We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hear and bummedtion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2017

We wanted an ocean view with just a little blue view on the deck. We are looking at an ugly marina. Water by pool is beautiful. I have had the reservation for 6 months and was so excited. Room is pretty. I am just a view person. Awful view they say they are booked however I see very few people on our side. Cross your fingers that someone cancels.

Room Tip: Not by the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anna1988_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGC-Exuma-LIFE, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear Anna1988_13,

I am hoping your holiday started to improve and am truly sorry you did not enjoy the view. The resort is indeed full with many guest staying for a week and some two weeks. Everyone seems to move in different direction, some fishing, diving, beach combing, renting boats, excursions, private tours and some just relaxing at our pool or beach. I am also a view person and can assure you some people love the marina view as it has more twinkling lights on the water then the Emerald Bay view.

Regardless I do hope the vacation was wonderful and the associates and I thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Sandra Grisham-Clothier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 68 of 983 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2017

The resort setting is gorgeous - on a beautiful harbor on south and marina on north, and golf field along the shore. The water is of beautiful colors, very warm. Some garbage in the water, some garbage on the beach, but not overwhelming. The resort is pretty new, I was told it was built around 2003. Villas are owned by different owners, so you can get any type of decor inside. Our villa had some hints of luxury paired with questionable taste, and some obvious convenience things were missing (for example, there was no towel hangers in 2nd floor bedroom, not a single one). The bed frame in the 2nd floor bedroom was unsteady, the bed was shaking badly even when you sit on it.

Our bad experience with the Grand isle resort:

1) attempt to silently downgrade our reservation on check-in:

We booked 2 bedroom ocean view villa for the family of 4. When we arrived to check-in, I was given a paper to sign and noticed it was saying we were getting 1 bedroom villa..... When I brought it up that we reserved and paid for 2 bedroom, the receptionist said "Oh I need to speak to a manager"... In 5 minutes or so, she came back and said: "Ok, your villa will be ready in an hour". So I asked if we are getting 2 bedroom, she said "You are getting 3 bedroom".... So my view of what happened is - they did not have 2 bedroom available and they tried to silently downgrade us, and only after I noticed and brought it up, they had to upgrade us... This is not what I call good, honest and open communication, or a proper way to conduct business.

2) A/C duct leak in the villa, and poor management response to handle this problem:

About 3 days before our check out, water started dripping inside the villa from the 2nd floor roof duct down to the first floor in the stairs area. I notified the management right away, they said they will send someone. And they did, someone showed up when only my 13 year old daughter was at home, and they quickly left mentioning to her something like "oh, it's a/c duct leaking, hard to fix, we will contact your parents". We have not heard anything about this problem from the staff since........... As it was just a few days left before check out, we just put a bucket, towels (see picture), and a note about the problem to the leak area. Housekeeping removed the note next time they cleaned the villa. I thought they can read English.

3) Housekeeping - inconsistent quality, which started deteriorating from day 1. One time, no fresh towels were left, we had to call. Once we left villa pretty late, around 1pm, and I called the housekeeping to request the service realizing they might have skipped us because of "do not disturb" sign which we removed before leaving, they assured the housekeeping will be sent, but when we got home after 6pm no service was done..

4) Golf cart rentals:

During check-in we were wondering if we would actually need to rent a golf cart, it would be great to first look around and estimate how useful it will be. We were told by a receptionist that as we rented a regular car, the cart would not add up much. We were told we cannot rent a cart for a few days, but can rent from a particular day until the end of our stay. Sure thing, when I came in 2 days later to rent a golf cart for the remaining 6 days, they said we have to rent it for all 8 days, including the 2 days which already passed...... Well, it's $15/day+tax, not a big deal at all, but just as a matter of principle and a contradiction what the other clerk told me on check-in the other day. Sure thing, after pushing a bit they "talked to a manager" and we got approved for 6 days rental.

There were other things like slow service in Palapa grill (I submitted a separate review), automatic 15+% gratuity included (so that they do not have to worry about providing a good service), annoyments with room service like bringing an order of pancakes without any condiments, maple syrup or jelly.

Good things about the resort - nice setting, spacious villa, not far from the airport.

If you like snorkeling like I do, go to the resort beach early in the morning, 8am or so, and explore the few small riffs on the left side, along the golf course. I saw barracuda, turtle, lion fish, lobsters. But the amount of fish is sparse comparing to ALL other tropical islands I have been too (quite a few), looks like locals do not really care of preserving the riffs. A turtle started swimming away fast once she noticed me, and later a local person confirmed that locals catch and eat turtles.... Overall, locals do not seem to care much about their island, leave trash all around... When we parked on Tropic of Cancer beach in the middle of the day, locals were putting graffiti on the shack at the entrance and did not stop their business after noticing us tourists.

General recommendations about the island:

1) rent a car - easy way to get groceries and explore the island. We went to Coco Plum, Tropic of Cancer, Three Sisters beaches - all great locations.
2) food: bring snacks with you. The selection of food in local groceries is poor and prices are very high.
3) book activities either with concierge or directly with local leaders like Exuma Watersports. We booked a swimming pigs tour with a smaller company (Aquadisiac) and it was a no-show - they did not come to pick us up.
4) extremely rude stuff at the Exuma airport bag check and security, be patient and don't engage. And do not bring drones (I don't have one, just read about bad experience of other people on customs).

Overall, we've had good time during our visit on Exuma. But I don't think we will be returning there any time soon. We live in California, Hawaii is a much better choice for us, we've been to all islands already and will be coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGC-Exuma-LIFE, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear Deddd,

We are pleased you were able to visit our lovely island and even more happy to know you will be returning!

Please accept our sincere apology for the frustration with the water from our AC ducting. We have finally found a solution to this issue and do apologize. I did look into the change in your villa assignment and it seems due to a maintenance issue the front desk was trying to upgrade you to a one bedroom Ocean Front offering a preferred view. Regardless this should have been well communicated not a silent change as you described, our apology.

I am happy to say that Grand Isle Resort does silently clean up four beaches hear on Exuma. Three Sisters, Coco Plum, Emerald Bay, and Poor Betties beach. We are also working with the local government on some ideas to assist the island with more public trash receptacles as this island grows more and more popular.

Sincerely,

Sandra Grisham-Clothier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

Absolutely amazing Resort! Tranquil, customer service at its best! The 3 bedroom luxury ocean front Villa was perfect!

Clean, hospitality at its best, and the people are the most generous I've ever met!!

Roger and Paul (Pablo), John James and Shug from the restaurant, Tamera from the Spa, and Jamiel the Asst. General Manager greeted our family every morning, noon and night!

We will be back and look forward to the next time!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank 1894andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGC-Exuma-LIFE, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear 1894,

Thank you! We are so happy to know you had a great stay and got to know a few key members of our team like Roger, Paul, John, Shug, Tamera and Jamiel that make Grand Isle what it is today.

Hurry back,

Sandra Grisham-Clothier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Spectacular property with beautifully designed villas, charming pool area and an amazing beach. The onsite restaurant was very convenient and had a good menu (food was good as well compared to other local places), staff were excellent. We had a 1 bedroom villa that was very spacious, with a living room, fully equipped kitchen, a patio and a huge bathroom. It had everything you might need, including washer and dryer.
We ended up renting a car and driving around the island only to discover that we must have been staying in one of the best places on the island. Most of the restaurants in the area weren't much better or that much cheaper than Palapas grill and in the end we felt like it was not worth having a car there.
The beach is beautiful, but be aware that it's on the ocean side of the island, so the waves were quite high during our stay and we couldn't use kayaks or paddle boards.
Hotel can organize tours and transportation, which was very convenient. They work with higher end vendors, so you end up paying for it.
Overall, it might be a good option to stop by a nearby liquor store and get groceries on your own if you are planning to do any dining in.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marija I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGC-Exuma-LIFE, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear Marija I,

Thank you for the lovely review and suggestions for other guest. We are sorry the wind was up during your stay this year seems to have been packed with a bit more wind then we are normally use to. That said it keep the beach nice and cool and perfect for the long early or late evening walks.

Hope to see you back soon for some calm weather.

Sincerely,

Sandra Grisham-Clothier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

This was the most wonderful resort, located on a breathtaking island! The villa was spacious and luxurious - more than what we expected. It was only out done by the gorgeous backdrop of the ocean and pristine beaches. Every day we were greeted by the smiling and friendly staff, who knew us by name almost immediately! We enjoyed breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Palapa Grill every day, and the people there (Delton, Hendina, Kardusya, Kayliza, Klee, Nikara, and Shug) were always courteous and professional. The gentlemen at the Hummingbird Hut (Cecil and Clemmons - not sure about his name) were always on hand for beach towels, umbrellas, and a variety of beach equipment. We booked time at the lovely spa and met two dynamic young ladies (Kat and Tamara), who took excellent care of us. The front desk staff and concierge (Gina, Nichelle, Paul, Roger, Terrasina, and Shelleyeka) were not out done, and they went above and beyond to help - even tracking down missing luggage from the airport. We also had a chance to meet some of the great people in management and administration (Al-lee, Jamiel, Jimion, and Krystal), who greeted us daily and were happy to talk to us about the resort. A few other people we met made our stay there memorable (Kevica, Marva, Shavar, and Talia). Before we left, we'd already recommended it to friends and family, and discussed plans to return soon. Once again, best vacation ever! Thank you!

Room Tip: We recommend a villa with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marcarlos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGC-Exuma-LIFE, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear Marcarlos D,

You just put a hugh smile on my face and Delton, Hendina, Kardusya, Kayliza, Klee, Nikara, Shug, Cecil, Clemmons Kat, Tamara, Gina, Nichelle, Paul, Roger, Terrasina, Shelleyeka, Al-lee, Jamiel, Jimion, Krystal, Kevica, Marva, Shavar, and Talia!!! People are what make Grand Isle so Grand and this includes the wonderful guest that we seem to attract.

Thank you for being one of those special guest.

Sincerely,

Sandra Grisham-Clothier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Exuma
21.1 km away
Lumina Point Resort & Spa
Lumina Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Stocking Island
63 reviews
20 km away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#2 of 2 in Stocking Island
178 reviews
20 km away
Club Peace & Plenty
Club Peace & Plenty
#4 of 6 in Great Exuma
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
17.8 km away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
566 reviews
18 km away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 5 in George Town
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Isle Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Isle Resort & Spa

Address: Emerald Bay, Great Exuma
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range: $585 - $1,326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Isle Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Emerald Bay in Great Exuma, The Bahamas, Grand Isle Resort & Spa is a stunning ocean front resort. The exclusive gated community comprises 78 luxuriously appointed 1- to 4-bedroom villas that range from 1,250 sq. ft. to 5,200 sq. ft. and offer a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living area, high-end amenities, and extraordinary views. Getting around the resort is quick and convenient, as every villa is equipped with a personal golf cart. Grand Isle is one of the finest resorts in the Caribbean and is ideally suited for family holidays, romantic getaways, destination weddings and honeymoons, or for simply enjoying the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Isle Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Isle Resort And Spa
Grand Isle Hotel Great Exuma
Grand Isle Resort & Spa Great Exuma, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing