We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tasty sweets”

El Rey Sol Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 9 Dessert in Ensenada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: French, Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Let yourself be seduce by the oldest french restaurant in Mexico in an atmosphere reminiscent of the days of Louis XIV. Delight yourself with our delicious and extensive menu of international cuisine and traditional Mexican dishes, paired with the best local and inter wines. Don't forget to try our famous french pastries.
Reviewed 5 July 2017

I didn't eat a full meal here, came for the pastries, it was delightful, heard from many other people the food is great, if the pastries are any indication of the rest of the cuisine, they most be right, at least try the pastries

1  Thank Francisco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, General Manager at El Rey Sol Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you very much for your kind comment and taking the time to review us Francisco. We hope you come back soon and can test our menu, including our wide selection of desserts other than our famous pastries! trust me you would love it, we hope to have your visit again.
Kind regards

Jeannelle Bitterlin
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2017

Okay, there are two places you need to visit in Ensenada, Mexico. If you're under 30, go to Hussong's Cantina for beer and t-shirts (their shop is located across the street). But, if you're over 30 and want a great fine dining experience, be sure to dine at El Rey Sol. This restaurant is a 5-Diamond award winner and richly deserving. Located in the heart of Ensenada, El Rey Sol has been in business for many years and is among the most popular fine dining establishments in the old city. We dined there many years ago and returned this week. Our experience this week was just as wonderful as it was ten years ago.
The wait staff is superb. The food is wonderful, especially the desserts and coffees or espressos; and the ambiance is pure upscale Mexican. the beautiful fireplace in the center of the main dining room is classic.
The restaurant also has a nice, outdoor (covered) patio area for people-watching a quick lunches.
Best of all, the prices for our lunch was very reasonable.
El Rey Sol also has a banquet room for larger, private parties. Street parking is available.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, General Manager at El Rey Sol Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Hello Tom, we are delighted with your thorough description, and happy that you enjoyed your dining experience as much as you did years ago! We are very grateful to our loyal and new customers that allow us to continue serving you after 70 years! Thanks for considering us a must in our city. We hope to see you soon!
Best regards

Jeannelle Bitterlin
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

Our family of four didn't quite realize this was a "dress up" restaurant when we decided to eat here, so we felt a little under dressed in our t-shirts and shorts for dinner. But, the service was excellent. We all had seafood dishes of one kind or another and they were amazing. The menu is printed in English and Spanish. It was a great meal after a long day of sightseeing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank vegewalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, Director General at El Rey Sol Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Hello,

Thank you for considering us during your visit to Ensenada. Very happy to hear that your family enjoyed the food and the service was excellent. Hope you come visit us soon again, and no worries about the dress code, we want all our clients to be comfortable and enjoy themselves.

Kind Regards,

Jeannelle Bitterlin

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

Mrs. Bear and I had dinner shared here last night with some very good friends. Drink orders were taken and delivered quickly. For starters we all shared an avocado barquette, an avocado half served filled with a crab and avocado mixture, and an order of steamed clams. The avocado and crab dish was quite good, while the clams were a bit tough.

For entree's I chose a shrimp and bacon dish with a cream sauce topped with capers, the shrimp were cooked nicely and the cream sauce worked well, however the capers had little flavor, and I love capers. Mrs. Bear ordered a seafood Vol-Au-Vent, unfortunately the seafood, while very good, was augmented by a good deal of ham, which naturally led to less seafood in the dish. It was also noted that the pastry shell was quite thick, also leaving less room for seafood.

One friend had a mixed seafood plate with shrimp, clams, oysters, calamari, scallops and tuna. I sampled a bit of the calamari which was tender and flavorful, Mrs, Bear had a shrimp which she said was overdone and rubbery, The second friend ordered the crab crepes which she had had previously and really enjoyed.

Overall, it was a good dinner and the prices are reasonable, with cocktails, two bottles of wine, two desserts and two cognacs cost about $150 US. I just felt the food could have been somewhat better prepared and more flavorful. I would have given 3.5 stars if I had that option. It is worth another try.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TNBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, Director General at El Rey Sol Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Hello,

Thank you for visiting us, and taking the time to write such a thorough review. We strive for perfection, and this gives us the opportunity to see where we need to improve. We apologize that you were not completely satisfied with your meals, and want you to know that we are currently under new management and focusing on improving such details. Hope you give us another opportunity!

Kind regards,

Jeannelle Bitterlin

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

Dropped in for an evening meal - and, based on the very positive experience there, dropped in again the following morning for breakfast. French themed but a variety of cuisines available. Ambience, food, and service all excellent - and at a reasonable price.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rsfarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter60, Director General at El Rey Sol Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Hello,

Thank you for visiting us twice on your trip! Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your dinner so much you decided to come back for breakfast. Hope you visit us soon again.

Kind Regards,

Jeannelle Bitterlin

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Rey Sol Restaurant also viewed

Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
 
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
Ensenada, Ensenada Municipality
 

Been to El Rey Sol Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing