We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh fish and fun”

Tailhunter Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 371 Restaurants in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Located on the Bay of La Paz's historic waterfront Malecón, on the Sea of Cortez, you will find three stories of amazing beach casual dining and fun. Headquarters of the renowned Tailhunter Sportfishing Fleets, the Roldan Family's uniquely diverse menu specializes in the freshest seafood and local specialties with their very own Island flair. Top rated since opening in the spring of 2009 for numerous years, we are famous for preparing our fishermen's fresh caught fish with an entire specialty menu dedicated to this rare treat. Featuring great music, fishing and surfing videos, sporting events, ice cold cocktails and front row seats to the best sunsets in The Baja.
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

Me and my amigo stopped by for fresh fish and catch some college football. We’ve been to Tailhunter every time we’re in La Paz and the fish is cooked the way we like it. Not over done. The service is attentive and the owners came by our table to put a personal touch to our dinner and make sure we we’re enjoying our meal.
Looking forward to our next visit to La Paz.

Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan R, Owner at Tailhunter Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Muchas gracias, Ken! Thanks for taking the time to write us up. Much appreciated! We'll look forward to the next visit.

God bless!
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 94 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2017

This was my 4th trip to Tailhunter restaurant. Jonathan cooked up fresh tuna , we had just caught! Ceviche started the meal. Followed by sashimi, and some sushi! Then came grilled tuna, and more in green sauce! Tailhunter restaurant will always be my favorite stop in La Paz!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tony816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan R, Owner at Tailhunter Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Hi Tony!

Great title and thanks for the kind words. Makes me hungry just reading them. Hope to have you back again soon, amigo!

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

my friend and i visit la paz once a year to fish with tailhunter and it only makes sense to come to the restaurant to eat your fresh caught fish. they can prepare it many ways, and the fish comes with your choices of several sides. the sides are a little better than the fish, the recipe's have a lot of flavor, and i can tell, it took some time and effort to get them correct. in the evening you might meet johnathan and jill!!!!! thanks again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chingawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan R, Owner at Tailhunter Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thanks, Chingawa (great name!). Appreciate you taking the time to write us up!! Hope to see you again.

Cheers!
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

While on a week long trip to La Paz and fantastic fishing adventure, had the opportunity to spend time with Jonathan and Jill at the Tailhuhter Fubar Cantina. A great experience with fantastic food, atmosphere, and fun! Jon and Jill leave no stone unturned when it comes to making your experience incredibly comfortable and welcome. I look forward to many more trips to La Paz in the near future and the Tailhunter restaurant will of course be a number 1 choice. Thank you for a great experience!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan R, Owner at Tailhunter Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Hi Bob!

We appreciate the nice write up and glad you had a good visit with us! We'll look forward to seeing you again in the future . Thanks for taking the time to comment!

Stay well and God bless!
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

The Tailhunter Restaurant is excellent. They will even cook the fish that you caught that day--which makes it just a little more special. Great wait staff. Very attentive and friendly.

Thank janicefwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan R, Owner at Tailhunter Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thanks, Janice! Nothing better or fresher than eating fish that was swimming that morning and you caught yourself. Thanks for the visit and glad you have a good time!

God bless!
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tailhunter Restaurant also viewed

La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Tailhunter Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing