We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort(Cat Island)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Orange Creek Inn(Cat Island)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$327
US$272
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Cookie House(Cat Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Boogie Pond Lodge(Orange Creek)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
312
4
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
4
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsman o warda smoke potother guestss covefishcaribbean islandsdietary restrictionshumane societyour honeymoonrestaurant barconch shellsbeautiful beachviews are spectacularwonderful hostssting raybug sprayclear water
Filter
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2011

There isn't a lot to say about Shannas Cove that hasn't already been said in other reviews, but at the very least, I can say that it's all true. Private beach, kayaks to use whenever you want, great meals, a super relaxed vibe, and great, attentive hosts in Frank and Gabby. We didn't do much there -- just read books on the beach for 4 days -- but there were some small trips available and other things you could get involved with (snorkling, fishing, hikes, renting a car and seeing sites, etc). We were just so content with the grounds that in 4 days we never left! It's just that kind of place. Very chill and the kind of place that's depressing to leave (unless, of course, you live on a perfect and remote island with great weather). We're not repeat vacationers really (going back to the same place more than once), but we're sure that we'll be back at some point.

Room Tip: See if they have a special through the local travel agency...it got us our small flights from Nassau for free! Saved over $200 this way!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Senordeutsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Shannas Cove celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary. We had a fantastic time. We were looking to relax and reconnect and were able to do just that. Frank exchanged many emails with me prior to our trip. He recommended a B&B and restaurant in Nassau since we had to spend an evening there before flying to Cat Island. He booked our tickets with SkyBahamas for the flight to Cat Island. He was all about making everything easy for us. Gabi met us at the airport to take us back to the resort and returned us to the airport for our return flight.
Frank and Gabi are wonderful hosts; much thought has gone into the planning and construction of their resort. The rooms are comfortable and pristine, as is the beach. Waking up to view the sand and surf each morning was a pleasure. The bungalows are perfectly positioned so that each room has a view of the ocean.
The food was wonderful and reasonably priced. The pizzas for lunch were delicious and much more than 2 people could eat. Happy hour each evening afforded the opportunity to mingle with other guests and neighbors who drop in for a drink and/or dinner. Dinner was delicious each evening, with steak, red snapper, mahi mahi, and duck being served the evenings we ate there. Wireless internet is available in the dining area, which is nice if you want to check in with home, as we did.
Since we were there on a few nights with only 1 other couple, Frank and Gabi drove the group into Arthur's Town for a slice of the local night life. We loved hearing rake and scrape music at a local restaurant/bar on Saturday night and enjoyed playing pool another evening.
There are plenty of activities to keep you busy if you need something to do. My husband and I took two kayaking trips to explore nearby beaches and to snorkel in the reefs. It was great to have kayaks and snorkeling equipment available for no extra charge. Frank and Gabi helped point my husband in the right direction for fishing the flats in Orange Creek; he was rewarded by catching a bone fish, unguided. At our request, a rental car was available one day for a drive of the island and a hike up to see The Hermitage. We found the residents of Cat Island to be much nicer and more welcoming than those we encountered on our brief stay in Nassau.
While the world is a big place, when we again need a place to recharge and reconnect, we will definitely consider visiting Shannas Cove again.
Please believe all of the wonderful things that other travelers have written about Frank, Gabi, and Shannas Cove; they are all true. My husband and I are typically skeptical, but Shannas Cove exceeded all of our expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank booklineandsinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We had no idea what to expect when we arrived at Shanna's Cove Resort. We read all the great reviews and had hoped for the best. What we got was a wonderful surprise and our new favorite vacation spot!
Gabby met us at the airport and from the minute we arrived, we were treated as old friends. Frank and Gabby are fantastic hosts, wonderful people and great tour guides.
The accommodations were fantastic, clean and welcoming. You can enjoy your morning coffee overlooking the most beautiful beach in complete serenity. If you are looking to get away from it all, this is the place to do it. You will find beauty and charm around every bend in the road or turn of the beach. Thank You, Frank and Gabby for such a wonderful memory and sharing such a beautiful resort.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jendemski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We visited from Michigan March 23rd for 8 days and did not want to go home....what does that tell you.
Frank and Gabi are superior hosts with wonderful hearts. They are kind and genuine.
We went to the Bat Caves, Fishing with Frank and rented a car to drive down to Hawks Nest. I have included a few pictures. We definitely will be back! All you need to pack are shorts and a swimsuit!
Thanks for the Best vacation!
L and J

Room Tip: small travel bar of soap
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ldsowels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

If you've read any of the other reviews for Shanna's Cove, than you already know that Gabi and Frank are amazing hosts...that the meals are delicious...that the rooms are perfectly positioned overlooking the water...that every day, you feel like this paradise belongs only to you...

Shanna's Cove is a gem! Thanks to Gabi, Frank and Honey for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews