We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
Cameron Highlands Resort(Tanah Rata)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strawberry Park Resort(Tanah Rata)
US$79
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$26
Travelocity
View Deal
Hotel De' La Ferns(Tanah Rata)
US$61
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$48
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Mentigi(Tanah Rata)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillview Inn(Tanah Rata)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
59
97
69
49
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
97
69
49
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbala's chaletafternoon teaenglish cottageenglish teamain buildingamerican breakfastbeautiful gardenenglish stylereading roomtanah rata townnathanfireplaceflowersenvironmentlodgingtudordevelopment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2012

After reading some reviews on Bala's Holiday Chalet we were worried on what to expect. But we found the place nice and comfortable.Of course the house and the garden are really beautiful. The rooms inside were ok, and the view from the window great.
We also have an indian dinner there and the food was good. What I did not find so good was the service. Not very friendly.
To have breakfast outside in the garden was very nice, specially if you eat the strawberries that you picked the day before!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarCisIgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Our family stayed for three days and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Staying here is like stepping back in time to the colonial days when this building was used as a school.
It may not be to everyone's taste, it is not 5 star luxury, but we loved the quirkiness and faded grandeur. Taking tea and scones on the terrace one could be in 1950's England, except for being surrounded by lush tropical vageatation and flowers.
The staff were well meaning and, in the main, friendly, and the experience was akin to being a house guest at a country home.
We loved it and thought it was very good value for money

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rabannic07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I was not expecting much when I went to Bala's. The building is massive and the grounds are beautiful. However, the rooms need an uplift as the interior are all old and well worn. There is a slight musky smell. Clearly the whole place needs to be refurbished, cleaned up and needs new bedding and carpeting. The service is fast and efficient but needs to be a bit more friendly. Breakfast was very pricey and was not value for money. The breakfast in other resorts may be more expensive but at least the food served was of better quality. We did not have a good night sleep because we could hear people walking around their rooms and talking in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coolchique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Don’t go!!!!

Expensive!!!!

The walls, ceiling are full of fungus and moss.

The Sheets smell really bad and got blood stains.

Toilet also is full of fungus and moss.

The room is dark and scary.

I booked for two days, and up running away on the first day, careful if u pay in advance they don’t do refunds.

Cameron has many nice but Bala's Holiday Chalet is not one..

STAY AWAY…

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NoellKailas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Balas is a pretty building in a good location, because it's up a small track away from the busy main road. The dining room with log fire is nice and the whole old world atmosphere is a trip. The owners must be very busy and overworked, but we just really wished for some service with a smile, and a bit more flexibility on their part.
The unrenovated rooms are quite damp and the carpets are not ideal for that kind of weather. Clean, with comfortable though small beds.
If you need a taxi, ask them to call Mr Ingara - he's very good.

Room Tip: We saw a couple of newly renovated rooms (called suites or cottages) and they looked really nice. Wooden floors, no carpets, nice furniture. Would definitely ask for one of those.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sonford24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews