We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Short Autumn Break”
other travellers have booked this property
Cosy and Comfortable Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy and Comfortable Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Cosy and Comfortable Lounge
Dining room, easily seats six
Spacious Master Bedroom
With Kingsize and Single Beds
Double bedroom with feature fireplace
Picturesque and tranquil Findochty
There is always a warm welcome at Harbour Cottage
Dramatic coastal location
The harbour is still used by lobster fishermen
The stunning view from the private patio
Whisky distilleries within easy reach
North East coastline rated 11th in the world by National Geographic!
Fantastic sunsets over the Moray Firth
The castle trail is near by
Safe sheltered beach 5 minutes walk away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Buckie, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Short Autumn Break”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Property perfectly located on harbour's edge. Impeccably presented, clean and comfortable. Generous welcome pack which was most appreciated. Ideal for a relaxed stay or for guests who wish to avail themselves of the many attractions the Moray coast has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The harbour view.
Liked least: The absence of a hook on the back of the toilet door!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeNor...
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Only the Best”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We have visited this part of Scotland on several occasions and each time rented a cottage in the area. Without doubt, Harbour Cottage is the best yet. Our arrival went like "clockwork". The cottage was clean, tidy and warm, there was a welcome pack, things were briefly and sensibly explained - no lists of do's and don'ts, internet was free and there was a landline - mobile reception is not good. A summary would be, "It was like moving in to someone's home."

However, Harbour Cottage is not situated in Buckie, rather it is located in Findochty, which is a small coastal village about 3 miles along the coast from Buckie and in our opinion, far far nicer than Buckie. There are walks along the coast, heading either east and west, a local pub with restaurant, a small working harbour, which is also home a large number of yachts and small boats.

Now for the cooks amongst you. As a couple, tend to cook everything from scratch, rather than rely on packets, so our kitchen at home is pretty comprehensively equipped. Likewise, the kitchen at Harbour Cottage lacks nothing and there is even view, directly overlooking the harbour as well.

Finally, the separate Dining Room is yet another plus for Harbour Cottage.

If you are thinking of renting in area, then in our opinion, this is the cottage to choose.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2016
Thanks for your lovely review and for being such considerate guests. If you want to try something different next time you are in the area, you could always try our 'Coastal Cottage' - furnished and decorated to the same high standard, but very different in character.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucketlis...
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great cottage, perfect location”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our third visit to Harbour Cottage, staying for two weeks. We were blessed with wonderful weather which made our stay even more perfect. The cottage is clean, very comfortable and very well equipped. We slept well, thanks to the peace and quiet and a comfy bed. The shower is great too. The toys were a real bonus when my partner's grandson visited, as were the DVDs. The location of the cottage is excellent, right on the harbour. Sitting out enjoying a coffee or glass of wine watching boats come and go. Local people are very friendly and pleasant. The owners, Ishbel and Ian are lovely people, helpful and informative. We had a very nice welcome pack. We enjoyed visiting old haunts around Finechty, fishing in and off the harbour, lots of walks along the coast trail, visits to Lossiemouth and Spey Bat and our pilgrimage to Baxter's for a pancake! All in all a great return to Finechty, in a great cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay. You certainly were lucky with the weather. It has been amazing the last few weeks - hot and sunny nearly every day. Hope to see you both again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NisbetW
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A good house for large party”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The property was well equiped and maintained with a good view. Was good for sitting outside when the weather was suitable. Good walks around the village but a car needed for shopping.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View at back
Liked least: Step up to kitchen was difficult for my mother
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miss_eagl...
London, Canada
2 reviews
“Another great stay”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was our second time at Harbour Cottage, and yet again everything was perfect for our stay. The cottage is clean and well-equipped and has the bonus of having a box of toys for our young children to play with. The location is great, and staying mid-June it was lovely to be looking out over the harbour on the long summer's evenings. We definitely hope to stay again on our next trip to Findochty.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2016
Delighted you enjoyed your stay. The patio of Harbour Cottage is certainly a great place to be on the long summer evenings. Hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing