We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best seafood on the planet!”

Tailhunter Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 361 Restaurants in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Located on the Bay of La Paz's historic waterfront Malecón, on the Sea of Cortez, you will find three stories of amazing beach casual dining and fun. Headquarters of the renowned Tailhunter Sportfishing Fleets, the Roldan Family's uniquely diverse menu specializes in the freshest seafood and local specialties with their very own Island flair. Top rated since opening in the spring of 2009 for numerous years, we are famous for preparing our fishermen's fresh caught fish with an entire specialty menu dedicated to this rare treat. Featuring great music, fishing and surfing videos, sporting events, ice cold cocktails and front row seats to the best sunsets in The Baja.
Reviewed 23 July 2016

We caught our trigger fish and had it brought directly to the restaurant. By the time we finished cleaning up from fishing, our incredible plate of ceviche (from our fish) was waiting for us. As usual, Jonathan and Jill were there to welcome us and ensure we felt like family. The beer is cold, the margaritas are the best in town, and the fish is always prepared just right.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dzrtdav42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan R, Owner at Tailhunter Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Amigo! Thanks for the kind words. Nothing better than fresh-caught fish that had just been brought in for us to prepare and it's always good with that icy-beer! We appreciate you taking the time to write! God bless and safe travels always!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 252 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2016

Everyone spoke English, and the food was great. Already planning our next trip. We enjoyed the food so much we eat at the tail hunter restaurant 4 nights

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dalecaroldamron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan R, Owner at Tailhunter Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Hi Folks! It was great to have you and the family visit us. I know exactly which is YOUR table from now on! Glad you had a good time and thanks for sharing your vacation with us. Come see us again. Safe travels always and God bless!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

What a phenomenal place, and great dining experience! Watching the sun go down from the 2nd or 3rd floor over the sea of Cortez is amazing. We stayed in La Paz for a week and tried numerous places to eat up and down the main street. We continually found ourselves either comparing the meals to tailhunter or heading to tailhunter directly because of our previous experience. Highly recommend! We traveled with our children ages 12-17 and there was a great variety of choices for the whole family.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank r m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan R, Owner at Tailhunter Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Wow! Thanks for the great review and taking the time to post that up. It's especially helpful because we do like to show that we enjoy families! We appreciate you sharing that special vacation time with us. Come visit again soon. In the meantime, fairwinds and flat seas wherever your travels take you. God bless always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Beautiful location, and stunning sunsets. Service was great. Bring your appetite because you will get plenty of food. We had our fresh catch of the day prepared several different ways, which was outstanding. You will not be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank _robbynixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan R, Owner at Tailhunter Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Thanks for the kind words, Robby! Come see us again soon. It made me hungry looking at the photos of the deserts! God bless!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We visited the Tailhunter Restaurant several times while on vacation in LaPaz (a wonderful community). We enjoyed the food, which was very nicely presented, reasonably priced as well as tasted amazing. We did go fishing with Tailhunters while in LaPaz, which I highly recommend, and the menu allowed us to have the fish we caught cooked that night for dinner, perfect. The restaurant has several suggestions for preparing your fresh fish. We tried four different suggestions and they were all very good. I highly recommend Tailhunters restaurant and hope that I can visit again...soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janet01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan R, Owner at Tailhunter Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Janet! What a wonderful review! Thanks so much and thanks for the great photos too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tailhunter Restaurant also viewed

La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Tailhunter Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing