transportation place and get refunded later. When we went to check in, we were giving keys to our room that we quickly realized was not what we paid for. We had reserved a luxury oceanview suite with king bed. We were placed in a small room with two double beds and a view of the pool. I called the front desk and was told they were out of ocean view rooms with king beds. After three more calls, and asking for my money back, they finally came up with a room and sent me my keys. I felt like they were trying to ruin my vacation, and not give me my money's worth. The resort itself is pretty nice, the rooms are clean and beach is very nice. The pools are good, but don't expect quick service at the swim up bar. The location of the resort is its best feature. You are right across from the Port Lucaya market place, which has great restaurants, shops, and places to hang out. We never ate at any of the resort's restaurants, the ones across the street were too good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kari N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Kari,
We apologize for not meeting your expectations and the inconvenience this may have caused. Some of our accomodations such as the ocean view suites with a king bed are based on availability at time of check in. We always try to find ways to ensure guest satisfaction and are glad we were able to provide other accomodations. We are delighted that you enjoyed the beach, the pools as well as the cleanliness of our guest rooms. We are sorry to hear that you have not tried our dining outlets, we have been consistently modifying our restaurant menus - For example, we recently lowered the cost of our full buffet breakfast to include an omelet station, cold cereals and oatmeals, fruits and cheeses, pastries and our bahamian specialty coconut french toast to name a few to $11.99 per person. We invite you to visit us soon for another nice getaway, and if we can answer any questions you may have, please don't hesitate to contact us at Info@grandlucayan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

First time to Bahamas, definitely was a little skeptical as the deal was fabulous (a bit under $1200 for 3 nights, 4 days room/air for 2 on cheap carribbean.com).

But it couldn't possibly have been more fun. Room was very clean - nothing special except the ocean view was literally spectacular. The doors to the balcony slide open wide to give you an unbelievable, expansive view of the ocean. We slept with the doors open and were awakened by jaw dropping sunrises. Worth the price of admission right there. And I loved this little detail - the HVAC automatically shuts off when the doors are open; automatically reactivates upon closing. Loved it.

The place is a full service resort. You can literally not leave here (though we did) and be more than fine. There's a Starbucks, which had the best coffee in the area; a sundries shop for sunblock, toiletries, etc; pools every which way including infinity pool/swimup bar; great laid back musical entertainment (steel drums, etc - we liked "Mango Man"); and gorgeous beach out front with every type of activity - renting sailboats, jet skis, parasailing (which we did). Hammerheads bar with flat screens so I could drink "Bahama Mamas" to my hearts desire and watch the Knicks-Heat playoff game which I'd figured I would miss.

FOOD - Based on reviews, we didn't try China Beach for food. I can tell you it wasn't *that* expensive; a lot of people were eating pizzas from there though they looked kind of gross. But the Hammerheads bar was awesome and not especially pricey; we also did a a buffet at the Willy Broadleaf restaurant at the resort which was really good, one of the best meals we had there.

The marketplace had a few good spots for food. Zorba's (Greek) was solid enough but nothing to write home about. Agave (Latin fusion) was better and more upscale though a touch pricey for dinner - lunch was very reasonable. A few other spots we tried (can't recall names) we thought were poor. Hard to get away from fried food in general in the Bahamas. Willy Broadleaf had one of the few decent fresh salads we encountered.

SERVICE - We had no problems at all with service. Our last night there, someone decided to throw a full on party in the room next door. Round about 11:30 we were tired - we put in a call about the noise and they took care of it right away. 45 minutes later the same people were blaring their TV, made another call and heard a call over to them immediately. Problem solved. We really had no problem - and room service was really good (turkey club at midnight - totally hit the spot). They add a 15% tip in everywhere so you can choose whether to add or not. I did not feel, as some others have written, that we were nickel and dimed. Considering I ate and drank at every opportunity, I was surprised at how reasonable the bill was.

TO DO - Best day we had was renting a scooter and taking (a fairly long, hour-plus each way) ride out to Bishop's Place. Totally remote, isolated and gorgeous beach. A couple of really delightful open bars to relax and have a Bahama Mama. Literally not a soul on this pristine, perfect beach with firm but no rocks sand; green water you can walk 25 feet out into and have waist high water. If you're with your significant other and you walk a ways down the beach...well, let's just say there's no one to see if you have no clothes on.

So, there's more to write but this was an unbelievably cost effective, fun vacation. Final cost well under $2k for the two of us and we enjoyed ourselves to the max. Worth every penny and every minute down there.

Room Tip: Ocean view room is an absolute must. Wouldn't go without it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Alloyd50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Hi Alloyd50,

So glad that you had such a wonderful time during your stay at Grand Lucayan! We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor, and we thank you for all of the great remarks. We love to hear great guest experiences like yours! I am so happy that you were so taken with the incredible view! It's one of a kind! I look forward to sharing your review with out staff!

Sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.7 km away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
241 reviews
0.7 km away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
5.4 km away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 14 in Freeport
992 reviews
3.1 km away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#12 of 14 in Freeport
1,279 reviews
40.7 km away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Property: Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price range (per night): $236 - $767
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan Bahamas is an elegant resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. This 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing