We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$177
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Official HotelUS$177
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,902)
Filter reviews
1,902 results
Traveller rating
1,030
573
206
56
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,030
573
206
56
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course high tea afternoon tea ytl hotels jim thompson tea room the main road road noise cameron highlands pangkor laut resort japanese restaurant ytl group colonial feel strawberries steamboat dinner light sleeper hotel is beautiful f b
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,902 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2021 via mobile

I was displeased with the whole experience and I want to share this to whoever who is planning to book any travel with YTL travel, please think twice or take a necessary precaution else you will land into a scam from such a big organisation who doesn’t honour their words and at the end of the day you are being billed for a large sum and did not get the service/stay you paid for.

Last year my husband and I had a very pleasant experience from our stay at YTL Pangkor Laut Resort. So we decided to plan a stay with YTL Cameron Highlands Resort, during our short business visit. However, this round of experience especially with the YTL travel center was disheartening and has ruined the positive experience we had from our stay a year ago. We would think twice before booking a stay with them again, if ever. Below are the events that unfolded over the past few months and I wish that someone from YTL Leader/Owner investigate this further and not to shut your consumer by just hearing the fake information provided by their internal management (Mr Peter Wong/Director of YTL Travel Centre) and provide a credit which has no use to consumer anymore as the pandemic situation is not doing any better in Malaysia.

*March 5, 2021*
Made an online reservation and paid for 3 nights (March 21-24, 2021) stay at Cameron Highlands Resort. 

Side note: We were already in Cameron Highlands 3 days before, as I had a business meeting over at a different hotel (which we initially stay at).

*March 18, 2021*
While I was already in Cameron Highlands, we received a phone call from YTL travel center, notifying us that the hotel is closed to the dates we have booked for. An option was given for us to reschedule our stay with them. This was very frustrating for us as we had to make a booking with another hotel for our stay there. We tried to explain that we were not informed about the closure of their hotel and that they had no indication on their booking page that their resort was closed on the dates we wanted. As we did not receive the service we paid for, we requested a refund but were denied through their YTL travel agents. 

*March 19, 2021*
After several rounds of calls to the YTL travel center, we were finally redirected to their Director, Peter Wong. He was courteous enough to give us a call. Initially, Peter offered the same option to rebook our stay with them at any other of the YTL hotels which would be valid until December 2021. After explaining that my husband was only in the country for a few months and will not be able to benefit from their offer (given the unstable pandemic restrictions), he agreed to process the refund to us but said that it would take some time. We agreed to wait. 

*April 17, 2021*
After a month of wait, our payment was not recredited. My husband contacted Peter again to follow up on the situation. He replied that he did not know what happened to the form which he submitted to his auditor, and have resubmitted it again. We thanked him and continued to be patient. 

*May 19, 2021*
After waiting two months, I received an email from YTL Hotels stating that our refund has been rejected and was again offered to rebook a stay with them at another date. My husband tried contacted Peter to check what was happening to our agreed refund, he mentioned that his Senior VP (Luke Hurford) rejected our refund process. 

We fully understand and respect if YTL Hotels have a no refund policy if we made a reservation and the resort was open for business, but in this case, the hotel ALLOWED us to book on the dates we wanted knowing that their resort would be CLOSED without any information on their website on their closure. This is a matter of integrity and we are now their captive customers. If there is anyone you could speak to to help us retrieve our refund we would be truly grateful. We also hope that our disappointing encounter would shed some light on how their customer relation operations can improve. Below are the reservation details.

*Confirmation Number: XXXXXXX*
Book Date: March 5, 2021
Arrival: March 21, 2021
Departure: March 24, 2021
Total Stay: 3 Night(s)
Room Type: Deluxe Room King
Total Charge: MYR 2,432.52

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank cindyyau
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne Lee, Other at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2021

Dear Candy Yau,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and for reaching out. I am sorry to hear you had a negative experience with us. I regret and apologize for the inconvenience caused from the inability to accommodate you at Cameron Highlands Resort back in March as the resort was closed.

I wish to clarify the situation with regards to the closure of Cameron Highlands Resort. At the time of your booking on 5 March, Cameron Highlands Resort was scheduled to be opened for business during your intended dates of stay from 21 to 24 March. We were looking forward to welcoming you as much as you were looking forward to staying with us.
However, on 16 March the Government announced that the Conditional Movement Control Order and nationwide interstate travel ban will be extended for a further two weeks which directly impacts our operations and meant that our resort will remain closed. We strictly abide by the standard operating procedures imposed by the Government and we regret any inconveniences caused to our guests during these unprecedented times.

With the option to change your booking dates and stay at any of our resorts or city hotels, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your husband in the not too distant future. Please feel free to contact me directly, and I will help you with the arrangements.

I hope this clarifies the matter and again, thank you for reaching out and for your feedback; we appreciate each one as they really help us improve.

Kind regards,
Wayne Lee
Vice President of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2021

We stayed during the new year eve and honestly we didn’t want to check out from that amazing place..
Before we even arrive we were communicated and welcomed by the FOM ms. Lee so she can ensured our arrival is smooth.. upon arrival to the hotel and there she was Ms lee at the entrance to welcome us. After the check in she did the extra mile to check on our arrangement for today and she organised our afternoon tea and also order our dinner for the day.. she arranged our new year eve and our stay memorable. 2nd day again ms lee was there to great us on the morning and check on our plan for the day.. same also on our last day as she extended a late check out and lunch to the room before we leave to KL. Honestly we are out of words to describe what ms lee did for us and indeed left a big impact to our stay and our experience.. the only things I say is the hotel so lucky to have her there and we promised to come back again just to visit her. Keep it up.
Special mention to sashi (F&B and Ms.Kath and rest of the F&B team) thank you for making our stay memorable.
Till next time please stay safe.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank umiala
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dashni Rive Chandram, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2021

Dear umiala,

Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write this beautiful review about your recent stay with us.

It was such a great pleasure to read your kind words about Min Lee our Front Office Manager who I must say is truly a star. Also, I am delighted to see that Min Lee have made such a positive impression and delivered an incredible experience during your stay. I will certainly share your review with the team especially with Min Lee, Sashi and Ms Kath who will be very pleased to see that they have assisted in making your stay a joyful experience.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for more memorable moments.

Best regards,

Dashni Rive Chandram
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2021 via mobile

We have stayed in this resort several times, which itself speaks out that we are happy with it. Few things stand out for this resort which makes us to come back every time we visit Cameron. Firstly, the service and the hospitality is worth mentioning; all the staffs are very helpful and polite and I would like to specifically mention about Ravi and Phyo, they are highly professional and dedicated. Secondly, the Jim Thomson lounge is a special attraction; if you choose to stay here dont miss the afternoon hightea in this lounge. Also the location of the resort is quite good as it faces the golf course and within reasonable distance of the popular landmarks. The rooms are spacious and deco is charming. Hence, it is our favorite and consistent choice to stay in Cameron.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Gargi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dashni Rive Chandram, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2021

Dear Gargi2014,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review about your stay with us in Cameron Highlands Resort.

We are delighted to see that our team, facilities, services and location made such a positive impression and delivered an incredible experience during your stay. I will certainly share your review with the team especially to Ravi and Phyo who will be very pleased to read this as they do take pride in what they do and would be truly motivated to hear that all of their gestures and care are appreciated by our guests.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for more memorable moments.

Best regards,

Dashni Rive Chandram
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2020

Our overall stay was pleasant yet a little underwhelmed. This is due to the mediocre state of the hotel. Cleanliness in the bar area was not the best as well.
Our greatest disappointment was the gift store. We were looking forward to some resort shopping but the store was closed. The opening hours were simply too short.
Our intention was to purchase something from Cameron Highlands Resort as a keepsake but ended up not being able to buy anything as the store was closed!

The only positive side is the great staff and their service. They were extremely polite.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 529cindit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dashni Rive Chandram, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2020

Dear 529cindit,

Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your feedback.

We treasure both your positive feedback and constructive criticism. We are committed to constantly improve our guest experience and we will address the shortcomings for a better future experience moving forward.

We will be looking forward to have another opportunity to serve you better if your journey ever brings you back in Cameron Highlands again.

Best regards,

Dashni Rive Chandram
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2020

Thank you for accommodating our early check in and it was a lovely experience with warm welcome after a long drive. Its not my first stay here but for the first time, we booked a Residents’ Package.

Looking forward to the food experience, the first meal was lunch at the lounge area near reception. I was told that lunch soup does not come with a bread roll...ok, will get used to it. We picked fish and chips - so tempted as the menu read “Crispy soda bread battered fish served with mushy peas, tartare sauce and vinegar”. What we had were cold chips and thick batter coating the slightly tired fish, served with chopped and sweet pickled pink onions (aren’t these for some Indian food?), tomato sauce, tartare sauce and a wedge of lemon.
We were left worried about the meals to come...

Dinner however was a welcome improvement with warm bread rolls and we opted for smoked duck as they ran out of striploin steaks! Prawn salad was served with ice plant and sesame dressing but the prawn was overcooked. The chocolate lava dessert was good but Eton Mess in many places elsewhere includes ice cream as part of the ‘mess’. This one was full to the brim with canned whipping cream, strawberry sauce, quartered strawberries and just a bit of baked meringue biscuit. So it was a room temperature sour fruit and creamy ‘mess’ with an occasional tiny crunch.

Breakfast the next day was a so-so main meal of classic breakfast with soft and cold hash browns, however the croissant and danish were spectacularly good along with. fresh juices.
Pie and burger was as good as the herbed tomato soup for lunch and the last dinner of steamboat at the Japanese restaurant was the highlight meal of the trip. Simple and nice non-fussed Chinese, meats and vegetables were fresh and the soup gets sweeter as you go along. Free top up was offered but i don’t think anyone could manage to have any more than what was provided!

Overall, if you are expecting a proper English experience, you may be disappointed as the food and its presentation now cannot compare with what they had maybe five or six years ago. They can't manage eggs benedict anymore, only poached and parked on soggy toast and I was served cold milk with hot coffee on both occasions! Minor things like that, i guess we may have to accept it as an evolution into a Malaysian-ised fusion kopitiam.

If thats not your intention, the management has to buck up and look into how you want to position yourselves apart from the mediocre besides having nice decor.

Another suggestion for improvement is perhaps the management would consider to invest in pillow and mattress protectors to be changed and washed after every guest departure. I had a most horrible and nauseating feeling having to smell stale dribble on the pillow as soon as my head landed on the bed. The bed smelled like a man using hair cream and didn’t have a shower.

However, the rooms are spacious and well decorated, towels remain clean with adequate amenities for personal use, light refreshment provided and water pressure in the bathroom is strong enough for a pleasurable rain shower experience.

My compliments to the staff as they were all courteous, pleasant, kind and helpful - the highlight of good experience at the hotel.

To summmarise, if guests are able to compromise by slightly lowering their expectations, it can be an enjoyable getaway in Cameron Highlands Resort especially during weekdays for a relaxing experience that is far from the madding crowd. The walk we did on the last morning was great. Atan informed us that the same walk will cost RM100 in 2 days’ time so we were fortunate to have enjoyed the last legs of a free tour.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dashni Rive Chandram, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2020

Dear Jenny C,

Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review your stay.

We are glad to know you had a good overall stay and at the same time I do sincerely apologies for the shortcomings that you had highlighted. We treasure both your positive feedback and constructive criticism as we are committed to constantly improve our guest experience. Your comments are now looked into and corrective measures are taken into addressing the flow.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your kind and constructive comments for us to work on improvement. Should there be any chance your journey brings you back to Cameron Highlands, we hope that we have another opportunity to provide you a better stay experience.

Best regards,

Dashni Rive Chandram
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews