We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cat Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shannas Cove Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cat Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Combined with living in California and my love of travel, I have seen a fair share of beautiful beaches in my time, but let me preface this review with one simple statement: Shanna’s Cove, Cat Island has the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen in my life!
Imagine walking on deserted white sand beaches with turquoise waters gently washing the sand. Nothing but peace and serenity surrounding you.

From the moment that Frank picked us up from the little airport of Arthur’s Town, we felt at home and welcome. Forget Disneyland, Cat Island is the happiest place on earth! Everyone you pass (whether they be in car or on foot) greats you with a warm smile and a friendly waive or honk.

Each day was a new adventure. Our first day I went for a morning run down the long stretch of beach in front of the hotel and found myself covered in goose bumps in shock of the sheer beauty that surrounded me (okay sounds corny, but it is true). I didn’t think I would ever see a beach as beautiful as the one in front of the hotel. Then the next day we ventured through the wooded path in search of man-o-war beach, which was even more deserted and incredible.

Our third day we went diving with Frank. We saw tons of beautiful fish, eels, rays, lobsters and coral. Frank is an incredible dive master and made all the dives very fun, comfortable, informative and easy! Rob was our dive boat captain and definitely has a talent for following bubbles!

Shanna’s Cove also has kayaks you can take out at any time you want and explore nearby secluded coves and beaches, which we utilized quite a bit! We rented a car our last day (which Frank arranged for us) to explore the island a bit more and check out the Hermitage. We drove the entire island and decided that while every part of Cat Island is beautiful, Shanna’s Cove by far has the best location on the island and the best beaches.

The evenings at Shanna’s Cove are not to be missed either. The food is amazing!!! Drinks are mixed to perfection. The other guest are excellent company! DJ Frank definitely knows how to get the party started, even Tara and Gabby joined in the dancing!

I must admit that prior to our vacation I was skeptical of the reviews on Trip Advisor, as I have never seen a hotel with perfect reviews. Even with my high expectations, Shanna’s Cove far exceeded my expectations! This place is the real deal!!

We can’t wait to come back!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jritchie1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 187 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

We went there in August 2012 for a family trip and had a wonderful time. This place has everything you need on a vacation. First of all, it is very remote and the beach is magnificent. Most of the time you're the only one on it, with other guests of the resort. The bungalows are very comfortable, well decorated and all have a balcony overlooking the ocean. What is particular about this place is that it is right on the beach, but built on heights so that you can admire the view, especially from the balcony of the restaurant. The hosts, Gabi and Frank, and their staff are wonderful people. The food is delicious too! Two tumbs up also for scuba diving. Frank is very professional, he will provide you with the gear which is of very good quality and the diving spots around Shannas Cove are breathtaking. We had the chance to see rays, turtles, a lot of colorful fishes and corals. One time the weather did not allow us to dive and Frank took us on a kayaking trip in the mangrove, which was a very unique experience and where you get to see baby fishes, turtles and wonderful clear blue waters. That is to say that the hosts will be there for you to make your stay the most fulfilling and enjoyable possible.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We went to Shannas Cove the first week of August 2012 on our honeymoon. The photos do not do the Island justice. Frank and Gabi are very gracious and accomodating hosts. They truly make you feel you are house guests and not tourists. Gabi and her kitchen staff prepared some of the finest meals we have eaten. The meals are very European and you will not go hungry.

Pointers: When you book, inform Frank if you want to dive or fish ahead of time as he does get busy. The island is fairly undeveloped so if you don't snorkel, dive, fish, lounge on the beach, hike, kayak or explore you may want to look elsewhere. There are no casinos or Michael Jackson revues here. Rent a car and drive the island, eat in the local restaurants (they are all small) and talk to local people. The island folk have a music, culture and lifestyle all their own. Everyone knows everyone and treat you like family. We never felt unsafe. Make a point to go to Man O' War beach and experience solitude. We were the only two people on 5 miles of beautiful beach. It takes a bit of work to get here but the scenery is well worth the trip. Go down to the beach at night and see stars you literally have never seen. The food and beverage prices were what we expected and we didn't break the bank on our stay. (8 nights)
Remember, everything is flown or shipped here. Bearing this in mind, the drink prices at Shannas were the same as everywhere else on the island. Bring everything you need when you pack as there is no Store 24 or CVS down the street - just local island people with small mom and pop stores.

We had a wonderful, unforgettable time and cant wait to go back. Be adventurous!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rob2328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Believe the reviews. You will run out of superlatives to describe this place. Your stay here will be the benchmark that you measure your travels too. From the owners to the housekeeping and kitchen staff, everyone here will make you feel like lifelong friends. Everyone thinks "if I was in charge I would do things right" .... well these folks have. Remarkable with this level of attention to detail is that the place is still an incredible value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnst0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We visited back in March for a full week and had a wonderful time. It is rare that you are still talking about a vacation spot, on a regular basis, four months later. We can't wait to go back. Please try the Greek pizza, we sure do miss that.

You can read the tons of other reviews for more detail, but I wanted to give a few quick tips. Be sure to bring your own toiletries, such as shampoo, conditioner, soap, lotion, etc. These were not in the room. We also brought our own beach towels, as we love an oversized and fluffy towel, as opposed to the bath sized, thinner towels that were available. Do wear sneakers and bring a bottle of water if you go on the hike. Some parts of the trail were a bit tough to walk on and sandals would not do. There is a shelf of books in the dining room that you can borrow from, if you want to avoid having a bunch of books in your suitcase. Frank will take you to and from the airport, and it is about a 15 minute ride. Do check out the gift shop on site, it had some cute items.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank purplejenn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Island
20.9 km away
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
#5 of 10 in Cat Island
167 reviews
60.7 km away
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Cat Island
74 reviews
47.7 km away
Fernandez Bay Village
Fernandez Bay Village
#1 of 10 in Cat Island
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Orange Creek Inn
Orange Creek Inn
#7 of 10 in Cat Island
46 reviews
44.7 km away
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
#8 of 10 in Cat Island
22 reviews
0.0 km away
Love At First Sight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shannas Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shannas Cove Resort

Address: Shanna Bay, Orange Creek, Cat Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cat Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range: $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shannas Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shannas Cove Resort is a paradise for people looking for a relaxing beach vacation in the sun, and is the perfect location for diving and fishing. Enjoy the island‘s secluded white sandy beaches and sub-tropical flora and fauna. During tours of the island you will get to know the islanders and will be impressed by their friendliness and hospitality. Our restaurant will pamper you with a diversity of dishes including exotic island specialities.Free high speed WiFi in the restaurant. Kayaks, stand up boards, snorkel gear is free of charge for our guests. We have a fully equipped dive center and offer also fishing trips, bone fishing in the nearby creek, Turtle watch tours in the creek and snorkel trips ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shannas Cove Hotel Cat Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing