We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money. Lively staff and guest friendly. Close to nature resort”
Review of Sunda Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunda Resort
Ranked #65 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed 30 January 2011

jan 25, 2011
After a extensive online research we zeroed in on this resort. We wanted a budget resort with pools and very near to the ao-nang beach. Decent hotel for a couple.

It is a value for money. Resort has a ambience of a rain forest. Wooden pathways highlight this. Rooms are elegant, cozy and have all amenities like a password protected safe, fridge, hot shower, hair dryer, electric kettle, Tv and ac.

Ever smiling staff ready to help you all the time in booking the day trips and all.
Prompt house keeping, kept the rooms neat and tidy by the time we returned from a day trip.
Free Tuk-tuks to the beach is a real convenience.

Keep the rooms closed to avoid un-invited guests like mosquitoes and cats :)

The same american break fast all mornings, could have changed a bit :(

Ultimately we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gajaravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 168 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2011

Do not be put off by negative reviews of the Sunda. This is a lovely place to stay after a day sightseeing. If you want to go to Thailand and sit on a beach all day then stay at a hotel near the beach. This hotel is within walking distance of a beach but not on it. However there are two excellent clean pools set in lovely tropical gardens giving a peaceful relaxing experience. On arrival at the Sunda we were given out poolside room, PO1. The staff assisted with our baggage and once in the room explained service provided by the hotel. Our room was very spacious and clean with a good remote control air con system to set required temperature. The beds were extremely comfortable with white linen and very clean matresses with matress protectors so they stay very clean. We also had a large colour TV with various channels including a movie channel. The bathroom was large and clean with many plants creating an outdoor feel although it is fully enclosed. The restaurant/breakfast area is outside and very pleasant looking over a stream planted with lush foliage. Breakfast was good with much choice. The most positive experience at the Sunda has to be the wonderful staff that work there. All the women on the reception are lovely, gracious people who will always take the time to have a chat and sort out any problems. We had a split shower hose halfway through our stay. This was reported to reception and within 10 minutes a complete new shower hose was fitted. Excellent. Finally the free Tuk Tuk was excellent. The two guys who provided this service were fantastic and we never had to wait any longer than 10 minutes for this. I would thoroughly recommend this resort to anyone that is looking for a peaceful place to sleep and unwind after a busy day out sightseeing. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank labrador5233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Beautiful setting. Worth upgrading to a poolside room.
Staff are outstanding and really helpful.
Ideal location with free tuctuc anywhere you want to go. The driver is an amazing guy. Loved him.
Food was lovely with good buffet breakfast choices.
We enjoyed some lunch by the poolside which was very tasty and good value for money.
Our room was perfect and spotless with a little seating area outside.
The pools are lovely and not too busy.
The only thing you need to beware of is the mosquitos as there is a little stream running through the resort so they are everywhere. Not too bad if you have a poolside room.
Best thing was the wild monkeys bouncing on your roof in the early hours and if your lucky they may venture down from the trees to say hello just like the one that tried to steal the ball that some other guests were playing with.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Passwords10101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Wihout knowing about the rest of places, I think Sunda Resort is the best choice (or one of the better ones): You get a very nice bungalow between two pools in the middle of an amazing environment: the well cared garden. We liked so much that we spent first morning on it: pool and internet. For exploring the neighborhood you'll need to use their complementary shuttle service, which only have to call them (5 bath coin at phone box) for coming back. The breakfast buffet is fine. About the room cleaning, every morning we returned to the room trying to guess what animals would the towel figures represent. We would stay at Sunda Resort again if we come back, but I don't think we will as we didn't like Nopharat Thara and Ao Nang so much.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deldante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Rooms are basic and clean. But the biggest problem is that there is no comfortable seating in the room or on the deck. Lighting is too dim for reading too.
Not sure why other reviewers failed to mention there's no alcohol allowed anywhere on premise. No bar by the pool, or BYO beer allowed. 
No decent restaurant onsite and there isn't anywhere you can walk to. 
Sunda is surrounded by greenery and "close to nature" but there is smell and haze from villagers burning and clearing farm land. 

We will not stay here again and definitely do not recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheers_A_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
1.1 km away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#51 of 111 in Ao Nang
301 reviews
1.5 km away
Maleedee Bay Resort
Maleedee Bay Resort
#50 of 111 in Ao Nang
230 reviews
1.3 km away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#36 of 111 in Ao Nang
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Royal Nakara
The Royal Nakara
#47 of 111 in Ao Nang
266 reviews
0.1 km away
J. Hotel
J. Hotel
#61 of 111 in Ao Nang
275 reviews
0.9 km away
Anyavee Ao Nang Bay Resort
Anyavee Ao Nang Bay Resort
#58 of 111 in Ao Nang
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunda Resort

Address: 19 Moo 3 | Muang Krabi, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Ao Nang
#20 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: $53 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunda Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3-star-boutique resort in the villa or bungalow style. The property is provided 48 guest rooms and classified to 3 room types; The Canal Side, The Pool side, and the Garden View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunda Hotel Ao Nang
Sunda Hotel Krabi
Sunda Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing