We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$217
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/11/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$217
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/11/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$197
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/11/21
Hotels.comUS$217
Official HotelUS$217
PricelineUS$217
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,893)
Filter reviews
1,893 results
Traveller rating
1,025
572
203
56
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,025
572
203
56
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course spa village gonbei restaurant tea bath high tea afternoon tea jim thompson tea room the main road pangkor laut road noise cameron highlands japanese restaurant trail walk ytl group colonial hotel steamboat restaurant colonial feel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,263 - 1,268 of 1,893 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I've stayed in several hotels which claim to have five-star service but this one really fulfills it. From the greetings when we first arrived to the attentiveness of the servers and even the food and beverage manager, the service was impeccable and first class. The rooms were excellent as well, well-kept and maintained and very spacious. Sure, its pricey but worth every cent. Dont bother with the other hotels. This is by far the best.

Date of stay: December 2012
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Seto88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilario B, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort. Thank you very much for your excellent review, we are really pleased we furfill your expectation by delivering our personlaized service during your holiday. We would like to thank you for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kindly regards
Ilario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

The resort itself is a remarkable property and very well maintained, though quite pricey. It has a very nice ambience and does feel like old colonial place with all the decor, nice music around and very well trained and attentive staff. A must visit in the Cameron Highlands.

The rooms and beds are what you would expect from a world class 5-star hotel - excellent. View from the window is outright stunning. However, enjoying it with the open window, as one should in such a beautiful place, is hardly an option. Road in front of the hotel is quite busy day and night, with very noisy traffic. I felt very strange: picture outside (trees, hills and serene golf course) was a total disconnect with the traffic noise as good as in the city at times! I understand there is nothing hotel can do about it, but it was a real turn down for me. The whole area is being developed and a lot of big scale construction is going on around, so expect the noise and traffic to get only worse ;(

Food served in the hotel is okay at best and definitely too pricey for what you get, definitely not recommended. Except for desserts - those where good.

Spa is quite nice, with the local touch of tea bath, and a good choice after a day of jungle trekking!

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrigoryKuznetsov
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilario B, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort. Thank you very much for your feedback which we do take them very serious as opportunity for improuvment, we are really sorry to have not furfill your expectations concerning your dining experience in our restaurants. We would like to thank you for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kindly regards
Ilario Botta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed here again in December 2011. This has always been my choice of hotel whenever I am there. The price is on the higher side BUT the service is second to NONE as far as I am concerned. I love all YTL hotels. We had 3 rooms and all the rooms were very well maintained, we were very well looked after. Their attention to details was superb. We ate their afternoon tea sets which we loved. Had dinner at their Japanese restaurant, did have a little tummy upset but not sure if its from there. The next morning, their head Captain asked casually about our dinner and I mentioned it briefly (but I didnt complained). The next thing we had their Resort Manager attending to us on this issue and have a discounted bill on the dinner, which we really did appreciate. All in all, its your way above average hotel. Every YTL hotel I stayed lived up to their own standard. First class in service. Great food. Flawless rooms. Detailed attention to every guest's needs. At the end of every trip, you will feel happy, contented and wanting to return to their resort in the next trip.

The resort itself is beautiful and classic. I have been to many beautiful hotels but sometimes, service fail them. Here, service is at it's top class all the way.

Highly recommended.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kate66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilario B, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort. Thank you very much for your excellent review, we are really pleased we furfill your expectation by delivering our personlaized service during your holiday. We would like to thank you for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kindly regards
Ilario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Rooms are spacious, nice bed, good light. Common areas are quite inviting, two fireplaces, library, full size snooker table at the bar area (although a bit warped at one end). 2 restaurants, the Japanese is a bit disappointing. The main dining is very good. Not 5 star, but nothing disappointed. A little pricey. Wine list, on the surface, looked adequate, but a quarter of the selections were out of stock. Breakfast was good, but erratic with regard to when things would come out. Staff were extremely pleasant, but undertrained. Restaurant manager was a stand out, very good. On the other hand service was hit or miss - one could die of thirst tring to get a drink from the bar. Spa services a bit disappointing.

The only negatives are that rooms look out over parking lot and main road, the latter is noisy at night with motorcycles passing. No wifi in rooms.

With regard to area, there isn't much besides hiking. The strawberry farms are abundant and equally boring. The boh tea tour is 5 min long and took 45 min to get back from in traffic. Golf course is ok, but nothing special.

Date of stay: December 2012
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank rmk029
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilario B, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort. Thank you very much for your feedback which we do take them very serious as opportunity for improuvment, we are really sorry to have not furfill your expectations 100%. We would like to thank you for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kindly regards
Ilario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Me and family arrived at CHR on 25th, we spent 4 nights there.

Prior to the arrival, I’ve read many reviews of this resort and hence had high expectations on it.

Upon arrival, I tried my luck for early check-in at 930am and was quite surprised that the room was ready as I was told 24th night was fully booked.
There was a short introduction about the facilities in the resort before we were usher to our room.

Deluxe room - The room is spacious and clean with a balcony, except for 1 day, it wasn’t properly cleaned. Before we were out in the morning, the floor was dusty and when we were back in the afternoon, it was still dusty on the same spot. The room is make up in the morning and turn down in the evening. On the 1st evening, we were out with the bin full of waste and we expected it to be cleared when the housekeeper turn down the room but it wasn’t. The noise level from road is quite bad as me and hubby were awoke by the vehicles DAILY during our stay, as all rooms are facing the main road hence, there’s nothing could be done. The back of the resort is forest, the resort should at least install mosquito net to the window. As my boy was bitten 14times on his face in 1 night and the next day the bites were worsen, it swelled. There isn’t any in-house doctor and luckily we were returning to Singapore on that day.

Bathroom - The toilet is kind of small with no more than 2 adults in it and the wall near the sink is mouldy with few dead insects on each side.The amenities provided were decent, 2 brands of Shampoo/Conditioner and Shower Gel were given (Crabtree & Evelyn and House brand), it was not replenished daily. Once, the shower gels were out and the housekeeper threw away the bottles but with no replacement. It happened to the bottled drinking water, it was not replenished all the time which I’ve to call and request.

Food & Beverages:-

English High Tea @ Jim Thompson – The varieties weren’t much (3tiers of 2 types of sandwiches, 4 tarts and 3 scones & strawberries), scone was good. Tea was diluted (should have 2 teabags with that teapot size).

Breakfast – Food was ok but lack of varieties if guest was to stay more days.

Dinner @ Dining Room – Lobster bisque was too salty, we couldn’t drink without having it with plain bread. In between our meal, Ong (the staffer) asked if everything was ok so we feedback that the soup was too salty. Awhile later, he returned and informed us the soups ordered will be removed from the bill which caught our surprise. We had steaks and with that price tag, we were disappointed with the kind of quality. The meat doesn’t taste fresh. For dessert, we had chocolate lava cake and it was fantastic. It was crowded on that day, perhaps the servers were overwhelmed. The service wasn’t as good as breakfast. We had ran out of water and had to inform the waiter couple of times and also every table was given a basket of bread but ours was left out. We had to request couple of times too as we couldn’t drink the soup without it.

Spa Village – We had the couple treatment, was told tea bath 15mins, body massage 80mins and scalp massage 20mins. However, me and hubby had the same sentiment that the body and scalp massage were shorter by 10mins each treatment than the mentioned duration especially during the back massage, it was slip short. We do like the tea bath and the after treatment service (hot tea and oatmeal biscuit were served) but with the pricey treatment, we expected better.

Laundry – We went forest trekking and the shoes were covered with mud, we sent it for cleaning and it were F.O.C and it came back squeaky clean. However, on the next day hubby sent his White sweater for cleaning, it came back with patches of blue stains. We were offered compensation thou but it’s useless as that was a gift from me for Xmas and it is no longer available. Although the laundry service is provided by external party, the resort should ensure professional service at all times.

Overall, I would say thumbs up for all staffs (bellhop to Manager) in CHR for their attitude as each and every one is willing to go the extra miles to provide their best service. During our stay, we felt like a family and the warmth in them. We will definately return to this resort, even my 9yrs old boy enjoyed his stay. However, the cleaning/serving part could be better with consistency. Hopefully, the management could do something to the noise from the main road and install wifi in all rooms at the soonest. At the moment, guest could only access in the lobby.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EllaLeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilario B, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort. Thank you very much for your feedback which we do take them very serious as opportunity for improuvment, we are really pleased you enjoie your staying in our resort. We would like to thank you for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kindly regards
Ilario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews