We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$124
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burt's Hotel(Melrose)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$131
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Station Hotel(Melrose)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$118
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$112
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Selkirk)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$83
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Hotel(Selkirk)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$98
US$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
125
59
15
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
59
15
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteak pievaried selectionromantic breakexcellent menumeringuewedding partyvery comfortable roomreal alehigh tealovely hotelshort breaklog firefantastic foodcaravan sitehome madewarm welcomewell worth a visit
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2016

Got a very warm welcome from the lovely Peter. Carried my bags etc couldn't have been more attentive. The heating had been put on so the room was warm and cozy.The room (12) was beautiful and immaculate, with comfy bed, Emma Bridgewater mugs and a box of..surprise...home made shortbread. Maybe feather pillows? Oh please a bigger tele.
Delicious breakfast, great smoked bacon and local sausages. Many thanks .

Room Tip: Mine was on the front overlooking the road, didn't bother me.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoSutherland, Owner at Carfraemill, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2016

Thanks Pat, it's lovely of you to have taken time to review us. I passed your comments on to Pete, he'll be pleased to have made an impression! If you'd like a feather pillow next time you stay, please call ahead to arrange - we can't have feather as standard given allergies of many folk to feathers. Also, thanks re the TVs - we'll definitely go bigger at our next upgrade.

Thank you

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2016

Had a lovely evening, super staff with character and smiles right from our arrival.
Met up with friends for a delicious meal and wine, was good to catch up, look forward to visiting again, thank you so much.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank andreataylforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoSutherland, Owner at Carfraemill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2016

Thank you so much for posting this review, it makes us very happy to hear all of your comments, especially those around the staff (we think they are super too!).

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2015

Called in for breakfast whilst working in the area. Lovely breakfast with very friendly service. Go for the full Scottish breakfast, well worth it. Highly recommend a visit if you happen to be in the area

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jamesssn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Spent last Sunday with an absolutely first class picnic hamper from Carfraemill. The hotel's staff were charming and delighted to answer any of our requests. Bubbles, cold meats, fish, salads, coffee, the works! We took our supplies up the farm road behind the hotel and enjoyed a magical afternoon in the late summer sunshine. The views were as beautiful as the food.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Angus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2015

I have stopped for food at this Hotel many times travelling back and forth to Northumberland, the food has always been excellent. This time I had had a long day and was tired whilst driving south so I asked if they had a room. The room I got was a very clean, well appointed double room. The bed was comfortable and the room warm.
After dinner I stayed in the dining room to read, by 10:30 I was the only person in the hotel! A little strange, but not a problem.
Breakfast was excellent. All in all I had a very nice impromptu stay. I will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PeterHAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews