We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cameron Highlands Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hillview Inn(Tanah Rata)
US$20
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strawberry Park Resort(Tanah Rata)
US$88
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel De' La Ferns(Tanah Rata)
US$72
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$53
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
US$50
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$53
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Mentigi(Tanah Rata)(Great Value!)
US$29
US$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$26
Expedia.com
View Deal
Hotel BB Inn(Tanah Rata)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,500)
Filter reviews
1,500 results
Traveller rating
754
490
179
50
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
754
490
179
50
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursespa villagegonbei restauranthigh teaytl hotelsafternoon teathe main roadjim thompson tea roomroad noisepangkor lautcolonial stylehot towelscameron highlandsspa experiencedouble glazingcolonial hoteltrail walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 1,500 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Checked into the hotel today and discovered that our room view was obstructed. There are several rooms with a similar or worst view and that's all they could offer us. We paid full price for the room. The hotel design is obviously not through and the hotel was not transparent when the booking was made which is what you'd expect for a 5 star hotel. Please ask in future what view you will get otherwise you will feel as disappointed as we were. We were looking forward to a great view and lush greenery and got an orange roof instead.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank elisations123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel_Olazo, Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Dear elistations123,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments during your recent stay at Cameron Highlands resort.

I would like to apologize if you were not satisfied with the room we have given you. I will have it check and do the necessary to avoid misunderstanding in the future.

Sincerely,
Emmanuel L. Olazo
Executive Assistant Manager
Cameron Highlands Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We were there for the new year's long weekend and it was perfect! Service, food, decoration....everything. The resort exceeded my expectations and I will definitely be back soon.

RESORT: colonial house very beautifully decorated (with antique furniture) - spacious rooms, gym, spa, western/chinese restaurant and lobby/bar. Located in front of the golf, and 2 hours away from Ipoh airport (taxi will cost you 200myr). Close to the jungle/forest (walking distance), 20 min away with a taxi from BOH tea plantation (if no traffic). The hotel was very well decorated for the Christmas/New year holiday season.

FOOD: excellent a la carte Breakfast (pancake and waffles were excellent - see pictures), western lunch served at the bar/lobby (I tried the salad and pasta), nice afternoon tea (reasonably priced!), great steamboat at the Chinese restaurant for dinner (between 80-100 MYR per person including dessert).

SERVICE: awesome - staff was very friendly and helpful! Mr Gerard was particularly nice and patient, taking very well care of all the clients. For new year's eve, there was a live band and a countdown at the bar/lobby.The hotel organizes a (free) walk in the jungle for guests, with a guide (Mr Madi) who is very knowledgeable about the nature and local history.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Amelie_Tomoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel_Olazo, Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Dear Amelie_Tomoko,


Thank you for taking the time in writing your experience during your recent stay at Cameron Highlands resort.

I am glad to know that you had such and great time with us. I will definitely share your comments with my team specially to Gerard and Madi.

We look forward in welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Emmanuel L. Olazo
Executive Assistant Manager
Cameron Highlands Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

After a slightly unfocused and delayed check in procedure I was happy to enter our two bed room suite. Like the rest of the hotel there everything is very well maintained and there is a clean, neutral airy feel most places. Single rooms are ok priced, but two bed rooms really expensive (but necessary in my case), so I was happy to learn that when you book "best awailable price" a free spa treatment for one person and a fixed dinner is included.

If I ever returned to this area I will very likely stay here again.

Joined the afternoon high tea, which can be recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Under_many_stars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel_Olazo, Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Dear Under_many_stars,


Thank you for taking the time in writing your experience during your recent stay at Cameron Highlands resort.

I am happy to know that your stay with us.

We look forward in welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Emmanuel L. Olazo
Executive Assistant Manager
Cameron Highlands Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

About 200 km from Kuala L. there is a beautiful place at Cameron Highlands, the Lakehouse, where you can spend holidays. The Hotel is really comfortable , food is good and service is great. It seems to be in Europe in winter time (no snow but pleasant temperature).You are surrounded by vaste tea plantations and you may also have the opportunity to pick strawberries direct from the plant. This is a nice experience!
You are really relaxed. Do not miss this journey.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank marilde p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

The quality of service is what sets the Cameron Highlands Resort apart: the best that we have had in Malaysia (we live here) and up there with the best in Asia. We stayed 4 nights over the Xmas period and it was a good choice: lots of decorations and a festive feel to the place...helps that the temperature is cool. The hotel has large and nicely decorated public rooms and is a very pleasant place to spend time. Pluses: delightful, stylish yet relaxed atmosphere; super food (by far the best that we tasted in the Highlands; very good breakfasts, afternoon tea excellent with fabulous strawberry jam, very good Xmas Eve dinner); spacious and comfortable rooms (note: no DVD player, so bring an HDMI cable to connect your computer if you want to watch movies etc.) with good quality toiletries etc.; lovely lounges, complete with a full size snooker table. Negatives: not many...we had a leak in our room and some areas may need a lick of paint but staff dealt with any issues smoothly. The gym is acceptable: several cardio machines, some cable weight machines and free weights...not air conditioned but it's generally cool enough for that to be acceptable. Do take advantage of the (free) Jim Thompson walk with Madi, who is a pleasant and knowledgeable guide: if you are there during the rainy season then go at 9am rather than 3pm. The Resort is an oasis in the rather over-developed Highlands...pretty constant traffic jams during weekends and public holidays and a rather depressing lack of control as apartment blocks and cheap stalls spring up along the poorly maintained single carriage roads. Be very careful on the roads leading up to the Highlands: the combination of many blind corners and local drivers is a hazardous one (we saw one accident and had a near miss). Overall it was a most enjoyable experience: a really well run hotel.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a fair way from the central area so request something close
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRainIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel_Olazo, Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Dear TheRainIn,


Thank you for taking the time in writing your experience during your recent stay at Cameron Highlands resort.

I am happy to know that you enjoyed our Jim Thomson trail, it is really informative and interesting.

We look forward in welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Emmanuel L. Olazo
Executive Assistant Manager
Cameron Highlands Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews