We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place, only the shower was not hot.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eight Mentigi Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 29 Tanah Rata B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed here for 1 night: RM90 for a double room with attached bathroom.
We liked the fact that we had to take out our shoes before we enter the guest house. Made the place really clean.
There was free wifi and tables/chairs at the courtyard where we could sit and enjoy the cool air. Parking was available too.
Our only grouse has to be the shower. It said 'Extra Hot' at the heater but it was not so at all. It was cold... only not as cold as the water from the tap! Brrr

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LL721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suresh S, Owner at Eight Mentigi Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us in Eight Mentigi. We regret to hear about your issues with the shower heater. There have been some problems with some older model heaters and we are in the midst of upgrading them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 145 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

Quite near to the Tanah Rata bus station, located bit inside from the main road. The staff are helpful and nice. A bit overpriced for a RM 80 double bed with an attached bathroom tough, as there is no breakfast provide. Coffee/ tea available for RM 2, and self serviced.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Centravanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

When we arrived into Tanah Rata my girlfriend was feeling very ill from the windy bus journey and Eight Mengiti couldn't have done more to accommodate us. We were checked in quickly with an en-suite bathroom and they helped us to plan our time in the Cameron Highlands.
We found our room to be very clean and the hostel conveniently located for getting around Tanah Rata. The communal area with tea and coffee available was great for getting to meet other travellers. We went on a tour organised by the guest house which was a very good day. Arguably they tried to pack too much into one day, but the tea fields and the mossy forest were beautiful and our tour guide was very knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seanspacifica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I stayed in the 6 bed dorm which was good for the cheap price. Main concern is that there is only 1 toilet/shower for 10 beds (rooms are ensuite). There is another 1 toilet/shower in the annexe but you have to go through the lobby and terrace.
Staff were friendly and helpful and there is a nice lounge with TV. When I stayed, there was particularly a good atmosphere among guests. They sell drinks for really correct price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 90JDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

nice place, clean, basic, helpful staff, calm and quiet. Two sitting areas inside and two outdoors, free wifi and reasnoble prices.
wish: indoor heating

Room Tip: check bathroom when choosing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tanah Rata hotels
0.1 km away
The Mentigi
The Mentigi
#6 of 13 in Tanah Rata
24 reviews
0.1 km away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#8 of 13 in Tanah Rata
343 reviews
0.6 km away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Father's Guest House
Father's Guest House
#2 of 29 in Tanah Rata
1,011 reviews
0.7 km away
Gerard's Place
Gerard's Place
#3 of 29 in Tanah Rata
600 reviews
0.2 km away
CH Travellers Inn
CH Travellers Inn
#8 of 29 in Tanah Rata
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eight Mentigi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Mentigi Guesthouse

Address: No 8 & 8A, Jalan Mentigi, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Tanah Rata
Price Range: $30 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Eight Mentigi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
8 Mentigi Guesthouse
Eight Mentigi Guesthouse Hotel Tanah Rata
Eight Mentigi Guesthouse Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing