We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING GROUNDS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant
Reviewed 4 October 2017

My fiance and I stayed at Bala's for 3 days and 2 nights. The grounds are BEAUTIFUL - we took our engagement photos here! Service is good, and the property is very quiet and serene - it's off the main road and situated on top of a private road. Accomodation is very comfortable and clean / as pictured. Wifi is intermittent though.

It took us about 2.5 hours to get to Bala's from Ipoh airport by Taxi, but that was on a Sunday, when the traffic down and up the mountain was really bad. Our journey back took around 1.5-2 hours. The location is also very convenient -- 5 minute drive to the nearby town which has lots of good eateries, a 20 min drive to Barat's tea plantation, and about 35-40 minutes to the Mossy Forest.

Bala himself came round to welcome us when we checked-in. He's a great guy! We were also served lunch in the garden. It was heavenly! Their Indian food is great =)

DEFINITELY staying here again if we visit Cameron again in the future!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank happycatfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017

Bala's Chalet is a beautiful old colonial property established in 1934 a British school. the property is preserved and maintained well with the interiors and decor matching the style and elegance of the British times. We stayed at the Family suite for 2 days.

Rooms & Service - Rooms are spacious , nicely done up and go with the ambiance and beautiful weather. Our Room had dampness and hence corrective action there is required. Service was with a smile , no complains there. Staff went out of the way to help us on different fronts regarding bus , cabs etc. Though Staff could use a little grooming , especially at the reception . It just adds to the appeal of the place , good first impressions always help. Internet speed is decent enough for basic use.

Location & Food - The place is at a hill top and gives beautiful views and serene gardens. It is centrally located with Tanah Rata within 10 mins cab ride. You can call cabs from the reception. The restrn is active and chefs are willing to cook any special meals as per your preference. We just had breakfasts here - food is decent , and relative to prices in Cameron a little pricey.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend Bala's Chalet . We met the owner as well who is keenly looking into the comfort and quality of stay of their guests. He seemed approachable and one can have a good conversation about the place and its history !

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Prateek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Planters for two days, exploring the surrounding highlands. The hotel is situated just 1 mile (1,5km) from town. It is nice and quiet. It's an easy walk to the town, but there is also a complementary transfer to town.

The room was spacious and authentic in relation to the building. The bathrooms on the other hand were modern, which was odd and not coherent with the style of the building.

Everything was very clean and well organized. We were situated in rooms JT2 and JT3. Wifi was good, plenty of charging-outlets.

Really enjoyed our stay here. The weather was a bit gloomy, so we could not enjoy the gardens.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank mvwijland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

The place is very nice. English house with nice garden...now when it comes to the tea it was disappointing to find not well prepared tea in a touristic city based on tea plantations. I live in a country never colonized by the British and the tea service is way better. Perhaps I just had bad luck with my complete tea... too pricy for what you get. I don't want to lie but I guess that they even had the secons or the cakes frozen and they worm it when they have customers ( just guessing I have no proofs).

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mariano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shyamala S, Public Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Thank you for your comments, we value your feedback. We are extremely suprised you had been served a below standard tea & scones set. All our scones are baked freshly daily. If you come back this way again we shall be most happy to serve you once again complimentary. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

The hotel itself is beautiful and located hill top but a lot of things need to improve in order to match the value for price, there is no value for price paid such :-
1. Towels have only 2 pcs instead no face towel and towel to wipe hand after use tiolet.
2. Water pressure very very slow
3. Customers service poor
4. No fire extinguishers around room walkway or signs to indicate
5. No intercom or telephone in room
6. No tooth brush and paste
7. Old tube type TV
8. Only 1 power point to charging
9. WiFi router have but no electric supply and signal

The building is awesome but lack of facilities to match value for price, unless the management improve all above the hotel is wonderful place to stay. I'm very sad to choose this hotel and my family too.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Anudass V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shyamala S, Public Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Thank you for your lovely feedback. It was a pleasure having you all stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanah Rata
0.7 km away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#5 of 13 in Tanah Rata
803 reviews
5.3 km away
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
1.0 km away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 13 in Tanah Rata
522 reviews
0.8 km away
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
#4 of 13 in Tanah Rata
152 reviews
1.1 km away
Cameron Highlands Resort
Cameron Highlands Resort
#1 of 13 in Tanah Rata
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Lot 55 | Cameron Highlands, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia (Formerly Bala's Holiday Chalet)
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Tanah Rata
Price Range: $79 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bala`s Holiday Chalet Hotel Cameron Highlands
Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing