We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Beachfront Cabanas, Great Hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Andros
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seascape Inn, Andros
Ranked #1 of 5 Andros B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Plenty of activities possible, from snorkeling in the blue holes, to bird watching, kayaking, biking, fishing or reading a book on the beach. The island is small and not at all touristy, perfect for a quiet get-away. The accommodations were clean and well maintained. Joan is a fabulous baker and Mickey is a wonderful cook. Both are very personable and made the mealtimes (and drink times) enjoyable. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Every cabana is directly on the beach with perfect views of the ocean! Can't miss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquelynR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

Mickey and Joan run the Seascape Inn as perfect hosts, friendly and helpful but unobtrusive and very laidback. Their cabins offer all the conveniences you need for a beach vacation, but the setting on the beach is the biggest draw. Within wading distance (at low tide) or swimming/kayaking (at high tide) of several blue holes teeming with sealife, the Seascape porvides amazing snorkeling opportunities as well as beachcombing, kayaking and swimming. But we are avid birdwatchers, and the Seascape is one of the nicest places we have been in the Caribbean for seeing lots of great birds, including rare endemics. The small off shore island turns out to be an evening rookery for hundreds of herons, egrets, spoonbills, stilts and other wading birds that are found in abundance around the Seascape Inn. You can spend you evening on the beach (with cold beer in hand) watching all the birds flock to the island while the resident osprey family flies up and down the beach on their evening hunt. Morning strolls to the mangrove at the entrance to Seascape provide up close views of all these birds plus the resident kestrels and migratory warblers, Bahamaian orioles and other rare birds. Walks up and down the neighboring roads are also birdwatching turf, with only the rare cars driving by, all with friendly residents waving to you. We also enjoyed riding the bikes Joan and Mickey provide to explore farther afield, with various types of habitats available on the cay for more avian variety. We saw the somewhat rare and elusive Great Lizard cuckoo on a morning stroll up the electric line road, about a mile inshore from the coast.

And then there is the food. Joan makes fresh baked everything, with 3 different types of pasties/breads just for breakfast to accompany all the fresh fruit. Lunches and dinners are always varied and can cover the gamuts from lobster, to crabcakes, to BBQ ribs to to steaks to chicken marinated in mango sauce. Mickey's many culinary specialties include a fabulous white wine sauce. If you can find the room, the desserts are also not to be missed! We'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband and I had a wonderfully relaxing visit to the Seascape Inn on Andros Cay in early January 2012. We were looking for something "low-key" where he could fish and I could enjoy some beach time to re-charge after the holidays. The weather turned out to be quite cool, but I guess that's the risk of traveling in January. We thorougly enjoyed the Seascape Inn - Mickey and Joan are such friendly and gracious hosts and wonderful cooks - we felt like we were staying with family! We looked forward to the fresh fruit and home-baked goodies every morning for breakfast (and we missed that once we were back home!). The personalized service made our visit even more special - from fresh flowers in the bathroom every day to the special lobster dinner Mickey cooked up on request for our last night.
The island was even quieter than we expected, but we were fine with that. We met several friendly locals and it seemed as if we were the only visitors that week.
We look forward to visiting Seascape Inn again and hopefully will have some warmer weather next time and maybe even better luck with those elusive bonefish!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelli637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

If you are looking for someplace you do not want to leave; if that someplace needs to be peacful and quiet; if it need to have beaches with solitude; if it needs to have not too many people; if you want to have a comfortable cabanna; if it needs to have a great host and hostess (Mickey and Joan); and most of all; if it needs to have truly unbelievable food; then YOU NEED to check this place out. My wife and I were there from Christmas Eve to New Years eve of 2011 and it blew us away.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldroflc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I wanted a "get away from it all" vacation on the beach and ended up at the Seascape Inn after some searching. My trip to Joan and Mickey's was just what the doctor ordered. They were very kind and helpful. The cottages were clean and cozy. The beach was utterly relaxing.

Andros cay is not what you would call "bustling" but Mickey and Joan's bar, and their advice on where to get a bite to eat, where to bike, where to snorkel, and what sites to see allowed me to fill my non-lounging-in-the-hammock-on-the-beach time with whatever activity I wanted. Not only that, but the comfy, well-stocked bar filled with friendly pups was a great hang-out. The ring game is more addictive than it should be. The no-electronics policy in the bar is a welcome treat, and Joan's daiquiris are dee-licious.

Some helpful advice would be to make sure you bring bug repellant. Those little suckers can get you if you don't watch out. Also, be sure to stop by Four Kids for Curlene's delicious Pea Soup if get a chance. I ate Curlene's home cooking for lunch every day and her food is as lovely as she is (pretty lovely).

I hope to make it back one day to Andros Kay. I wasn't able to find the blue holes (despite Mickey's awesome hand-drawn map) everyone talks about and Boston's Conch stand was under construction so there are still a couple sites I want to hit.

If you want to hang out on a quiet, beautiful beach with friendly people and aren't looking to spend a mint, go to the Seascape Inn. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Andros hotels
0.1 km away
Swain's Cay Lodge
Swain's Cay Lodge
#4 of 9 in Andros
107 reviews
0 km away
Love At First Sight Hotel
56.3 km away
Small Hope Bay Lodge
Small Hope Bay Lodge
#1 of 9 in Andros
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 km away
Tiamo Resort
Tiamo Resort
#3 of 9 in Andros
285 reviews
0 km away
The Pointe Resort
The Pointe Resort
#2 of 5 in Andros
4 reviews
0 km away
Nathan's Lodge
Nathan's Lodge
#2 of 23 in Andros
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seascape Inn, Andros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Inn, Andros

Address: Mangrove Cay, Andros
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Andros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Andros
Price Range: $215 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five beachfront cabanas with decks and private bath. Full service restaurant and bar. Activities include snorkeling, biking and kayaking. Owner managed. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing