We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
13
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
1
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2018

We stayed at SBV the week of New Years Eve with our adult and teenage children. Booking our trip was effortless as the owners assistant, Debbie, was very responsive and thorough before and during our stay. Sugar Beach Villa is off the beaten path and about a 40 minute drive from the Georgetown airport and town itself. However, from what we saw, most of the nice villas are secluded which is the allure of this area. Highly recommend a rental car to be able to explore, grocery shop, and feel less confined to the property. The caretakers, Miss Glo and Linton, were always available and responsive to anything we needed. Chef Anne included! Book her for your entire stay to cook excellent dinners which were timely, culturally tasteful, and a great way to have special family time without the stress of cooking and cleaning! We recommend grocery shopping for snacks, light meals (breakfast), and alcohol at the grocery stores on your way from the airport to the Villa. Linton stocked the Villa with our grocery list before our arrival...but, with four hungry young men, we quickly had to make another grocery run. Linton and Chef Anne were both very responsive whenever we needed something extra (be aware that emergency trips to the store will cost a service fee). The only negative of our trip were the sand fleas. Make sure during less windy days you do not keep the doors open and stay out of the brush on the grounds! The Bahamas are typically breezy islands which help with the pests and add to the excellent climate! Boating with Linton was such a great time and we highly recommend boating as much as possible...the beaches are magical!! For a secluded, relaxing, and no stress vacation, Sugar Beach Villa is paradise!!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Familyfun2442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2015

We arrived just a day after the hurricane and the staff had been working non-stop to make the Villa ready for us! Speaking of the staff, amazing and excellent and made our stay exceptional. You must go out on the boat as much as possible with Captain Linton, visit the secluded islands and the most gorgeous beaches! We highly recommend to couples, friends and families. This is the place to stay in the Exumas!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DYSB2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2015

My family stayed at SBV during the Christmas Break 14-15. This was our first trip to the Exumas, although we have visited Eleuthera and other Bahamian islands many times. The positives: the house is lovely, and the grounds are well-kept. It should be noted that the villa is very secluded, and Little Exuma has no tourism infrastructure whatsoever (read: no grocery store). As such, there were no restaurants, in fact, other than 1-2 spots to eat (hardly qualify as restaurants) in Georgetown, prepare yourself to cook! This in and of itself was disappointing, which was compounded by the fact that the villa had no functioning dishwasher. We brought champagne and good quality wine to the house, only to find that there were no wine glasses, other than a few scratched up acrylic tumblers. Finally, though no fault of the owner's, the bugs were dreadful and we were eaten alive by the sand fleas. This put a serious damper on the holiday.
There is only one television, this in the second smaller property, and the screen is perhaps 20 inches. Given that there was nothing to do, no board games were provided, we rapidly grew bored.
Compared to other properties we have rented in this price range, this villa was disappointing, and whereas we have been repeat visitors to previously rented properties on other islands, I would not recommend Sugar Beach Villa.
As other guests have commented, the beach is beautiful and the house is quite nice, but due to the shortcomings aforementioned, I would keep looking. I tried posting to Homeaway after writing the owner but the review section on his site was suddenly removed!!

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank discriminatin2some
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SugarBeachVilla, Owner at Sugar Beach Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2015

While it is not our practice to respond to guest reviews, in this instance, we feel compelled to do so. First, if you are interested in staying at Sugar Beach Villa, we would request that you look at every other single review we have received to date. If you elect to read these reviews, you will see that these particular guests had a problem with most everything. Our Villa is known for its spectacular views and unparalleled beaches that surround Little Exuma and not our television set. We DO have a grocery store and there are restaurants. In fact, two new restaurants have just opened in the last few months! We encourage our guests to have the house fully stocked with groceries and spirits in advance of their arrival and we have a chef available to cook any meal at any time! In any event, we take all guest comments to heart. We have already installed a new dishwasher, which unfortunately broke down immediately prior to these guests arriving. Please note that we have two (2) full functioning kitchens at Sugar Beach. We will also be adding board games for our guests. And, as our website makes clear, the Caribbean in general and the Bahamas in particular, are well known for no-see-ums, which appear early in the morning and at sunset. These are generally a small nuisance provided you stay in winds while outdoors during these times. Many of our guests return year after year to enjoy Sugar Beach Villa and all it has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Wow, what can I say!?!? Words or pictures cannot do this place justice! Everything was absolutely perfect during our entire stay. Miss Glo was a blessing and took excellent care of us. Linton was also very accommodating and very helpful. We spent 90% of our time in Little Exuma cause we prefer the seclusion and no crowds. We loved "The creek" area, which is very close to the house. The house (and kasahrina & cookhouse) was beautiful and very clean. The views from the decks are breathtaking. I know it can be scary to book something online that you have never seen, but I promise-you will NOT be disappointed!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Muthz555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

It was our second time in Exuma, and loved it even more. We shared this beautiful house with another family with teenagers. It was just perfect for our needs. A lot of space for everybody, kids had plenty to do nearby the house (mostly fishing). The house was very well maintained, with everything we needed. Linton was wonderful, he took care of us well beyond our expectations, and Glow was very helpful and kept the house nice and clean. Linton's wife is a great cook, she prepared a great meal for us at the house. The view from the upper deck is unbelievable at any time of the day, sunset and cocktail on the deck behind Kasarina unbeatable. We look forward to our next vacation at Sugar Beach!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews