We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barley Bree
Nearby Hotels
Murraypark Hotel(Crieff)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gleneagles(Auchterarder)
US$522
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$236
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comrie Hotel(Comrie)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cromlix(Kinbuck)
US$668
US$533
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Old Churches House Hotel(Dunblane)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
183
29
7
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
183
29
7
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstart tatinwine listhomemade breadfor sunday lunchmelt in the mouthroast beefpetit fourssea basssuperb fooddining experiencefirst classcomfortable bedlovely mealpuddingshower roomdining rooma wonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Oh my goodness! The dining experience in Barley Bree was stupendous. The staff friendly and welcoming and the three course meal, with an extra mini starter served delightfully in an expresso cup were taste sensations so delicious I savoured every mouthful. I could have cried that we were not staying in their beautiful rooms upstairs and instead had booked in and already paid for the Hydro, a tired Victorian hotel in nearby Crieff. I had the duck main meal and husband had lamb. Served artistically beautiful plates of yummy food. Delicious, delightful ambience, lighting and surroundings. Definitely would like to return and I will dream about staying there.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ACDarling77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Owner at Barley Bree, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2016

So pleased you enjoyed your meal and hope that you do manage to return to stay sometime - we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016

Had lunch at Barley Bree as a treat a few Saturdays ago. It is a lovely old Coaching Inn with tasteful decor and a quiet relaxing atmosphere. They have a varied menu with a mix of French/Scottish dishes. We enjoyed soup and lovely home made bread as a starter followed by a melt in the mouth Beef Bourguignon. Very tasty. No sweets although they sounded delicious. Finished with coffee and petit fours. Food was good quality, beautifully presented and service was very efficient, lovely well mannered staff. Stayed here for a night a few years ago and can recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StirlingshireMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Owner at Barley Bree, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2016

Thank you so much for your kind review - it means a lot to the whole team here - who work hard to make sure every guest is looked after - merci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Arrived at the Barley Bree on Saturday just before 2pm not really sure what to expect as we were going to book the Hydro in Crieff but it was full. Really glad we chose this instead! The staff were friendly and efficient, the room was really nice and we had a late lunch which was lovely in the restaurant next to the log fire. We got a great nights sleep on a very comfortable bed and Muthill is so quiet had the window wide open.
Lovely breakfast the next morning and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K3363ZDjayc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Owner at Barley Bree, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2016

Thank you so much - we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016

We had a lovely overnight stay at the Barley Bree this week. We mistakenly entered through the restaurant door instead of the front door and although the waitress was busy she graciously showed us to the reception.
The large bed was very comfortable and the room pleasant.
The best part was the food - the quality of the food at dinner and breakfast was outstanding.
We are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016

From the outside, this restaurant cum pub with rooms is not endearing. Not only is the exterior stone and paintwork a bit tired, the white windowsills outside have not been cleaned for an eternity.
However, inside things look up!
A thoughtfully designed couple of dining rooms provide a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. Delicious bread was served and my wife enjoyed her salmon whilst my veal cheek was an occasional but delightfully unctuous treat for me.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews