We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$310
Orbitz.comUS$310
TravelocityUS$310
CheapTicketsUS$310
HurbUS$310
TripadvisorUS$310
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
48
70
30
12
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
48
70
30
12
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gin house dive shop dive trip old world charm a great stay between dives mini fridge bug spray garden view room few steps the air conditioning island statia history pity blend bobby
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2018

We stayed only one night in this hotel. First, when we arrived, there was no taxi at the airport, or even available on the island. A very nice lady at the arrival really tried to get us a taxi, and I believe even called the hotel but with no success. So this lady just drove us to the hotel. The welcome was good, and we were in a very big room with ocean view. We can't complain about the room, the view was nice and you have a free bottle of water. Just a quick comment. In the living room, only one side of the TV console could be opened. And in the bedroom, the TV was not connected to the antenna, so no channel available. The oceanfront has been as well damaged (probably because of the hurricane last year). However the bar/restaurant is really nice and looks stunning. The pool looks nice, but was a bit dirty. It's too bad that the historic building is not used more than that. The hotel is quite nice if you want to do scuba diving, or have a walk into the town, or do a quick hike! Having said that, I think that it was a bit overpriced for us.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

The hotel is in a historic building. The staff was great and made the stay enjoyable. They are in the process of repairing from a hurricane last year but still a great place to stay. The food at the restaurant was good but expensive and limited menu. Very casual atmosphere and convenient to the dive shop and other restaurants

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Micheal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldginhouse, Manager at The Old Gin House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you for the great review! We enjoyed having you as our guest. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

Until this year, after many years of traveling, I had never visited a destination for three years straight. Sint Eustatius has the charm, comfort, friendliness and history that brought me back that third time and Old Gin House helped top the list of reasons why.

Familiar faces are a sure cure for being travel weary. After being greeted at the airport by Sarah and David Bellevang, the next faces we saw were the establishment’s owners, Sybolt and Marlies ten Hoopen. Their genuine welcome back made us feel like we were coming home. Marisol, the general manager, helps oversee every part of the operation and her kindness and respect for her staff is inspiring. One minute she is helping in the dining area, taking orders and serving, then five minutes later she is across the street checking someone out. Every guest is treated like royalty and made to feel special.

We’ve stayed in three different rooms at OGH and the suite we stayed in this time was our favorite. It looks out to the sea. But we loved our garden room last year, too. The detail taken to furnish the rooms with antique wardrobes and desks throughout the inn give the OGH a feeling of old world charm that I’ve never experienced anywhere else in the Caribbean.

We ate breakfast there every day. The breakfasts are hardy and are great for a long morning of diving. Likewise, lunches are delicious. OGH makes a five-star cheeseburger that is accompanied by perfectly cooked French fries. It is hard to pass up dinner at OGH because of its convenience, the variety of selections on the menu and the intoxicating sunsets. And if one is so inclined, the bar area is one of the most relaxing spots in the world with comfortable couches and overstuffed chairs where relaxation is assured. Helma and Francesca are always on hand and service is swift—something that is rarely encountered in the islands.

This year we had the opportunity to enjoy a soothing drink of fine aged rum in the bar that sits across the street from the main dining room. Manned that evening by Sybalt, it was fascinating to look around at the structure as our host spoke of the history dating back to the 1600s.

We have found paradise and it is Statia. We have found a place of comfort and restfulness absolute contentment at Old Gin House.

Room tip: Although there are only four ocean front suites, their view to the sunset make them the best.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jlh1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldginhouse, Manager at The Old Gin House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Wow...we're speechless! Thank you so much for these wonderful words! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

Food and drinks were very good and reasonably priced. The wait staff, especially at breakfast were downright rude. They make you feel like your presence is interfering with whatever it is they have to do. No smiles. No please or thank you. They should not be working in the service industry. The owner was very friendly. Don't understand how he doesn't see the rudeness of his staff.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank wdcomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldginhouse, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Gin House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are truly sorry to read that your experience with us didn't meet your expectation. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we always strive to better improve our service. We hope we will have another chance to better welcome you again at the Old Gin House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

There are only 40 hotel rooms on St. Eustatius. So there is not a lot to choose from. We booked a week stay at the Old Gin House in conjunction with a dive trip with Scubaqua. Form the hotels we viewed, the Old Gin House is clearly the nicest hotel on Statia. It is has a great location right on the oceanfront. It has its own restaurant that was good, but we thought it was expensive compared to some of the other restaurants that we visited on Statia. The owners are working hard to upgrade the hotel by painting and making repairs. The hotel has an "old world" feel. Rooms had residential antique like furniture in them that gave them a nice ambiance. The staff was friendly, helpful, and a delight. Our only complaint was the internet in our room did not work for the first several days of our visit. Eventually it was repaired and the service as then excellent.

If you are visiting St. Eustatius, the best place to stay is the Old Gin House!

Room tip: Get an Oceanfront Room. They have great views!
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnkR8165HV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldginhouse, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Gin House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Hi John,

Thank you so much for your review and your kind words. We're happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at The Old Gin House and that you were able to take advantage of our central location. We're also glad that you liked our restaurant and friendly staff. Thanks for your stay and recommendation and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews