We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
41
1
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
1
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water bottles bottle of wine wonderful hosts course meal cycle trip next morning train du nord trail his wife gas fireplace private lake local strawberries b and b first stop mont laurier diane guy porch
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Guy and Diane were both welcoming and kind hosts from the moment we arrived. They had a nice cold glass of water with lime waiting for us on their beautiful deck after a hot 55km ride on the Petit du Nord. Guy froze our water bottles and stored our cold items in the fridge overnight, and we found them outside on the deck ready to go the next morning. He told us where to go to get a bottle of wine to complement our phenomenal 4 course meal, that Diane prepared from scratch. Before dinner we had time to visit a little lake just a 5 minute walk behind the house, where we cooled off. There were several places to sit in the yard, on the decks to enjoy the evening as well. Finally, Diane prepared a delicious and full breakfast so we were ready to hit the trail fully energized. To top off this great stay, Diane shared her yummy zucchini soup recipe. This B and B is a spot you don't want to miss. Would visit again in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ksn777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

We stayed here as our first stop on the Petit Train du Nord cycle trip. We arrived soaking wet because it had rained all day. Guy and Diane immediately took all our clothes to the dryer, brought tea, sat us in the large family room and turned on the gas fireplace to warm us up. The gorgeous house has a huge screened porch with lots of seating. Diane gave me a blanket and slippers so I could sit on the porch with my tea. The supper was superb: Cream of vegetable soup, shrimp and pork wontons, stuffed chicken breast with garden vegetables, shortbread with local strawberries -- all homemade and all wonderfully presented. Breakfast was also unique and plentiful. Exceedingly welcoming, helpful. Our room was very large, beautifully decorated, excellent shower. But what made this B and B unique from all others that I have used thru the years, is that there are so many large common areas that you are invited to use; the enormous porch, the family room with fireplace, the dining room, the breakfast room. It would have been lovely to stay there the whole day instead of cycling on in the morning.

Date of stay: July 2017
1  Thank MV58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Relaxed perfection. The warm welcome, the astonishingly good food, the private lake, the iced water bottles, the Band Aid box, the herbal tea box, the duct tape Fitbit emergency repair that lasted all week...all fabulous.

Proof of excellence beyond all these wonderful reviews? Our children loved this place and our hosts so much they made the unprecedented, unprompted move of leaving their own pocket money to show their gratitude! Thank you for everything Guy and Diane.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank TheFamilyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Guy met us as we rode our bikes into his lodging. The owners are outstanding hosts. Our dinner here was delicious. Some of the vegetables came from their garden. This is a wonderful place to stay while biking Le Petit Train Du Nord!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Won't find a better B&B experience anywhere!This place has everything-lots of character and convenience,excellent meals and wonderful,gracious hosts.Make sure you take a dip in the private lake out back!

Date of stay: September 2016
Thank cgd729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews