We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“peaceful getaway!”

Review of The Blair

The Blair
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Blair
View from The Blair with patio area in corner of the garden. Cosy double ground floor bedroom.  Bedlinen and curtains would be changed for male guests.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
The Blair
View from The Blair with patio area in corner of the garden.
Cosy double ground floor bedroom.  Bedlinen and curtains would be changed for male guests.
The Living room at The Blair with working wood burning stove.
Living room
Kitchen
Kitchen and dining area
Bathroom
Over the bath shower
Two single sofa chairs on landing
Twin upstrairs bedroom cosy room with TV.
Summer House and relaxing hammock with chiminea looking out over beautiful view.  See picture below.
View from The Blair
Shore line at Portgordon 2 miles from The Blair. Look out for the seals who bask every day.
The friendly neighbours -  enquisitive and welcoming!
View up to the hills
Shoreline at Portgordon.  Look out for the seals!
Leafy private lane leading to The Blair
The local Mill House bar and restaurant open to non residents for the nights you dont want to cook.
Last look from The Blair.  Hope to see you again!
The Moray Firth looking over to the Black Isle.
Surrounding The Blair
The Blair, and your neighbours!
Fancy a stroll?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Buckie, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lindsey G
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“peaceful getaway!”
Reviewed 18 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

A well appointed cottage with all mod cons, but in a really peaceful location with lady cows grazing in the fields. Maureen has provided a home away from home that is restful and comfy. Great beaches, forests and restaurants nearby, so not short of things to do!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2017
Aw thanks folks, I'm so pleased you liked my wee hoosie and that you enjoyed your stay and found plenty to do when you wanted to and yet was able to relax and enjoy watching the girls in the field! Thank you for your custom and maybe see you again at The Blair.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveR67D...
durham
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Visit No. 4”
Reviewed 9 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What can I say about The Blair that I haven't already said?

The moment you drive up the lane to the 'Wee Cottage' you feel like you are home.
This is the fourth time we have been and have already booked up for trip five.

The Blair is the ideal location for visiting the Morayshire area as it is located in the centre of everything, yet is still secluded enough to allow peace and quiet. The only neighbours of note are the cows in the field next to the house, and they only come for a visit now and again.

I have to admit the peace and tranquility of the cottage was broken this time. There was a influx of 'visitors', there was deer, rabbits, a peregrine falcon and a eagle, as well as the cows.
Such a problem I would love to have at home.

The cottage has had new windows fitted and Maureen has had a outbuilding (shed is not doing it justice) built near the back door so hikers can leave their wet clothes outside to dry, or you could put your bikes under cover while you were not using them. I good idea to keep everything safe and dry.

As I said, trip four completed, trip five booked, I am hoping that when you get to ten you get a free week (joking Maureen)

Counting down the weeks to the next visit 'home' to The Blair

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It's always a pleasure to see you at The Blair and I'm delighted you love it as much as I do. The wild life is such a bonus isn't it. Glad my new windows and outhouse meet your approval ha ha. I'll have to see what I can think up for the tenth visit!! See you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janr0bert...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Another fantastic stay”
Reviewed 9 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have just spent another idyllic week at The Blair. This beautiful little cottage is nestled in the countryside and is a great little getaway. There is lots of wildlife to see and this has been the best yet for spotting wildlife including a peregrine falcon sitting on the fence. There were deer, badgers, and a red squirrel as well as the most beautiful eagle. I couldn't believe it I had carried my camera everywhere and as we were only popping to Keith for some fuel didn't take it and there was this gorgeous eagle so folks keep a camera with you at all times. The cottage has everything you could possibly need as well as the little extras Maureen the owner always leaves and a special thanks for the birthday cake for Steves 50th and the balloons it was a lovely surprise. Maureen always goes out of her way to make sure we have a lovely time we already have trip number 5 booked and can't wait to be back. The Blair really is a home from home.
Thanks again Maureen see you in September.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2017
Oh didn't you do well with seeing all the wild life. Shame about not having the camera! It's always a pleasure to have you and your lovely little doggies to stay at The Blair. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay again and enjoyed celebrating the all important birthday! See you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janr0bert...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Idyllic stay at the Blair”
Reviewed 24 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This is our 3rd stay at the Blair and as usual it was excellent.Maureen is a wonderful host caring and helpful.The cottage has everything you could possibly need and on cold nights it's toasty and warm.We had a lovely trip to John o groats and we saw a whale as well as lots of other wildlife.We have stayed in several other cottages but must say the Blair is by far the best.Just looking forward to trip number 4.
Thanks again Maureen see you soon
Jan,Steve and our 4 furry friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2016
Aw it was great to see you all (including your 4 wee furry friends) again at The Blair and I'm delighted that you had a lovely time. Your lovely wee doggies make me smile when I think of them! I look forward to seeing you again at The Blair and am delighted that you feel so at home there.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendaCam...
cambridge uk
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“loved this little cottage”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

we loved this little cottage ..it was in the middle of fields with herd of cows for company.. excellent views.. cottage very homely, modern, clean, everything you could wish for including fresh flowers, cakes, milk, orange juice, butter, bottle of wine!! Maureen certainly looks after her guests..the bed was lovely so comfy and soft, it was hard to get up in the mornings..log burning stove made the evenings snug and cosy..huge tele, videos galore, and great cd,s to jig to while making breakfast! Loved it here and after reading guest book so does everyone else..will return here asap

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the homely atmosphere
Liked least: leaving to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for the lovely comments, I really appreciate them and makes it all worthwhile! When you come next time if you could let me know when you are Jigging making breakfast I will pop up past ha ha. Lovely to meet you and hopefully see you again at The Blair!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing