We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
52
15
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
15
2
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2016

7 days in Surfers Haven is just paradise. Tom and Liz are wonderfull, helpfull and fun to be with.
I spent 2 nights in the Surf Shack, nice and clean, you have everything you need Inside.
I spent 5 nights in the studio, the view is stunning, and all the equipments are just what you need.
It's not a 5 stars hotel of course, but you just feel like at home. Perfect for surfers, and people who like to be outdoor and enjoy the nature.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecilemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2016

My boyfriend and I ventured down to Eleuthera on a surf trip, and a friend of ours recommended Surfer's Haven. Tom & Liz were wonderful hosts, and were always available to assist with whatever their guests may need. They even let us borrow some of their clothes when our luggage got lost at the airport and didn't arrive for 3 days!

We stayed in the downstairs studio for the first few nights which was cozy, comfy, and clean. The studio had the world's best mini fridge (how does it get so cold?! lol) and we took advantage of the outside kitchen. We brought some food that was easy to prepare with us from home (oatmeal, pancake mix, PB & J, ramen noodles, tuna fish, etc.) and were able to cook on the small stove top in the outside kitchen. We also stayed in the apartment upstairs for a few nights. It had everything we needed and was very comfortable.

The beach is about a 5-10 minute walk. We enjoyed surfing really fun waves and the local surfers were friendly. Liz even captured some photos of our surf session. Thank you Liz!

While hitch-hiking is common, we rented a car and I would definitely recommend doing so. There are 2 restaurants within walking distance of Surfers Haven, but it was nice having a car and being able to explore other surf spots when the waves weren't good out front, as well as some of the many other great places to eat.

Sure, it may not be a 5 star resort, so if you're "high-maintenance" this hotel may not be for you, but we were just surfers on an adventure and absolutely loved it. Thank you again Tom & Liz for your hospitality, we hope to see you again one day!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HMW34221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2015

I stayed at the "apartment" during 10 nights with a friend. We initially chose this place for its supposed value for money, we weren't disappointed at all to this respect, but there's much more to say about Surfer's Haven.
The apartment is great for a couple, gorgeous view over the "canopy" from the balcony. Inside it is quite basic but it has everything you need: fridge, stove, oven, kitchen ustensils, drinkable water, table and chairs, shower, toilets, anti-mosquito mesh on most windows. You may have the visit of a couple of friendly geckos and funny small frogs, which gives an even stronger "nature" feel :)
Wifi works fine most of the time.
There's a motel/bar 5 minutes away (by foot) and the Sugar Apple café on the main road (10 minutes by foot), which is unfortunately closed in summer.
Gregory Town (2 miles north) has everything you need: bars, (good) restaurants, post office, gift shop, liquor shop, grocery, fresh and organic fruits and vegetable stall, etc.
Hitch-hiking works very well, so the relatively remote location of Surfer's Haven shouldn't bother you. Enjoy the feeling of simplicity and wilderness!
One last thing: roads can be very rough on Eleuthera, so follow (or ask your taxi driver to follow) the instructions sent by Tom by email! The signs aren't that easy to find.

Room Tip: The apartment has a great view, a double bed and its own kitchenette. One studio has twin beds, the other has a double bed.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruno C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015

It's hard to write a review of a place you'd prefer be kept a secret. My wife and I stayed at Surfers Haven and had a great time. Tom and Liz are terrific hosts - attentive and very helpful. I recommend taking one of Tom's day trips (which I've done twice). These are a lot of fun. Next time I'll take a surfing lesson. The location is perfect - quiet and a short walk to a beautiful beach. We stayed in the apartment, which has its own kitchen and deck with a terrific view of the Atlantic.

Room Tip: Couples should reserve the apartment
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brooklyndiver2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2015

Surfer's Haven is an ideal place to stay if you're in the market for good people, good vibes and a laid back, clean environment. Walking distance from the turquoise and sea glass sprinkled Surfer's Beach, and a stone's throw from Rainbow Inn Restaurant and Sugar Apple, (best known for outstanding pizza and burgers), the Haven is located in the midpoint of Eleuthera, providing for easy access to a number of different vistas, adventures and cuisines. Whether you are inclined towards an adventure or lazily lounging and reading, Surfer's Haven is a lovely place to spend your time if you aren't looking for anything over the top, but rather somewhere to let yourself go barefoot and just be.

Room Tip: The top level apartment is fantastic. Equipped with kitchen, deck with ocean views and private bathroom, definitely a bang for your buck!
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews