We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good night in here for a beer!”
Review of Swiss Chalet

Swiss Chalet
Ranked #104 of 338 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Price range: US$2 - US$14
Cuisines: German, Swiss, Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Description: Now the Swiss Chalet is no longer a restaurant. We sell drinks exclusively.
Reviewed 12 March 2018

We always pop in here for a few beers every time we visit Ao Nang. Friendly happy staff, sports on TV, cold beers and cocktails.
Also a good contact point for organising trips in and around Krabi. The staff speak good English and will look after you.... i recommend the rafting for some adrenaline fun.
Thanks to the staff!

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank UbonJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

This place is just too too old. Everything is breaking just on your eyes. It doesn’t even look like all those new small nice hotels around here. In this place even they couldn’t put the cover for the lamp. Also They built the hotel just next to this one, so either your window will face the street or it will face the wall. Taking shower seems here like a fighting with it, it’s old plastic shower, that is not fixed properly. From the pluses the place is clean, bed is big, there is a big old wardrobe as well. All seems here like in a grandma’s house. There are many new hotels around like chick and chill and silver sands and areetara (in case u book in advance), they are much nicer. Even the Toto residence is much better then this place.

Thank Natali_the_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernDudi, Inhaber at Swiss Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Too bad that you did not like it with us.
Most of our guests stay longer than they originally booked with an online provider.
In the high season we have many guests the 1 - 3 months booked with us. Because they know and appreciate us and the locality.
Certainly not everything is perfect and brand new. But unlike other hotels operated by Thai owners, we are renovating a bit each year.
Unfortunately we can not replace the furniture every year. These have a good quality and should last 15 years. At the moment these are between 0 - 9 years old. Important is also the price-performance ratio. And with this we always have the best ratings.

I hope you enjoyed your stay in Ao Nang, in our center hotel, nevertheless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

i dont know, maybe we just got unlucky.

after talking to various tour operators in Ao nang we returned to Swiss Chalet because we liked the knowledgeable lady we talked to and she seemed professional and trust worthy. we booked a private 4 island tours from her, for 2 persons for 2700 baht (pick up from Railay west) and i specifically asked if this price included lunch, so we'd know how to prepare. we were reassured 2 times that it was including lunch, water, fresh fruits (the exact quote) but didnt include the national park tax which was another 800 baht for 2 persons (the national park tax is what i a presume another profitable scheme, we did many tours and not once have we seen the boat men paying anything to anyone, although thats the first thing they do when you step on your boat: collect the national park fee!!!!)

pick up was on time, at 8:00 am, and the boat man took us first to Poda island. we were there early in the morning which was nice, however he left us somewhere on a far side of the island, precisely to avoid contact with the island rangers who might have asked him for the fee (we had paid the fee to the boatman already) and he told us we can stay there only 1hour 30 min, which was odd for a private tour where i can decide where and how much i want to spend in a certain place.

after Poda we were rushed to Chicken and Tup, and then just left on the shores of Pra Nang beach, where he waived us goodbye at exactly 12:00 in the afternoon. NO LUNCH, NO FRUITS, and no drop off ( we had to walk all the way back to Railay, so he basically left us somewhere else entirely from where he picked us u, and he didnt seem to give a damn about it!!). He spoke almost no English and left in a hurry. We barely understood what happened and there was no point in arguing with him. So for 2700 baht + 800 baht national park fee which lets be honest, it was money in his pocket, i would consider the whole experience a total rip off.......the swiss chalet company should have a better control on who they decide to work with. i'd rather think it was a third party guilt, not that they are knowingly sending clients on crappy tours

1  Thank Claudia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Excellent room budget hotel for single or couple, room is Clean well entertain with a Clear TV English Chanel's Panel ! in Thailand its a luxe! few hotels budget do English TV! nice staff nice owner a overall do not hesitate to Book and go there ! one of the Best Budget hotel in Ao -nang and well situated ! Cheers to the Boss ! ED

1  Thank Erick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland D, Inhaber at Swiss Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you very much for so many nice words.
We try to do our best every day.
You make me and my staff proud!

I hope we see you again.

Roland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

great watering hole with the best staff a good drink at a decent price its just a pub and does not sell food but they have the best staff who never stop smiling

Thank mike999_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernDudi, Inhaber at Swiss Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Thank you for your gracious review.
I hope you come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swiss Chalet also viewed

Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Swiss Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing