We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice and lovely day and excellent restaurant at Grand Isle Resort &Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We went to Grand Isle Resort &Spa on Sunday August 6 th as a day pass. It cost $50.00 US for adults to be able to use all the accomodations of the resort, the pool, beach long chairs with umbrellas, beach towels .The resort is cosy and very well maintained. The view is spectacular and we were able to go snorkeling at the site .The beach is share withe the clients of the Sandals. We enjoy very much The Palapa Grill restaurant . Excellent service 5 stars provided by our new friend Leon Baptiste our waiter and the food was exquisite. The Bahamian Conch Fritters, with their Nassau Royale Calypso sauce, made with their best island Pepper sauce of Melda Ferguson, (Kitchen Fergie). Their island Conch chowder ,shrimp bites and grilled Mahi Mahi sandwich are awesome. My friend took the Gaspacho and Caesar salad that was exquisite. All the staff at the Grand Isle are so nice starting with Rogers, at the reception that made us visit and greeted us so nicely. On our second visit the manager Jimion Yarde and Shavar were our other excellent service table waiters when we came back on Satuday the 12 th august .We really enjoyed our short stay at the Grand Isle Resort and Palapa Grill and we will be back as all the staff there are unforgettable people.
Louise, Serge and Francine from Montreal, Quebec, Canada

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGC-Exuma-LIFE, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Louise G,

Wonderful news that you found the hidden gem of Exuma, Grand Isle Resort with so many special people that make the property what it is today.

Next trip I see you staying hear and finding even more fun in the sun.

Sincerley,

Sandra Grisham-Clothier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (961)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 28 of 961 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Great accommodations, helpful staff, beautiful views. Next door to Sandals which is helpful for sailing and golf. The only issue is dining. You can either eat at the restaurant here at Grand Isle or pay $50 one way into town. (The restaurant at Grand Isle is fantastic though) Highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Dobsonhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGC-Exuma-LIFE, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Dobsonhj,

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and will be building you a new restaurant for your next visit (:>>. Next stay let us rent you a car for a day allowing you to venture to some fun beaches and off to a dinner down in George Town at more reasonable cost.

All the best,

Sandra Grisham-Clothier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

The Sea Star spa is amazing! From the minute you walk in you are pampered! The massage was so awesome! You need to see Tamara, what healing hands. She is a pleasure to spend a day at the spa with! Great place!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elimrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGC-Exuma-LIFE, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Elimrod,

We will pass on your compliment to Tamara and hope to welcome you back soon.

All the best,

Sandra Grisham-Clothier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

People make a difference and the staff was
5 star all the way. The GM sandra was very involved with guests and her staff very responsive.
We enjoyed it all.
Some power outages we found to be annoying however all the rest was worth it.
The full day boat tour was tops.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank frankFlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGC-Exuma-LIFE, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Frank Flanders,

Thanks for being so kind and putting up with the power outages. The great new is Exuma seems to be back on track with the generating stations so power has been very good indeed.

Sincerely,

Sandra Grisham-Clothier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

After a week sailing we looked forward to a proper shower. Our 2 bed villa was HUGE and really well equipped. Golf carts fun. Wonderful position on the beautiful bay. The Palapa Grill is very good but the hotel will benefit from another restaurant and pool for variety. Being built at present. Couldn't fault the staff, all so lovely. To raise to a full five star hotel, would suggest robes in the room, a better Spa, water bottles available in the room and pool area. Spotless and clean, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rustsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGC-Exuma-LIFE, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Rustsarah,

Thank you for staying with us and completely agree with your comments. My bet you next stay you will find robs in the villas right now they are be request only but soon they will be placed in all villas. We will also be offer complmentary water for arrival and then it can be ordered for room deleiver there after.

O and our gift shop is being moved to the Sales office so we plan on offering a few more food offerings. Hurry back!

Sincerely,

Sandra Grisham-Clothier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Exuma
20.0 km away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#2 of 2 in Stocking Island
175 reviews
0.5 km away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
17.8 km away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 km away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 4 in George Town
309 reviews
17.9 km away
Exuma Beach Resort
Exuma Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in Great Exuma
104 reviews
1.7 km away
Paradise Bay Bahamas
Paradise Bay Bahamas
#1 of 15 in Great Exuma
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Isle Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Isle Resort & Spa

Address: Emerald Bay, Great Exuma
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range: $540 - $1,341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Isle Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Emerald Bay in Great Exuma, The Bahamas, Grand Isle Resort & Spa is a stunning ocean front resort. The exclusive gated community comprises 78 luxuriously appointed 1- to 4-bedroom villas that range from 1,250 sq. ft. to 5,200 sq. ft. and offer a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living area, high-end amenities, and extraordinary views. Getting around the resort is quick and convenient, as every villa is equipped with a personal golf cart. Grand Isle is one of the finest resorts in the Caribbean and is ideally suited for family holidays, romantic getaways, destination weddings and honeymoons, or for simply enjoying the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, seekda GmbH, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Isle Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Isle Resort And Spa
Grand Isle Hotel Great Exuma
Grand Isle Resort & Spa Great Exuma, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing