We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”

La Generala Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 108 Restaurants in Todos Santos
Price range: US$50 - US$250
Description: Savor authentic tasty Mexican dishes with handmade tortillas cooked in a traditional adobe & wood rustic kitchen. Located in magic Todos Santos, enjoy the comfortable atmosphere from our al-fresco patio, open air terraces, atractive Mexican decor and friendly staff. We open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A la Carte Menu and Breakfast or Lunch buffet: $135 pesos per person.
Restaurant details
Description: Savor authentic tasty Mexican dishes with handmade tortillas cooked in a traditional adobe & wood rustic kitchen. Located in magic Todos Santos, enjoy the comfortable atmosphere from our al-fresco patio, open air terraces, atractive Mexican decor and friendly staff. We open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A la Carte Menu and Breakfast or Lunch buffet: $135 pesos per person.
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Hands down the best authentic Mexican food I have ever had. Buffet is heated with wood fire. Margs are to die for and 2x1. Breakfast is 65 pesos. Lunch is all you can eat for 120 pesos. CRAZY!!!If you don't come here while in TS you have missed a true Mexican experience. We travel all over Mex. and there is simply nothing like La Generala.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Mkieler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2017

"Buffet" is normally not a good word to me, but the lunch buffet at La Generala is excellent! A variety of delicious Mexican dishes, including a delicious Mole, and the best blue corn tortillas I've ever had!

The setting is very pretty and quiet, and we will definitely be back!

The only drawback for me was that they had NO white wine... Maybe they just ran out and hadn't re-stocked yet?

We will definitely return, and recommend La Generala as a great choice for a Mexican meal in Todos Santos!

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank CalgaryAlphan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016

After a morning tour, we asked our tour guide where to get real, authentic, tasty Mexican food. He said, La Generala is the best there is in Todos Santos so we stopped by.
We had the 'taco bar' - if it's open when you are there, do that! It is a buffet style bar on a concrete oven type-thing. On one end is a lady making tortillas for your tacos. Now, she's not just cooking them...they make them. They soak the corn and make the masa that they use to make the tortillas. There are no shortcuts here.
I was able to try beans, rice, nopales (cactus), chicken, beef, mole chicken (some of the best mole I have EVER eaten) and more. It may not look like much but it is very tasty and for 100 pesos it cannot be beat.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

If you like authentic Mexican food, this inexpensive, pleasant, smorgasbord-style restaurant will delight you. If you don't like Mexican food, go anyway. Trust me. You'll be impressed. We didn't order off the menu. We just had the 100-peso (i.e. US $6) piping-hot, eight-course dinner smorg. It was one of the best meals I've had in Mexico.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank raon61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016

Went for lunch recently. Perhaps we picked the wrong time, but only one other table had guests. The service was slow and although the food was good, it was nothing special. I was a little disappointed as we had heard great things about this restaurant. The ambiance is very nice, and it may be worth another try next time we visit Todos Santos. One note, may be worth the visit just to see the wood-fired heating and cooking area, and to see tortillas being made fresh.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Generala Restaurant also viewed

Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
Todos Santos, Baja California Sur
 

Been to La Generala Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing