We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good authentic resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #27 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good authentic resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

We were looking for an authentic place to stay at and this was perfect. Clean rooms, got upgraded to an ocean view upon arrival, received 5 min massage coupon offered at the spa on the side of the hotel (massage was great btw), beach was right there. You can exchange currency at the front desk for a better rate than the currency exchange places down the block.

Because this is in the middle of old Puerto Vallarta, prepare to be approached by 'beach vendors' anytime you're tanning, swimming, sitting, or eating on the beach. If you're looking for privacy, just stay in your hotel room. This was a good experience of authentic Mexico.

A few blocks away (to the north) is the French Riviera Bistro, which has good dinner, but best of all- the most amazing Twice-Baked Chocolate Almond Croissants. An absolute must!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galinarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,013
    745
    346
    149
    119
See reviews for
732
783
124
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

An older 'real' mexican hotel, clean and charming. We have stayed here several times and will go back again and again. Sure the rooms are smallish (but you're downtown on beachfront) and there are a lot of kids in the pool sometimes. The breakfast, lunch and snacks (and drinks) are a great value with the all-inclusive. We choose the all-inclusive for the ease of it. However for a nice dinner every few nights, we'll go out. There is a great restaurant on the sidewalk just out front, plus many others within close walking distance. The location cannot be beat here.

Room Tip: Try speaking a little Spanish?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlmf13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

I recently stayed at the Playa Los Arcos and was incredibly disappointed.

I met a friend in Puerto Vallarta and invited him back to my room. When we entered the lobby, the security guard stopped me and my friend and refused to allow my friend to enter the hotel. His explanation was that the hotel was off-limits to my mexican friend. It's unclear to me whether he was being barred because we were gay or because he was mexican, regardless it was incredibly rude.

I would not stay at this hotel again.

Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank miximura42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaLosArcos, Public Relations Manager at Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 April 2011
Good morning,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you feel you were wronged by what happen but I assure you that this is absolutely normal practice. We have a no visitor policy in the rooms for the safety of our Guests and the resort. In the past we have had problems with guests inviting people to come to the hotel and therefore it has been made regular policy. It was in no way a reference to you being gay or any kind of discrimination. We are a Family hotel and Everyone is welcomed in our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

We have been coming to this hotel almost yearly for over 25 years. The staff can't be beat, and though we don't use the all-inclusive plan, the food is quite good. The nightly shows are fun, the rates are good and it's just an all-round fun, pure Mexico experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2011

This is an older, Mexican hotel. The rooms are a bit smaller and darker than one might be used to. Our room was very clean and well kept up by the maid. There is no inroom fridge. There is a safe. The bed was hard - which was fine with me, but not great for my husband. When we bought our package through Cheap tickets the details said we'd get a balcony room. We eventually did, because I very nicely requested it on the second day - but apparently the "Superior" rooms come with and without balcony.

It is right on the beach and at the end of the Malecon - which makes for nice walks in the morning and evening. The little balcony looked out onto the water. The pool does fill up with kids - esepcially on the weekend. The restaurant was ok, but nothing special - and a little pricey for what you get.

If you are on the beach vendors will approach you often - every few minutes - but one can easily refuse the buy whatever is offered. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We wound up getting a package that cost around 350 for the 6 nights we were there - so for us it was quite a good deal. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecuachic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 km away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#24 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#21 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
2.2 km away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#20 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#22 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
4.5 km away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#25 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,217 reviews
4.0 km away
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resor...
#43 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Olas Altas 380 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price range (per night): $105 - $319
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa is a splendid colonial Boutique Style Hotel that invites you to enjoy the vacatioon of your dreams.The quality of its facilities, hospitality and tradition of excellence in service will make your stay a trully pleasurable experience. Located in front of the best beach of Vallarta "Playa del Sol" in the heart of the exciting Romantic Zone, is one of the best tourist areas of Vallarta. Here you can find all types of residences, prestigios restaurants, cafes, boutiques, galleries and the best nightlife. Only a few steps from the new Malecon, the Cathedral and the New Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort And Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Puerto Vallarta
Playa Los Arcos Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing