We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, all in green hotel, excellent staff, free tuk-tuk”
Review of Sunda Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunda Resort
Ranked #67 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed 19 May 2012

A good hotel, at first seemed chta is far from the city, although the presence of fat-free fat of the side of the city - did not cause any discomfort. Staff - a smiling, friendly, always will prompt and help. Ordered through them a tour - all wonderful. The entire hotel is surrounded by greenery. The rooms, interesting toilet + bathroom :).

Room Tip: Disadvantages - a bit far from the center, a small pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mugivara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 137 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2012

I travelled from 5-11 May 2012 with my partner . Ive read many reviews stating that hotel was terrible and many of holidaymakers were not pleased . I was prepared to leave the hotel , but i wanted to check it for myself, so i decided to stay over for a night.I must say ,the experience it is you have paid for.The hotel isnt lush, its simple, hot water for showers, a small pool ,airconditioning and a tv is all that we needed here.We just need a place to rest after our tours ie; phi phi island,4 island, elephant trekking and also the james bond island tour.The hotel is nestled up away from the busy aonang beach, they provide free shuttle service to the aonang beach, and back to the hotel.However , their last pick up is at 9.30pm , but we always managed to get tuk tuk back to our hotel for about 600 bhat for 2 people.
The breakfast isnt lavish, its simple ,bread,eggs,ham ,sausages, cereals, muffins , porridge and thai dishes ,-pad thai,rice ,fish or meat curries.But it was sufficient, the pool is a small pool.
The hotel's environment is some what of rainforest like, with chalets . We enjoyed our stay here.The staffs are friendly and they have a cute cat named charlie that can be seen at relaxing at the lobby while we waited for our transport.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cikuciku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Very clean, spacious and the staff are superb friendly with nice breakfast and choices. Resort provide free wifi and shuttle transfer to Aonang. Good for couple and family to stay

Room Tip: Canal rooms with huge and nice balconies or pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazlinaahmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I have travel to Krabi on 15 -17 March 2012 and we stayed over at Sunda Resort.

Hotel

Hotel is 30 mins from the airport and its is 15 mins from ao nang city by free shuttle provided by the hotel. The free shuttle is one of the plus point other wise ao nang city is abt 30 to 40 mins by walk (depends how fast u walk). The staff were great and help full but not cheerful.

Room

The room was good, and very clean. The bathroom were also in good shape and clean. They clean our room every day and no complaines on that part only one thing the second day when we came back there were FROG in the bathroom.That scared me :)) otherwise its cool. Room Service is really bad as we oder Ice and they ask us to get it from 7 eleven.so dunt call for that.:))

Safa Cafe(Breakfast)

The cafe were nice, kinda intresting as the serounding is assive u are in forest :)) only thing there can be mosquiter at times. The breakfast was good ,there have corn flakes,muesli,milk(cold,luke warm) fried rice,fried noodles,eggs,breads,jam and butter,toasts,fruits,cofee and tea,2 type juices.

Shopping

If you are the type who would like the hotel to be like step out and straight shopping or have the happening places arround the sunda isn't for you. The hotel do have free shuttle to town but its only till 9.30pm and who would like to go back to the hotel at 9.30pm. So its a lil troublesome at times. and trust me once u are so tired u cant really walk back to the hotel.

In Ao Nang City

Ban Lay Restaurant is good and the food is tasty. However i believe its a lil overprice as the same food is cheaper in other plc. but the sourinding is what u are payying for as it at beach side:)).

Tandorri Night is Indian Restaurant and the food were very very good. Their naan,chicken kadai,aloo peratha,chicken shekh kebab is fantastic you should try. their price were also reasonable can be consider cheap.

Norrie India is another indian restaurant they serve nice food as well and we had our dinner they too. Please take note do not waste you time going to Namathe India the food just OK and they charge expensive plus nothing great for the environment.

Massage i would suggest the parlour near by Swadish massage(NOT SWADISH as its expensive and alwiz not enough plp) you need to take staircase to this place is some thing starting with L. As for manicure and pedicure pleace do not go to miracle massage as their quality of wrk is so bad and u pay for nothing. Try parlor oppsite swadesh maddase. The fat lady over there is really nice and the qork she do is really satisfied.

Overall its nice place to relax, shop and masage and then shop again massage again and relax..:))

tc

Room Tip: Canal rooms were nice....but if you have kids the pool view would be a good choice as kids would lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SexyRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I stayed at the Sunda Resort this past December with my 2 young adult children. The rooms were very clean and the staff super nice. Got great rates on Agoda.com. I loved the sound of the tree frogs and monkeys in the trees. This is the jungle, there are insects, but the rooms were extremely clean. Its nice to have the free taxi to town and back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnapolisTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
1.1 km away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#52 of 111 in Ao Nang
301 reviews
1.5 km away
Maleedee Bay Resort
Maleedee Bay Resort
#49 of 111 in Ao Nang
230 reviews
1.3 km away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#37 of 111 in Ao Nang
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Royal Nakara
The Royal Nakara
#47 of 111 in Ao Nang
266 reviews
0.1 km away
J. Hotel
J. Hotel
#60 of 111 in Ao Nang
275 reviews
0.9 km away
Anyavee Ao Nang Bay Resort
Anyavee Ao Nang Bay Resort
#58 of 111 in Ao Nang
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunda Resort

Address: 19 Moo 3 | Muang Krabi, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Ao Nang
#20 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: $53 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunda Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3-star-boutique resort in the villa or bungalow style. The property is provided 48 guest rooms and classified to 3 room types; The Canal Side, The Pool side, and the Garden View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunda Hotel Ao Nang
Sunda Hotel Krabi
Sunda Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing