We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience The Olive Routes
from US$96.59
More Info
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
142
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
142
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews olive oil tasting olive trees amazing experience many ways greek culture kalamata castle tour traditional lunch grove oils knowledge factory region greece hospitality information peloponnese
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2021 via mobile

Our tour started off in the castle by meeting Dimitra. She was wonderful from the very beginning! She had a scavenger hunt ready for our 3 children and they found a "treasure" at the end. Then we headed to the olive oil factory production where she explained every single piece of the machinery and they produce the olive oil. Their equipment is top notch!
To end the tour we headed to a beautifully prepared room where we watched a special presentation about the importance of the oil to the Greek people and tasted different olive oils for quality. The best of oil we could trust Dimitra because she is part of the Association of judges that test oils for quality!!!
She was fantastic with our entire family! We also had an amazing lunch prepared by Georgia where we tried so many traditional Greek foods!
It was all delicious and we didn't want it end! We even had a chance to dance to some traditional music!
Thanks you for such and amazing experience!

Date of experience: June 2021
Thank 984adao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitra14052016, Ιδιοκτήτης at The Olive Routes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

It as a beautiful morning with your amazing family! The feeling was the same ...we didn't want it to end! Can't thank you enough and to see you again ❤

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2021 via mobile

Experiencing different varieties of olive oil, learning how the olives are farmed and how the oil is extracted.

Dimitra is a very experienced tour guide and professional olive oil taster. You get to see everything important to see from the tree to the bottled oil in a family owned business.
At the end there is a great guided testing and delicious lunch.

We took the 4 hour tour and time flew by very fast! It is totally worth it!

Date of experience: June 2021
Thank Namessuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitra14052016, Ιδιοκτήτης at The Olive Routes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your visit and your kind review❤❤❤! We are glad that you enjoyed the tour and learned a lot! It was a pleasure meeting you☺

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2021

On a recent trip to Messinia, I wanted to learn about olive growing and olive oil making. I came across The Olive Routes and booked the Olive Grove Tour. It's way more than just an olive grove tour. As described, it includes a tour of a centuries-old castle in Androusa followed by a tour of the olive grove and then the olive mill. The experience ends with a presentation and light meal.

To start, it was easy to get in touch with Dimitra. She met us near the castle and led us on a "treasure hunt" where we learned about the history of the castle and olives in the region and in Greece. Only my husband and I were on this tour, so we were able to ask a lot of questions. Dimitra is very knowledgeable!!

We then went to the family's olive grove where we were able to start waking up our noses and taste buds for olive oil tasting. She showed us the family's olive trees, fruit trees, almond trees, and herb and vegetable garden. Dimitra shared some stories about their relationship with olives.

Next we took a tour of the olive mill. We really wish we had come during the harvest, which is later in the fall and in the winter. Afterwards, we walked over to the old mill where their family began making olive oil. She gave us presentation and really helped us learn how to differentiate types of olive oil, how to taste, and how to rate them. Dimitra is a true expert!! She also showed us how to pair olive oil with food. That way probably my favorite part.

Overall it was truly a wonderful experience. It gave us a chance to get more in touch with Greek culture and really the culture and business built around olive oil. The experience we had was much more than we expected. It wasn't just tasting olive oil. You really learn all about olive oil and how important it has been to Greece throughout history and now. I highly recommend this experience to anyone willing to learn and explore. We intend to go again on our next trip.

Date of experience: June 2021
Thank curielbrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitra14052016, Διευθυντής at The Olive Routes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

It was a great pleasure meeting both of and introducing you to our olive culture ❤. Thank you so much for making this experience memorable for us also☺. Hope to see you again ❤❤

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2021 via mobile

If you’re thinking about doing this tour then odds are it’s because you have done similar food tours before.
But that is not really true because this tour is absolutely different. At first glance you think you are going to taste olive oil and learn how it is made. But the event quickly becomes much more than that. It becomes an opportunity to taste, feel, explore and gain new insights into olives and oils and all the foods that might go with them.
If you like to cook, or just eat, this tour will follow you the rest of your life.
That’s because it becomes clear that
most olive oils are not created equally and you won’t want to settle for anything less than you deserve. You will learn to analyze oil as if you are a budding sommelier.
Dimitirá will take you on a journey you didn’t know you needed.
How do you know how old a tree is? You could google the answer but that would take away all the fun.
Let dimitirá demonstrate the answer.
It will be one moment out of hundreds that will have you smiling all day.

Thank johnkO4776UZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitra14052016, Ιδιοκτήτης at The Olive Routes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2021

Greatful for having the opportunity to share our knowledge and passion for our land with you❤❤
Thank you so much for this amazing review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2021

Fantastic, amazing, extremely interesting! Dimitra is a great guide - very optimistic, open, friendly. Her good energy influences the whole group. In the same time, she is very professional and she knows everything about olive oil. It was the best experience ever!

Date of experience: September 2020
Thank 711karolinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews