We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful weekend in the Malaysian mountains” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cameron Highlands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cameron Highlands Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend in the Malaysian mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were there for the new year's long weekend and it was perfect! Service, food, decoration....everything. The resort exceeded my expectations and I will definitely be back soon.

RESORT: colonial house very beautifully decorated (with antique furniture) - spacious rooms, gym, spa, western/chinese restaurant and lobby/bar. Located in front of the golf, and 2 hours away from Ipoh airport (taxi will cost you 200myr). Close to the jungle/forest (walking distance), 20 min away with a taxi from BOH tea plantation (if no traffic). The hotel was very well decorated for the Christmas/New year holiday season.

FOOD: excellent a la carte Breakfast (pancake and waffles were excellent - see pictures), western lunch served at the bar/lobby (I tried the salad and pasta), nice afternoon tea (reasonably priced!), great steamboat at the Chinese restaurant for dinner (between 80-100 MYR per person including dessert).

SERVICE: awesome - staff was very friendly and helpful! Mr Gerard was particularly nice and patient, taking very well care of all the clients. For new year's eve, there was a live band and a countdown at the bar/lobby.The hotel organizes a (free) walk in the jungle for guests, with a guide (Mr Madi) who is very knowledgeable about the nature and local history.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amelie_Tomoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel_Olazo, Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Amelie_Tomoko,


Thank you for taking the time in writing your experience during your recent stay at Cameron Highlands resort.

I am glad to know that you had such and great time with us. I will definitely share your comments with my team specially to Gerard and Madi.

We look forward in welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Emmanuel L. Olazo
Executive Assistant Manager
Cameron Highlands Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    414
    145
    39
    23
See reviews for
329
629
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a slightly unfocused and delayed check in procedure I was happy to enter our two bed room suite. Like the rest of the hotel there everything is very well maintained and there is a clean, neutral airy feel most places. Single rooms are ok priced, but two bed rooms really expensive (but necessary in my case), so I was happy to learn that when you book "best awailable price" a free spa treatment for one person and a fixed dinner is included.

If I ever returned to this area I will very likely stay here again.

Joined the afternoon high tea, which can be recommended.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Under_many_stars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel_Olazo, Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Under_many_stars,


Thank you for taking the time in writing your experience during your recent stay at Cameron Highlands resort.

I am happy to know that your stay with us.

We look forward in welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Emmanuel L. Olazo
Executive Assistant Manager
Cameron Highlands Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

About 200 km from Kuala L. there is a beautiful place at Cameron Highlands, the Lakehouse, where you can spend holidays. The Hotel is really comfortable , food is good and service is great. It seems to be in Europe in winter time (no snow but pleasant temperature).You are surrounded by vaste tea plantations and you may also have the opportunity to pick strawberries direct from the plant. This is a nice experience!
You are really relaxed. Do not miss this journey.

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank marilde p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The quality of service is what sets the Cameron Highlands Resort apart: the best that we have had in Malaysia (we live here) and up there with the best in Asia. We stayed 4 nights over the Xmas period and it was a good choice: lots of decorations and a festive feel to the place...helps that the temperature is cool. The hotel has large and nicely decorated public rooms and is a very pleasant place to spend time. Pluses: delightful, stylish yet relaxed atmosphere; super food (by far the best that we tasted in the Highlands; very good breakfasts, afternoon tea excellent with fabulous strawberry jam, very good Xmas Eve dinner); spacious and comfortable rooms (note: no DVD player, so bring an HDMI cable to connect your computer if you want to watch movies etc.) with good quality toiletries etc.; lovely lounges, complete with a full size snooker table. Negatives: not many...we had a leak in our room and some areas may need a lick of paint but staff dealt with any issues smoothly. The gym is acceptable: several cardio machines, some cable weight machines and free weights...not air conditioned but it's generally cool enough for that to be acceptable. Do take advantage of the (free) Jim Thompson walk with Madi, who is a pleasant and knowledgeable guide: if you are there during the rainy season then go at 9am rather than 3pm. The Resort is an oasis in the rather over-developed Highlands...pretty constant traffic jams during weekends and public holidays and a rather depressing lack of control as apartment blocks and cheap stalls spring up along the poorly maintained single carriage roads. Be very careful on the roads leading up to the Highlands: the combination of many blind corners and local drivers is a hazardous one (we saw one accident and had a near miss). Overall it was a most enjoyable experience: a really well run hotel.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a fair way from the central area so request something close
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRainIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel_Olazo, Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear TheRainIn,


Thank you for taking the time in writing your experience during your recent stay at Cameron Highlands resort.

I am happy to know that you enjoyed our Jim Thomson trail, it is really informative and interesting.

We look forward in welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Emmanuel L. Olazo
Executive Assistant Manager
Cameron Highlands Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cameron Highlands resort is a beautiful resort in true colonial style. It is very tastefully decorated, and the atmosphere is very relaxed and pleasant. The room was quite spacious, although a bit worn down, and could use an update – with respect for the colonial style, of course. The service was impeccable – we had to check out very early because we had a boat to catch a long drive from the hotel, and the staff were very helpful with the booking of a car to pick us up, and even made sure that we had two bags with breakfast, juice and water for the ride – very thoughtful. We would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Line J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel_Olazo, Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Line J,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such wonderful comments following your experience at the Cameron Highlands resort dining room. It was a pleasure to read your kind words about the hotel as well as the service provided by our staff.

We have a lot of plans for improvement this year and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon to witness all the improvements!

Warm regards,
Emmanuel Olazo
Executive Assistant Manager
Cameron Highlands Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanah Rata
6.4 km away
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
0.8 km away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
2.2 km away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#6 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
2.2 km away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#5 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.1 km away
Parkland Hotel
Parkland Hotel
#1 of 8 in Brinchang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron Highlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron Highlands Resort

Property: Cameron Highlands Resort
Address: By the Golf Course, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Price range (per night): $209 - $515
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron Highlands Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst tea plantations and rolling hills, this boutique hideaway promises all the splendour, romance and nostalgia of Cameron Highlands’ grand colonial heritage.Tall French doors, timber-beamed ceilings and plantation shutters add colonial charm and a touch of nostalgia to our rooms.Enjoy a refreshing round of golf, a pink-cheeked ramble along jungle trails, or a leisurely walk through tea plantations and strawberry farms. To recover, you can have a cup of tea in the drawing room, or a tea bath at the Spa Village, or you may simply choose to spend the day curled up with a good book by the fireplace.Cameron Highlands Resort is situated on the largest hill retreat in Malaysia, surrounded by breathtaking scenery, lush greenery, rolling hills and Tudor-styled cottages. The luxurious boutique Resort features 56 beautifully-appointed rooms and suites, and fronts Cameron Highlands' 18-hole golf course. It also houses the third wellness centre of the award-winning Spa Village group, which offers exotic treatments focusing on the healing and restorative properties of tea. Located in the state of Pahang, approximately 200 kilometres north of Kuala Lumpur, Cameron Highlands is a beautiful holiday destination and the only place where you can find tea plantations and strawberries in Malaysia. At about 1,500 metres above sea level, it is the highest area on the mainland and enjoys a cool climate and fresh air, with temperatures ranging between 15° and 25° Celsius. Much of the character of the highlands remains unchanged since colonial times. It is endearingly known to some as the 'little corner of England in Asia'. The cool climate on the picturesque plateau and its surrounding hills and forest make this a popular retreat for golfing, jungle trekking and exploration of the many plantations and gardens. Cameron Highlands Resort is ideal all year round for families, honeymooners and holidaymakers out to satiate their appetites for trails, tales and tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Cameron Highlands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cameron Highlands Hotel Tanah Rata
Cameron Highlands Resort Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing