We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shannas Cove Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$230
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Pigeon Cay Beach Club(Cat Island)(Great Value!)
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$272
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort(Cat Island)(Great Value!)
US$189
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Greenwood Beach Resort(Cat Island)(Great Value!)
US$169
US$135
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Orange Creek Inn(Cat Island)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Cookie House(Cat Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Boogie Pond Lodge(Orange Creek)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveller rating
310
4
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
4
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsman o warda smoke potfishother guestscaribbean islandshumane societyrestaurant barconch shellsour honeymoonwonderful hostsviews are spectacularbeautiful beachthe crystal clear waterssting raybug sprayevery mealtoo good to be true
Filter
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 316 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We went there in August 2012 for a family trip and had a wonderful time. This place has everything you need on a vacation. First of all, it is very remote and the beach is magnificent. Most of the time you're the only one on it, with other guests of the resort. The bungalows are very comfortable, well decorated and all have a balcony overlooking the ocean. What is particular about this place is that it is right on the beach, but built on heights so that you can admire the view, especially from the balcony of the restaurant. The hosts, Gabi and Frank, and their staff are wonderful people. The food is delicious too! Two tumbs up also for scuba diving. Frank is very professional, he will provide you with the gear which is of very good quality and the diving spots around Shannas Cove are breathtaking. We had the chance to see rays, turtles, a lot of colorful fishes and corals. One time the weather did not allow us to dive and Frank took us on a kayaking trip in the mangrove, which was a very unique experience and where you get to see baby fishes, turtles and wonderful clear blue waters. That is to say that the hosts will be there for you to make your stay the most fulfilling and enjoyable possible.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We went to Shannas Cove the first week of August 2012 on our honeymoon. The photos do not do the Island justice. Frank and Gabi are very gracious and accomodating hosts. They truly make you feel you are house guests and not tourists. Gabi and her kitchen staff prepared some of the finest meals we have eaten. The meals are very European and you will not go hungry.

Pointers: When you book, inform Frank if you want to dive or fish ahead of time as he does get busy. The island is fairly undeveloped so if you don't snorkel, dive, fish, lounge on the beach, hike, kayak or explore you may want to look elsewhere. There are no casinos or Michael Jackson revues here. Rent a car and drive the island, eat in the local restaurants (they are all small) and talk to local people. The island folk have a music, culture and lifestyle all their own. Everyone knows everyone and treat you like family. We never felt unsafe. Make a point to go to Man O' War beach and experience solitude. We were the only two people on 5 miles of beautiful beach. It takes a bit of work to get here but the scenery is well worth the trip. Go down to the beach at night and see stars you literally have never seen. The food and beverage prices were what we expected and we didn't break the bank on our stay. (8 nights)
Remember, everything is flown or shipped here. Bearing this in mind, the drink prices at Shannas were the same as everywhere else on the island. Bring everything you need when you pack as there is no Store 24 or CVS down the street - just local island people with small mom and pop stores.

We had a wonderful, unforgettable time and cant wait to go back. Be adventurous!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rob2328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Believe the reviews. You will run out of superlatives to describe this place. Your stay here will be the benchmark that you measure your travels too. From the owners to the housekeeping and kitchen staff, everyone here will make you feel like lifelong friends. Everyone thinks "if I was in charge I would do things right" .... well these folks have. Remarkable with this level of attention to detail is that the place is still an incredible value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnst0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We visited back in March for a full week and had a wonderful time. It is rare that you are still talking about a vacation spot, on a regular basis, four months later. We can't wait to go back. Please try the Greek pizza, we sure do miss that.

You can read the tons of other reviews for more detail, but I wanted to give a few quick tips. Be sure to bring your own toiletries, such as shampoo, conditioner, soap, lotion, etc. These were not in the room. We also brought our own beach towels, as we love an oversized and fluffy towel, as opposed to the bath sized, thinner towels that were available. Do wear sneakers and bring a bottle of water if you go on the hike. Some parts of the trail were a bit tough to walk on and sandals would not do. There is a shelf of books in the dining room that you can borrow from, if you want to avoid having a bunch of books in your suitcase. Frank will take you to and from the airport, and it is about a 15 minute ride. Do check out the gift shop on site, it had some cute items.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank purplejenn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have been trusting tripadvisor for years to help us with our vacation selections, and we couldn't believe there was a resort with only perfect reviews. Surely, these other reviews just haven't travelled much or had different standards, because a place like te one depicted in the Shannas Cove reviews couldn't exist.

Much to our surprise and joy, it does. Every review was spot on and Shannas Cove IS that amazing. Cat Island itself is beyond gorgeous, but the real gems are Gabi and Frank. Don't let their laid-back persona fool you: they are consummate professionals and wonderful hosts. They make it clear that you are their guest and it is their priority that you enjoy your stay.

The rooms are large and clean, views are spectacular, the food is wonderful, and we loved kayaking in the clearest water we've ever seen.

We have already booked our return trip for April 2013, this time bringing friends. We can't wait to experience paradise again!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank alexa2586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews