We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to unwind”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cat Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shannas Cove Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cat Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2011

I think most every item has been covered in reviews prior to this one. Frank and Gabi are wonderful hosts and the staff at the resort are always pleasant and helpful. The rooms are extremely comfortable and welcoming after a long day on the beach. Everything was well-maintained and extremely clean. The food was very enjoyable and to reiterate what everyone else has said....the pizza is fantastic!! I did get somewhat tired of the same breakfast every day, but I think it was because I was still so full from dinner!!

Things to do....The snorkeling, compared to other places we have vacationed, was rather ho-hum. However, to be fair, we were not able to take a snorkeling trip the week we were there as the water was entirely too choppy. The beach, however, was fantastic. We were, quite literally, on the beach ALONE for 99% of our trip. Walks on the beach can be as long as you want and they are wonderful. If you get too hot, you can take a quick swim while you walk! The kayaks are in great shape and are very fun (and a workout!). Frank was more than willing to take us on a variety of excursions, but we were too lazy.

Personally, I would not recommend renting a car. The driving conditions on the island are less than stellar :-) As far as air travel, we highly recommend Bahamas Air. Wonderful and timely service while we were there.

If you are looking for a quiet and relaxing vacation, this is the place. If you want night-life and excitement, you should probably look elsewhere. This is quite possibly the most laid-back vacation we have experienced. You are literally on the beach with your spouse/significant other and your thoughts. It was wonderful for us, but I know that for some that would be torture :-)

If you have any questions, feel free to send me a message. I would be glad to answer as best I can. Thanks to Shannas Cove for a memorable and wonderful trip!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are basically the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ashmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 238 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2011

There isn't a lot to say about Shannas Cove that hasn't already been said in other reviews, but at the very least, I can say that it's all true. Private beach, kayaks to use whenever you want, great meals, a super relaxed vibe, and great, attentive hosts in Frank and Gabby. We didn't do much there -- just read books on the beach for 4 days -- but there were some small trips available and other things you could get involved with (snorkling, fishing, hikes, renting a car and seeing sites, etc). We were just so content with the grounds that in 4 days we never left! It's just that kind of place. Very chill and the kind of place that's depressing to leave (unless, of course, you live on a perfect and remote island with great weather). We're not repeat vacationers really (going back to the same place more than once), but we're sure that we'll be back at some point.

Room Tip: See if they have a special through the local travel agency...it got us our small flights from Nassau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Senordeutsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Shannas Cove celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary. We had a fantastic time. We were looking to relax and reconnect and were able to do just that. Frank exchanged many emails with me prior to our trip. He recommended a B&B and restaurant in Nassau since we had to spend an evening there before flying to Cat Island. He booked our tickets with SkyBahamas for the flight to Cat Island. He was all about making everything easy for us. Gabi met us at the airport to take us back to the resort and returned us to the airport for our return flight.
Frank and Gabi are wonderful hosts; much thought has gone into the planning and construction of their resort. The rooms are comfortable and pristine, as is the beach. Waking up to view the sand and surf each morning was a pleasure. The bungalows are perfectly positioned so that each room has a view of the ocean.
The food was wonderful and reasonably priced. The pizzas for lunch were delicious and much more than 2 people could eat. Happy hour each evening afforded the opportunity to mingle with other guests and neighbors who drop in for a drink and/or dinner. Dinner was delicious each evening, with steak, red snapper, mahi mahi, and duck being served the evenings we ate there. Wireless internet is available in the dining area, which is nice if you want to check in with home, as we did.
Since we were there on a few nights with only 1 other couple, Frank and Gabi drove the group into Arthur's Town for a slice of the local night life. We loved hearing rake and scrape music at a local restaurant/bar on Saturday night and enjoyed playing pool another evening.
There are plenty of activities to keep you busy if you need something to do. My husband and I took two kayaking trips to explore nearby beaches and to snorkel in the reefs. It was great to have kayaks and snorkeling equipment available for no extra charge. Frank and Gabi helped point my husband in the right direction for fishing the flats in Orange Creek; he was rewarded by catching a bone fish, unguided. At our request, a rental car was available one day for a drive of the island and a hike up to see The Hermitage. We found the residents of Cat Island to be much nicer and more welcoming than those we encountered on our brief stay in Nassau.
While the world is a big place, when we again need a place to recharge and reconnect, we will definitely consider visiting Shannas Cove again.
Please believe all of the wonderful things that other travelers have written about Frank, Gabi, and Shannas Cove; they are all true. My husband and I are typically skeptical, but Shannas Cove exceeded all of our expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank booklineandsinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We had no idea what to expect when we arrived at Shanna's Cove Resort. We read all the great reviews and had hoped for the best. What we got was a wonderful surprise and our new favorite vacation spot!
Gabby met us at the airport and from the minute we arrived, we were treated as old friends. Frank and Gabby are fantastic hosts, wonderful people and great tour guides.
The accommodations were fantastic, clean and welcoming. You can enjoy your morning coffee overlooking the most beautiful beach in complete serenity. If you are looking to get away from it all, this is the place to do it. You will find beauty and charm around every bend in the road or turn of the beach. Thank You, Frank and Gabby for such a wonderful memory and sharing such a beautiful resort.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jendemski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We visited from Michigan March 23rd for 8 days and did not want to go home....what does that tell you.
Frank and Gabi are superior hosts with wonderful hearts. They are kind and genuine.
We went to the Bat Caves, Fishing with Frank and rented a car to drive down to Hawks Nest. I have included a few pictures. We definitely will be back! All you need to pack are shorts and a swimsuit!
Thanks for the Best vacation!
L and J

Room Tip: small travel bar of soap
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ldsowels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Island
60.7 km away
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Cat Island
78 reviews
20.9 km away
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
#4 of 10 in Cat Island
172 reviews
47.7 km away
Fernandez Bay Village
Fernandez Bay Village
#1 of 10 in Cat Island
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Orange Creek Inn
Orange Creek Inn
#7 of 10 in Cat Island
47 reviews
44.7 km away
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
#8 of 10 in Cat Island
22 reviews
0 km away
Love At First Sight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shannas Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shannas Cove Resort

Address: Shanna Bay, Orange Creek, Cat Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cat Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range: $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shannas Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shannas Cove Resort is a paradise for people looking for a relaxing beach vacation in the sun, and is the perfect location for diving and fishing. Enjoy the island‘s secluded white sandy beaches and sub-tropical flora and fauna. During tours of the island you will get to know the islanders and will be impressed by their friendliness and hospitality. Our restaurant will pamper you with a diversity of dishes including exotic island specialities.Free high speed WiFi in the restaurant. Kayaks, stand up boards, snorkel gear is free of charge for our guests. We have a fully equipped dive center and offer also fishing trips, bone fishing in the nearby creek, Turtle watch tours in the creek and snorkel trips ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shannas Cove Hotel Cat Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing