We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunda Resort Krabi”
Review of Sunda Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunda Resort
Ranked #65 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I have travel to Krabi on 15 -17 March 2012 and we stayed over at Sunda Resort.

Hotel

Hotel is 30 mins from the airport and its is 15 mins from ao nang city by free shuttle provided by the hotel. The free shuttle is one of the plus point other wise ao nang city is abt 30 to 40 mins by walk (depends how fast u walk). The staff were great and help full but not cheerful.

Room

The room was good, and very clean. The bathroom were also in good shape and clean. They clean our room every day and no complaines on that part only one thing the second day when we came back there were FROG in the bathroom.That scared me :)) otherwise its cool. Room Service is really bad as we oder Ice and they ask us to get it from 7 eleven.so dunt call for that.:))

Safa Cafe(Breakfast)

The cafe were nice, kinda intresting as the serounding is assive u are in forest :)) only thing there can be mosquiter at times. The breakfast was good ,there have corn flakes,muesli,milk(cold,luke warm) fried rice,fried noodles,eggs,breads,jam and butter,toasts,fruits,cofee and tea,2 type juices.

Shopping

If you are the type who would like the hotel to be like step out and straight shopping or have the happening places arround the sunda isn't for you. The hotel do have free shuttle to town but its only till 9.30pm and who would like to go back to the hotel at 9.30pm. So its a lil troublesome at times. and trust me once u are so tired u cant really walk back to the hotel.

In Ao Nang City

Ban Lay Restaurant is good and the food is tasty. However i believe its a lil overprice as the same food is cheaper in other plc. but the sourinding is what u are payying for as it at beach side:)).

Tandorri Night is Indian Restaurant and the food were very very good. Their naan,chicken kadai,aloo peratha,chicken shekh kebab is fantastic you should try. their price were also reasonable can be consider cheap.

Norrie India is another indian restaurant they serve nice food as well and we had our dinner they too. Please take note do not waste you time going to Namathe India the food just OK and they charge expensive plus nothing great for the environment.

Massage i would suggest the parlour near by Swadish massage(NOT SWADISH as its expensive and alwiz not enough plp) you need to take staircase to this place is some thing starting with L. As for manicure and pedicure pleace do not go to miracle massage as their quality of wrk is so bad and u pay for nothing. Try parlor oppsite swadesh maddase. The fat lady over there is really nice and the qork she do is really satisfied.

Overall its nice place to relax, shop and masage and then shop again massage again and relax..:))

tc

Room Tip: Canal rooms were nice....but if you have kids the pool view would be a good choice as kids would lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SexyRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 140 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2012

I stayed at the Sunda Resort this past December with my 2 young adult children. The rooms were very clean and the staff super nice. Got great rates on Agoda.com. I loved the sound of the tree frogs and monkeys in the trees. This is the jungle, there are insects, but the rooms were extremely clean. Its nice to have the free taxi to town and back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnapolisTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I was asked by the staff to comment on why we were leaving after 3 days. The staff was pleasant and courteous, the surroundings lush and lovely. However, the room was a huge disappointment after what I had read on Trip Advisor. The bathroom was disgusting, crawling with ants, the toilet seat did not fit and you fell off, the shower and shower curtain was disgusting, the decor very drab and tired, the resort was located at least 1.5 km from the town/beach when we were told it was about 400 m., the breakfast food, while plentiful, was always cold. Sorry but it was overpriced and I would neither recommend nor go back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hendrika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I had booked 5 nights at Sunda after reading some amazing reviews on Tripadvisor. When we checked into the resort, we were welcomed by smiling ladies at the reception. This is a rain forest themed resort and if you cannot stand insects/open bathroom/crickets chirping the entire night, don't come here.

Post check-in we were showed our room which was quite smaller than what i was expecting. The bathroom was semi open and becomes a full of insects if you leave the lights on. On the second day of our stay, i saw a pig running around the pool. My wife dropped a potato chip and after sometime our room was full of insects. When i called reception i was told that housekeeping has left. After making repeated calls, two staff members came and cleaned the insects from the room.

The breakfast at the restaurant is pathetic. One morning my wife found a cockroach in a croissant she was eating for breakfast and complained to the staff. The staff did not even bother to apologize.

The resort is quite far away from Aao Nang Beach/Market but they have free transport to and from Burger King/McDonald's which is the only saving grace of this resort. This is a muslim resort so neither do they serve alcohol nor is it allowed in their restaurant if you bring some yourself. You can drink in you room but they don't serve room service. The resort lends you motorcycles at 300 thb/day but they are not insured and if you meet an accident or lose them, then you have to pay 70,000 thb to get your passport back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Discoverer00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

after reading the review on here we booked the first 2 of our five night here at Sunda...hoping we would like it and want to stay. Needless to say we moved to the Mercure. For what you pay at Sunda our experience was extremely disappointing. We have stayed at places that are far cheaper and cleaner, with kinder staff who were more helpful...the only thing that was nice was the free transport to town, which beware the signs say go from 7am-10pm but really is only from 8am-930pm' so don't think you will get any help getting to town before 8am. According to the people at the front desk there was no way to town at all and they had no one to call to get us to town earlier and we were the first people who had ever wanted to go to town before 8am and we would just need to wait. I figured they would at least give us the number to a taxi or something but they did not.

also the day before we had been out of the room the entire day and got back at 5pm to a room that wasn't made up, and almost immediately the staff showed up to clean the room and waited at the door until we left to come in which made us feel extremely rushed when we just wanted to take a nap.

there are places where you will pay the same price and have much better service and clean bathrooms.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizardbeth1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
1.1 km away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#51 of 111 in Ao Nang
301 reviews
1.5 km away
Maleedee Bay Resort
Maleedee Bay Resort
#50 of 111 in Ao Nang
230 reviews
1.3 km away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#36 of 111 in Ao Nang
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Royal Nakara
The Royal Nakara
#47 of 111 in Ao Nang
266 reviews
0.1 km away
J. Hotel
J. Hotel
#61 of 111 in Ao Nang
275 reviews
0.9 km away
Anyavee Ao Nang Bay Resort
Anyavee Ao Nang Bay Resort
#58 of 111 in Ao Nang
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunda Resort

Address: 19 Moo 3 | Muang Krabi, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Ao Nang
#20 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: $53 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunda Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3-star-boutique resort in the villa or bungalow style. The property is provided 48 guest rooms and classified to 3 room types; The Canal Side, The Pool side, and the Garden View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunda Hotel Ao Nang
Sunda Hotel Krabi
Sunda Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing