We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
54
86
33
12
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
86
33
12
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free wifi breakfast buffet nice hotel would stay here again zona rio hot water taxis
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

I would recommend this hotel for basically anyone, the hotel was very clean and friendly staff. The prices are different once you arrive at the hotel, I pre booked my stay through TripAdvisor. They offer breakfast but it is not complementary if anyone was curious lol. But overall great stay, and we felt safe.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank caaroldelaherran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo D, Gerente at Palacio Azteca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Caarolguznmann: We celebrate your experience at Palacio Azteca. I will share your comments with our staff, as we strive to meet and exceed guest´s expectations. Thank you, and we will keep our promise of continuing delivering the best of ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Decided to book this hotel based on other reviews but as much as we tried to like it, we just kept getting disappointed more and more. As soon as we opened the door to our room.. the curtain rod was completely broken.. they called maintenance and started fixing it while we were in the room. We had our 1 year old trying to take a nap while they were drilling the wall. Management did not offer us another room so we waited about 1 hr until they were done. Once maintenance left, the curtían wouldn’t close. At this point we were tired and getting annoyed. The room wasn’t clean at all!!! We finally had enough and called management and demanded a new room, the manager was so rude and gave us another room after fighting about it. Once in the new room, the cleaning lady’s were being loud.. this was about 9pm when all we wanted was to be able to rest. The only reason I’m rating this place 2 stars is because of a very sweet gentleman who works at the hotel and apologized to us and said that management was very unorganized and rude but that he appreciated our patience. Never again are we booking this outdated place. There are newer and better places to stay in Tijuana. Stick with the chains you already know for the same price!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank roxymau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo D, Gerente at Palacio Azteca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Roxymau: I regret your experience. So unfortunately. I´d rather think of it as an exception, rather than the rule.Since your last visit, a lot of changes in supervision levels, procedures an quality standars have been set in place. As the Operations Manager I deeply appreciate this information, and a follow-up will be set in place in our side, in every single opportunity for improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Horrible experience labor day weekend. Central a.c. was down and they could not fix it. Did not offer fans. Would not refund or discount the room. It was 100 degrees that day and 90 at night. Slept with wet towels to stay cool. This is a loud hotel. Many of the customers were the TJ party crowd. One star for a clean room.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo D, Gerente at Palacio Azteca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear David P: I regret your experience at our property. This 2018 summer, has been one of the hottest in so many years. Even though we have cleared so many opportunity areas, there is always room for improvement. I´d like to consider your experience, as an exception, rather than the rule. Please note that an important investment was done while acquiring new equipment to back up our AC/Heaters systems, upgraded the WiFI services, and fully changed the bath towels, hand towels and washclothes, among so many new improvements, in order to serve you better.. We hope for a opportunity to have your visit one more time. You will notice this changes.#HotelPalacioAzteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

It is very close to everything: walking distance to downtown, the pool is great. I did not go to the restaurant at the hotel, because there are many restaurants around. Room is spacious and comfortable.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Marisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo D, Gerente at Palacio Azteca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear MarisaP: Muchas Gracias! We celebrate your experience at Palacio Azteca Tijuana. I will share your comments with our staff, as we strive to meet and exceed guest´s expectations. Thank you, and we will keep our promise of continuing delivering the best of ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

Hmm.. The hotel im not sure i would have to stay again to make sure.. If i like it or. Not...i was there for 2 days the first night the water was luke warm in the night the ac did not work that well i called for maintenance so the hot water came in the morning and afternoon the next day but still luke warm at night.. Maybe they need to change there heating system for the water so everybody at night can get hot water instead of luke warm. But at least it wasnt cold water...
Yes i did leave the water running for 5 to 10 min and it did not get hotter at the night time

The air conditioning did work better the second day..

As for the rooms i had 2 queen beds the beds for me wore comfortable its wood floor not carpets.. The bathroom is small it would of been nice if it was a little bigger..

Check in and check out i prepaid for the room that way did not have to worry about the rates.. There were lots of stores and restraunts around if you walked around the hotel in all directions .it was close the zona rio shopping mall.. They had taxi at the hotel but overpriced i just went on the sidewalk got a taxi from there it was cheaper or i did uber..

They did have computer and internet and free wifi
The pool looked fine but was too cold to get in.
I was able to sleep i guess that was good
The guy aberham i think his name was . he handle the check in and check process till 3pm i think he was very good if i had a problem he was able to help with it right away and wast very nice... But after he left there was an older lady at the front desk she seem more rude and things took longer.

So im not sure if i good stay or bad stay..i have to stay one more time to make sure if i would do it again..

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank Avocadoadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo D, Gerente at Palacio Azteca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Adam S: We thank you for the time and details regarding your experience while staying at our property. Guest´s comments are always fully appreciated by our operation. Yours will be considered a great resource during our work meetings. I love to share with you that many changes, have been taking place during 2018. For instance, we have installed two brand new Raypak Heaters, wich is an american and very reliable brand, We really trust this brand. It provides easily an output of 150ºF water temperature, The problem that you refer maybe was due to pumps which we already upgrade as well. Another area that we improved was the WiFi service, is now offering 500 MB free for guest's rooms. Also, full maintenance in pool area (not heated, though) and a beautifuil terrace was built four our guests to enjoy, among so many other improvements. So you see, we love to have you back and complete that evaluation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews