We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,199)
Filter reviews
1,199 results
Traveller rating
903
213
52
20
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
903
213
52
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room orford ness fresh milk restaurant with rooms main building smoked salmon biscuits pump street bakery dog owners marmalade suffolk coast superb food relaxing stay little touches breakfast and dinner snape maltings pudding
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,199 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location, friendly and efficient staff, lovely food - a perfect place for a May break. We enjoy staying in one of the garden rooms, it means we did not have to go into the hotel to go out. We liked the small terrace, pity the sun did not come out to enjoy the sun. We also liked the food, with a good choice of meat/fish and vegan courses. Service is excellent, we felt looked after. .

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 960MariaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've eaten at the Crown and Castle twice before and came back for a stay in one of their dog-friendly rooms as we know have a dog.
We cannot fault it. The staff are all excellent and genuinely warm and friendly and work well as a team.
Covid measures were impressive and we could tell the staff were taking things seriously and keeping everything clean and ventilated.
The dog-friendly room with access to the garden was perfect.

The food continues to be excellent.
The breakfast menu consists of excellent tea and coffee, toast, a first course choice of things like yoghurt, porridge, or fruit salad - fresh, not from a tin ;-) followed by things like eggs benedict, full English, or smoked haddock - but no kippers ;-)

Favourite dinner dishes were the local skate with chorizo, halibut and shellfish tortellini, ham hock terrine and lamb loin with asparagus and samphire.

We dined at the dog-friendly table in between the bar and main restaurant and it was fine for us.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goatmasterfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had supper there when staying in Orford which we often do. It was as cosy and friendly as ever with a good menu . The only reason I give it 4 stars is that the food although very tasty was served on cool plates ( as was that of the guests on the next table) which rather spoilt it. Overall we had a very nice evening .

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked this break away at the beginning of the year not knowing we were going into lock down.
We were pleased we did as the after months of restrictions the Crown and Castle was as always a welcome escape

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2020

We spent a couple of days in one of the garden rooms with our two lurchers, visiting family for socially distanced walks on the beaches of Southwold, Aldeburgh and Thorpeness. Superbly thoughtful but at the same time, high quality accommodation for dog-owners, plus friendly, helpful staff. Food divine. The whole stay was an absolute treat.

Room tip: The garden rooms back onto a lovely lawned area with own little patio. really comfy beds.
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank H9224IEtinaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews